We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, especially if you are stone deaf” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Les Grangettes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meribel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Les Grangettes
Ranked #1 of 13 Meribel B&B and Inns
Alba
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, especially if you are stone deaf”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just come back from a week in Les Grangettes. The situation is perfect, right beside the Chaudanne lifts, and the staff could not have been more helpful. The food was good, apart from the occasional tough piece of meat or rather meagre portion, the afternoon tea was magnificent, breakfast excellent, and there was plenty of wine.

Unfortunately the hotel was let down by the level of noise, which was so intrusive that it negated many of the good points.

First, the dining room has no soft furnishings, nothing at all to deaden the sound of 60 chattering voices, with the result that at dinner we struggled to converse with the person next to us, let alone those across the table or further away. It was always a huge relief to finish the meal and get out of the dining room. Unfortunately the lounge is right next to the Méribar, and the racket from that was quite intolerable, especially when there was a live band on for après-ski. Those who had bedrooms above the bar were worst affected. At least the noise stopped by about ten thirty or eleven o'clock.

The decor is a bit tired, but the bathrooms have been modernised and there is plenty of hot water. There are a ski room and a boot room, both accessed from out of doors with a security code, which is a bit of a faff, and there are no seats in the boot room for putting boots on and taking them off. The lounge has squashy sofas which some people liked and others did not, but there was not enough room for all of our party to sit comfortably, never mind the rest of the guests.

There is free wi-fi in the public areas but it is very slow and the connection is frustratingly unreliable.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 32 are under the outside stairs and you can't see the sky from them, so if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean-astair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    22
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have just returned from an amazing week at Les Grangettes. This was our second time around as it was so good last year. We were a group of 21 and all agree it is a tip top hotel. Angus and his team are always at hand and cannot do enough for you. Always have a smile on their face and always attentive to your needs. Now onto the food.... well...... hard to know where to start... but for the price paid its hard to believe that the food we were served was for the price we paid. It was like A star rosette food! absolutely gorgeous and always served on time and so tasty. All of us were thrilled with the quality of the food and we had a birthday whilst there and we ordered a cake.... not just any ordinary cake ... it was a triumph! a gorgeous vanilla cake with cream all in the shape of a chalet! very thoughtful.

This hotel and meribel as a ski resort is a must! amazing slopes and the hotel is so close to the main lifts and there are lots to choose from. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Les Grangettes and Meribel for your ski holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickens29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quizzz
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Inghams owned and run and by far the best value stay in Meribel. Nearest accommodation to the slopes. Angus and his staff are a credit to the company. We were a group of 52 and yet nothing fazed them. Great attitude....helpful and attentive. Food excellent and varied. Throw the free wine with dinner and the afternoon tea, pizza etc into the mix and you wont beat this place. Well done.
PS Some early morning noise from deliveries, snow ploughs etc but shutting the window shutters can help
PPS..15% discount at certain times in the Meribar attached to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Les Grangettes from 4 to 11 January 2014. We booked through Inghams and I would rate this as one of the best (value) ski trips we have taken.

The USP of this hotel is its wonderful staff. They cannot do enough for you. Angus (the hotel manager), Gemma (assistant manager) and the young seasonaires (Dave, Jess and Harry in particular) are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the resort and skiing.

They take a genuine interest in you. As they ski here every day, they are a great source of info about the best areas, the good snow etc. Dave, in particular, made a point of checking out the best snow and providing an update each morning. He gives great tips on runs to suit your abilities. You can’t beat that for service!

You could not stay closer to La Chaudanne ski area - it is a minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers a free boot / ski locker. There are heated boot racks, although some are not working. But it is safe and convenient.

We stayed in Room 18 which is one of the only 2 double rooms. Our room was extremely small (no problem for a week) but the bathroom was a bit cramped – the loo and washbasin impeded access to the bath / shower, which was so small that the bathroom flooded every time we used it. No matter.

What matters was that the room was impeccably clean. Towels were changed once a week. If you ask, extra pillows, towels and anything else were provided immediately. Nothing is too much trouble. The bed was also extremely comfy.

Our room overlooked the main ski Chaudanne area. It had a balcony which caught the sun midday and was great for sitting out and watching the world go by. Downside, you did get the noise of early morning traffic and piste bashers during the night. Not much snoozing after 0700 but there has to be a pay off for such a great location.

This room was also directly over the Meribar so you could hear music until it’s switched off at 10:30 ish. Not a problem for us – get in there!

But, if a large room and early quiet is important for you, then don’t book room 18 or the others around it.

Meals in the hotel were excellent. A full range, including hot, breakfast is served until 0930. Everything is cooked fresh to order. It is excellent choice and very fresh.

Hot drinks are available through the day and a “tea” is provided late afternoon. This is generally soup, a savoury (e.g. pizza) and cake.

The aperos and canapés are a lovely touch. Dinner was served at 20:00 on the dot and was always excellent. There was always a choice (of two meat and one veggie) each day. The standard was extremely high – we ate duck, venison and lamb of a very high quality. Everything was fresh and well cooked. It far exceeded expectations. Puddings were equally as good (especially the chocolate fondant and the meringue). Cheese was always offered.

Wine is also included. There is a great choice and it flows freely. There is also a wine list of “superior” wines and a discount is applied for residents.

We were a little apprehensive about sharing a table with 6 “strangers”. How wrong we were. I don’t know whether Gus and his crew sort the table plan out deliberately, but we couldn’t have stayed with lovelier people who we hope to stay in touch with. It was a highlight of the stay and really great to hear where other people were staying. Thank you Lynn, Ali, Ailie, Charles, Phil and Lucy.

We could not complain at all about the catering or service.

The Meribar adjoins the hotel. For those of you who have been to Meribel before, this is the former Cactus bar. A generous discount applies for hotel guests on both food and drink. You can do no better than stay here for lunch, snacks or the one night that a meal isn’t provided. The food is fresh and well cooked. There are special deals, including pizza and a pint for E10 every night.

We loved the soup (can you seriously beat pea and ham?!), burgers and the massive plates of nachos. Great atmosphere and great location for watching any skiing down the home run.

Wednesday is the seasonaires’ day off throughout town. You are encouraged to book a meal in one of the town restaurants, but we stayed put and had a fabulous evening as the Meribar is the focus of the entertainment.

There is live music every day. Wednesday is obviously extremely lively with the young seasonaires letting off steam and the bar gets very loud. A great atmosphere though! You’re well advised to learn the lyrics to “Story of my Life” and I’m sure that you’ll be humming “I want to be a Seasonaire” down the next run!

The Meribar closes to non hotel guests at 2230 but will serve hotel guests drinks in the lounge until whenever. That means that the hotel is generally quiet after 2300.

The bar staff are lovely (Gordon – you are a LEGEND!!!). They really do look after you – when I bust my knee, I was provided with ice packs free of charge. As a guest, you get a discount on all drinks and food. You can run a tab all week but they do ask you to settle at about E200 which is fair enough.

Finally, thanks to our rep, Stephan, who was very knowledgeable about the resort. Again, no question was too much bother.

We had a great week. Les Grangettes must be the best kept secret in Meribel. Great value and great accommodation. We’ve stayed in the Chaudanne before and not had such a good time. Seriously, if you offered to pay for me to stay in the Kalia, I’d more than likely choose Les Grangettes for its staff, quality, location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GallopingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

just had a week at Les Grangettes. The staff are what make it excellent. Angus, Gemma, Jess, Harry, dave and the rest who's names slip my mind made our week the best possible. Nothing was too much trouble and none of them had a bad attitude or indeed a hangover at breakfast(unlike our crowd). Always smiling and pleasant for such youngsters they were very grown up.
Rooms were small but adequate. Food was plentiful. Breakfast, afternoon pizza and cake, aperitifs and then the evening meal. I was too stuffed to have the cheese all week.
I would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: If your at the front then you will have to put up with snow ploughs through the night. Tip. Close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimNSue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The staff are excellent, very pleasant and helpful.
Well situated, only seconds away from the snow.
Great food, which was well presented.
Rooms are clean, if a little small.
A couple of rooms (directly over the bar) suffer from noise due to early hours deliveries, so a set of ear plugs are needed by light sleepers. But on the positive side, these rooms get all the early morning Sun.
Some traffic noise can also be heard, (in front facing rooms) but much of this can be eliminated by closing the (outside) wooden window shutters.
Sound proofing between the bar and the lounge is non-exsistent, so any live music in the bar is also live in the lounge. SO GET IN THE BAR AND ENJOY IT!!!
I'd recommend this Hotel, we are definitely going back!!!

Room Tip: What are you waiting for? Just go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have just returned from a new year holiday, excellent location for the slopes, Angus and his staff excellent, nothing is too much trouble, Stephan the inghams rep also excellent, if he didn't know the answer he went and found out. Rooms are clean and staff leave a message each day after cleaning which was entertaining. We had room 19 which has a lovely balcony however is very noisy as it is over the meribar which is where live bands play most nights, but also we were woken at around 4.30 each morning with either the piste bathers or the snow clearing lorries clearing the road, I would recommend getting a room at the back of the hotel and giving up the balcony view. The afternoon tea was the best I have had with cakes, soup and pizzas. Breakfast was good with a choice of hot options but sometimes was a little slow however that could be due to the size of our party as there were 13 of us. It was good that you chose your evening meal at breakfast so could then plan what to have for lunch, however I agree with a previous review that portion sizes were sometimes small but you could ask for extra veg and bread and again staff were happy to oblige so don't be afraid to ask. Canapés at 7.30 was a nice touch, however the lounge area is quite small when the hotel is full, this is also the case with afternoon tea, but the staff were happy for you to use the dining tables. Although wine is free flowing while eating it is not served after the cheese course has started so make sure is topped up before. New year celebrations in meribel were excellent with a torch light descent at 6.30 followed by fireworks and then an outdoor disco on the slopes from 10pm through the new year countdown with further fireworks at midnight. Out children who ranged from 12 to 16 loved the atmosphere and the outdoor disco at the meribar where they partied away until we had to drag them to bed at 1.30 to ensure we got out next day. There is a small sauna that is cosy for 4 but as there is a booking system this worked fine. The boot and ski rooms are very small, we always took our boots upstairs to dry and then put them on in the ski locker room. My only negative comment is that bath towels were small so you may want to take your own if you like to wrap up after a shower however I got round this by turning the heater up.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fliss D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#28 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#7 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allodis
Hotel Allodis
#3 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Les Grangettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Les Grangettes

Property: Chalet Les Grangettes
Address: The Chaudanne, Meribel, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Meribel
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Chalet Les Grangettes Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing