We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic end of season ski trip”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Chalet Bartavelle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The chalet
Downstairs TV Lounge
Breakfast
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Cave
Canapes
Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Meribel, Les Allues, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jemima71
West Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic end of season ski trip”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014

The opportunity to come out in April for a sneaky holiday for just my husband and myself was too good to miss. We are long standing devotees of all that Jerry and Bettina provide at Chalet Bartavelle and would recommend it to anyone (and often do!). Jerry has been telling us for years how good the skiing is in April but we've never had the courage, or time, to do it before now.
Maybe we were just lucky but we had the most fantastic week of skiing with blue skies every day and great snow. Admittedly you do have to stay quite high but this was not a problem. We chose southerly slopes in the morning and then northerly ones in the afternoon which meant that the snow was always in the best conditions. Having thought that we'd go to Val Thorens most days it turned out to be busy and not pleasant so we stuck to Meribel and mostly Courchevel where we had great fun and skiied from 9.15am to about 5pm every day.
Coming back to the delights of Chalet Bartavelle and the joys of Jerry's cooking every day made it the perfect holiday (you can't help but have them here). We're so glad to have finally taken Jerry's advice and are thinking about April 2015 and whether we can persuade the grandparents to have the children again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trace07
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas to remember”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just back from a wonderful Christmas with family.
I love skiing but even lack of snow couldn't spoil a lovely break in a lovely location.
The food is to die for and the chalet is comfy and inviting and has everything you could want.
Everything from our initial enquiry to sorting out lost passport, just happens, which is a credit to Jerry and bettinas professionalism and hard work..
Having young adults in our group, we were a little concerned with access to meribel- we needn't have been, Gerry was happy to run them into meribel and there's a regular free bus service and reasonable taxis back home.
I think Gerry and Bettina could sort out anything if you asked , obviously you have to pick up the bill.
In summary I would say definitely stay there as often as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire and view out of the window
Liked least: Nothinng
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyH0li...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in April 2014 and had a wonderful time at Chalet Bartavelle. In preparation for our holiday Bettina was excellent at sorting out our ski hire, lessons etc and she even telephoned us in the UK to discuss options in advance of our stay. The best thing about the chalet had to be the food - Gerry continued to produce wonderful meals every evening - even the kids meal was superb. Freshly baked cakes along with bread and jam welcomed us each afternoon after a busy day on the slopes and canapés and drinks followed at 7pm. The chalet is cute, warm and inviting, although we felt a group of more than 6 adults may be a bit of a squeeze in the evenings as sofa space is limited. Gerry was very accommodating at ferrying us to and from the slopes each day and carseats were provided for the children. Overall we had a lovely time and would certainly recommend chalet Bartavelle for anyone who wants a quality catered chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Amazing food
Liked least: Would have been nice to have a bit more sofa area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review it was lovely to have you to stay. I just wanted to respond to your comment about sofas in case you ever wanted to come back as a larger group. As you know we have 2 large 3 seater sofas and 2 very comfortable armchairs in the living room as well as 2 extra poufs for overflow so we do have enough soft seating for everyone and we have often had 8 and even 10 adults staying with no problem at all. In addition there is of course also the sofa and armchair + wicker rocking chairs in the downstairs tv lounge for the kiddies (or the adults). I do hope that you found your stay with us pleasant and comfortable and we hope to have you back for another stay soon. Best regards Bettina and Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Recommended Return”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It is hard to identify the best element of a stay at Chalet Bartavelle. Whether it's the beautiful setting and aspect of the property, the attentiveness and bonhomie of host and owner Jerry or the superior quality of all the food, everything about our most recent trip, as in previous years, was once again approaching some sort of perfection.

The chalet, appropriately enough considering it's location, engenders a sense of joie de vivre with it's sociable kitchen, dining and reception area - making the presence of another party of guests a welcome addition to our stay. Adding fine food and wine to the mix made for some very pleasantly conversational evenings.

On the food, there was once again full accord amongst all the guests as to the delights of the procession of canapes, starters, mains and desserts to which we were treated each day. Any thoughts as to asking for the recipes were deterred as Jerry reeled off the list of jus, dressings, cooking methods and ingredients involved in each dish - the results being testament to his hard-earned skill in the kitchen and the time which seems to go into the preparation of each meal.

Beyond his culinary wizardry, Jerry is an excellent and charming host. Rather than being treated as merely paying guests, as can be the case with the larger ski companies of this world, you feel that you are visiting an incredibly accommodating friend's house which has the pleasant effect of allowing you to feel full at ease and ready to enjoy a well-earned break.

Finally, Jerry's love of the area reinforced my impression that the 3 Valleys ski area is one of the best in the world and if you're going to the best area then why not stay in the best chalet - Chalet Bartavelle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0shua89
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for a better experience!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Chalet Bartavelle for 1 week this March, and believe me, this is a true gem! Jerry and Bettina have managed to combine outstanding food with attentive service to produce a genuinely unique experience. We found ourselves on the chairlift debating what new exciting dish Jerry was going to produce that evening, we were never disappointed!

The setting of the chalet is excellent, just a short drive from the slopes, the peaceful surroundings and alpine views give you the feeling of being in a smaller resort but with the benefit of the huge 3 valleys ski area on your doorstep.

It isn’t often that I find myself wanting to visit the same place twice, but I find myself already checking the diary for 2015!

Thanks for such a great week!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima71
West Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another triumph!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our 6th stay at Chalet Bartavelle which says it all really. A truly relaxing holiday (apart from the skiing!), with Jerry and Bettina providing a real home from home.
Jerry's cooking was divine as usual. Breakfasts to set us up for the day, a delicious array of cakes on our return from the slopes and stunning food every night.
We were 4 adults and 6 children and had a brilliant holiday yet again. Thank you Jerry and Bettina for another triumph! Next year you're doing a turn in Bartavelle's Got Talent.....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle1G...
Gosford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aussies venture forth to Chalet Bartavelle”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

For Aussies who started skiing in Perisher, then ventured forth to skiing USA and Canada, we had no experience of staying in a French Chalet which included their own Chef and Driver!! Such decadence!

But having read all the rave reviews of Chalet Bartavelle my expectations were high for a wonderful two week ski holiday - expectations exceeded!

So read all the rave reviews about Jerry's cooking and believe them. I won't repeat them here except to say the Jerry weaved a magic that had all our party eating their "no-go-foods" - "go on, try it.. hmm...yum!".

Then read about how responsive and helpful Bettina is and believe them too, from helping us organise ski hire to car hire and anything else we had forgotten, Jerry and Bettina make this holiday seamlessly relaxing while making us feel part of the family. We loved the sporadic visits from cute little Evie, Sam and Molly (8 month old twins) who weaved their way into our hearts!

Now for some extra info in true Trip Advisor style -

Meribel's sunshine days are amazing and the scenery is unbeatable, There are so many places to eat on the mountain, but the prices are as steep as the slopes...so we were able to make up bread rolls from left-over breakfast supplies and just do with a hot choc at lunchtime.

Jerry is flexible with pick-up times, but with differing ski skills and age groups, we found it helpful to pack a swim suit for the pool (opens at 2:30pm) or the Spa (opens at 2pm) to fill in time till pick up.

Jerry organised a ski locker for us which proved invaluable for the above reason. He's also good on recommendations for ski itineraries as he knows the mountain so well having moved here from Britain 12 years ago...that's right, perfect English helps!!

The chalet was really comfortable for our group of 7, and 8 would be good too, but I think 10 would be a bit of a squeeze for relaxing at night . The TV downstairs is small and we preferred to sit upstairs by the log fire watching movies on our laptop as we all couldn't fit downstairs.

Wifi worked well, but we had to make a no Facebook rule at the dinner table!

The couple of days people were nursing injuries, staying in the chalet was the most relaxing days of our lives....picture perfect views out the window, roaring fire, cups of tea, good books and dreaming of dinner time, what more could you want?

Come on Aussies, come over to Meribel and see what real mountains are made of.

Stay at Chalet Bartavelle and experience true service on your perfect ski holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The service, comfort and amazing gourmet food....the BEST!
Liked least: Not being our usual slopeside so we could ski as short or as long as we wished.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Just thought we would let people know that the TV downstairs is now 32 inch, so a lot larger, plus with apple TV guests will have access to Netflix. You are right it was too small, its not until you change that you sometimes realise that something is wrong, thank you. We also now have Laundry facilities for guest now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing