We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Aussies venture forth to Chalet Bartavelle”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Chalet Bartavelle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The chalet
Downstairs TV Lounge
Breakfast
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Cave
Canapes
Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Meribel, Les Allues, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Estelle1G...
Gosford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aussies venture forth to Chalet Bartavelle”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

For Aussies who started skiing in Perisher, then ventured forth to skiing USA and Canada, we had no experience of staying in a French Chalet which included their own Chef and Driver!! Such decadence!

But having read all the rave reviews of Chalet Bartavelle my expectations were high for a wonderful two week ski holiday - expectations exceeded!

So read all the rave reviews about Jerry's cooking and believe them. I won't repeat them here except to say the Jerry weaved a magic that had all our party eating their "no-go-foods" - "go on, try it.. hmm...yum!".

Then read about how responsive and helpful Bettina is and believe them too, from helping us organise ski hire to car hire and anything else we had forgotten, Jerry and Bettina make this holiday seamlessly relaxing while making us feel part of the family. We loved the sporadic visits from cute little Evie, Sam and Molly (8 month old twins) who weaved their way into our hearts!

Now for some extra info in true Trip Advisor style -

Meribel's sunshine days are amazing and the scenery is unbeatable, There are so many places to eat on the mountain, but the prices are as steep as the slopes...so we were able to make up bread rolls from left-over breakfast supplies and just do with a hot choc at lunchtime.

Jerry is flexible with pick-up times, but with differing ski skills and age groups, we found it helpful to pack a swim suit for the pool (opens at 2:30pm) or the Spa (opens at 2pm) to fill in time till pick up.

Jerry organised a ski locker for us which proved invaluable for the above reason. He's also good on recommendations for ski itineraries as he knows the mountain so well having moved here from Britain 12 years ago...that's right, perfect English helps!!

The chalet was really comfortable for our group of 7, and 8 would be good too, but I think 10 would be a bit of a squeeze for relaxing at night . The TV downstairs is small and we preferred to sit upstairs by the log fire watching movies on our laptop as we all couldn't fit downstairs.

Wifi worked well, but we had to make a no Facebook rule at the dinner table!

The couple of days people were nursing injuries, staying in the chalet was the most relaxing days of our lives....picture perfect views out the window, roaring fire, cups of tea, good books and dreaming of dinner time, what more could you want?

Come on Aussies, come over to Meribel and see what real mountains are made of.

Stay at Chalet Bartavelle and experience true service on your perfect ski holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The service, comfort and amazing gourmet food....the BEST!
Liked least: Not being our usual slopeside so we could ski as short or as long as we wished.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Just thought we would let people know that the TV downstairs is now 32 inch, so a lot larger, plus with apple TV guests will have access to Netflix. You are right it was too small, its not until you change that you sometimes realise that something is wrong, thank you. We also now have Laundry facilities for guest now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa79...
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, best chalet holiday ever”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We were spoilt from the moment we arrived. Delicious cakes, canapes, champagne 3 course dinner, this was a fine dining experience with a little bit of skiing ! Jerry is an amazing chef and nothing was too much trouble. Bettina arranged our transfers,lift passes and restaurant reservations. Beautiful clean cozy chalet with roaring fire to come back to. We would love to return and as most people who stay do, if you see a vacant week grab it , you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: not within walking distance of meribel
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Very friendly and truly impressive”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Chalet Bartavelle was ideal for our three-generation skiing trip. The whole experience was straightforward and immensely relaxing, from the initial booking process, and contact with ace logistician Bettina through early guidance on how to get the best out of Meribel and onto the fantastic yet discreet catering and hosting by Jerry. The reviews elsewhere here show that theirs is a consistently good approach and staying at Bartavelle bears that out. The layout and facilities themselves were perfect too.

Bettina and Jerry really work hard, but in an effortless sort of way that shows they clearly enjoy it. Some highlights include wonderfully put together dinners, each one suitable for the point we were at in the week; flexibility about pick-ups and mealtimes and easy contact arrangements to make that happen; and genuine concern and support when our three year-old had a fall on the slopes. The children were made to feel really welcome and on hearing that Jerry was having half a day off the same three year old plaintively asked "But who's going to look after us now?". We all felt a bit like that. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic skiing and fine dining experience”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Bettina and Jerry own a delightful chalet, close to Meribel, and were magnificent hosts throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail faultless, ensuring that we enjoyed a memorable vacation. Their chalet is beautifully appointed and meticulously clean.
The fine dinning experience was to to die for, and Jerry's international culinary background was evident at every meal. This was fine dining at its very best, and we could have been eating in any of the world's top hotels. Jerry was happy to cater for every taste and set us up daily with a hearty breakfast before we took to the slopes.
We highly recommend Chalet Bartavelle to future guests and have already booked for next season!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The dining
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, we will be back for our 3rd visit soon”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ski/Boarding trip with the family - 2013

Perfect hosts, warm and inviting chalet that feels like home the moment you walk in the door and thats exactly how Jerry and Bettina want you to feel. They make everything about you as their guests.

Jerry's food is is quite simply exquisite, as is the entire experience of having your own professional chef cook a fantastic meal each evening - as you relax in front of the open fire and enjoy a glass of the house wine. Everything we ate and drank the entire week was superb.

Location is also good, we have been lucky on each of our visits to have adequate snow that allows the intermediates to ski/board with relative ease right to the back door.

Nothing is ever too much trouble, on one occassion we asked Jerry if he would mind adding some items to his shopping list by way of chocolate snacks for the slopes, fine cheeses and lots of vintage port (we covered the cost of course). Everything was waiting for us the very same day we got back from the slopes.

I can honestly say I have no complaints whatsoever, we will be back for a 3rd visit...soon!

JC

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
822juliat
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Have been lots and this one was the best!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

First, Jerry and Bettina and their chalet are an absolutely wonderful, completely magical experience. Secondly, instead of downhill skiing, this time,two of us had cross country skiing lessons with ESF all week. What fun! I thought downhill was what you did in the mountains! Wrong! We had a lovely instructor and a small group, just three or four most days. Apart from learning a new way to get around and getting very fit (or puffed!) we learned all about nature in the mountains - animal tracks, birds, 700 year old trees - and loved the quiet and beauty away from the frenzy of downhill. At half time our instructor brought out of her pack, herbal tea and nuts and raisins!! It was all wonderful.
AND!! on the last day we both hired snow shoes and trecked up to the Refuge du Saut above Lac Tueda - just awesome! Not a soul in sight, just snow and sun and a river gurgling down the valley. Off piste experience for those of us who can't float down mountains off piste!!
And this, on top of comfy beds and silent peaceful nights, great breakfasts, tea with gorgeous cakes, canapes and drinks to relax at the end of the day, and gourmet dinners - with a warm fire, candles, old wooden walls, cushions - fabulous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_T...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our sixth trip to stay with Jerry & Bettina - that says it all! They are the perfect hosts.

The food is the very best. The chalet itself is delightful, with an open log fire and great views across the valley. The location (next door to a farm) feels like rural France, yet it's only 10 minutes drive to the centre of the lift system for one of the largest ski areas in the world. And there's lots to do besides downhill skiing. Some in our group had a great time doing cross country & snow shoeing (raquettes) - the opportunities for both are extensive

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unpretentious perfection
Liked least: No faults whatsoever
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Glad to hear you once again enjoyed your stay. The chalet is in a lovely position, and yes there is a small farm down the road, not exactly next door though! Drive wise up to the main lift area actually takes only 5 minutes with the daily transfer and pick up that we offer our guests in our T5 transporter unless you are skiing back to us down the red run.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing