We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Gastronomic”
Review of Le Plantin

Le Plantin
Ranked #31 of 96 Restaurants in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bonjour et bienvenue dans un endroit magique! Le lieu-dit Le Plantin, et son restaurant du meme nom. A seulement 5 minutes de voiture depuis Meribel ou La Tania, venez vous detendre dans un ecrin de calme et de serenite. Ete comme hiver, notre terrasse vous offre une vue spectaculaire sur les montagnes de la Vallee de Meribel. Le midi notre restaurant est accessible a ski, et le soir c'est une ambiance chaleureuse autour de la cheminee qui vous attend.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
306 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Real Gastronomic”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Super tasty, super French, super service, but a little bit costy. Do not forget about deserts and please do hear the Chef's recommendation for the wine choice!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max120368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    12
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Promised so much but didn't really deliver”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

we went in to book our table for the evening at lunchtime and were warmly welcomed into the cosy and very well appointed restaurant and had a good chat with the sommelier about some of the outstanding wines they have (think '82 Latour) so had high hopes that the service and food in the evening would be excellent - sadly it was not.

the good - our lamb was delicious and beautifully cooked with a very tasty pomme puree
the wine list, while expensive, had some great wines

the bad - we had to stand up to get attention more than once from the aforementioned sommelier - pretty poor considering there were only 2 tables in the restaurant
our dessert wine with the foie gras was served lukewarm
our first bottle of expensive bordeaux was served in glasses from the supermarket
our second bottle was served in pinot noir glasses
the aubergine served with the lamb oozed oil
the profiteroles were not anything like profiteroles

All told it barely got 3 stars. I had high expectations for this place and was unfortunately disappointed. The staff weren't bad but I feel they could have been much better - we didn't feel anything approaching loved. We were a table of 6 with 2 Frenchman and 2 fluent speakers so that wasn't the reason. I wouldn't go back because it was SO expensive for what we had

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food in Meribel”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We enjoyed very much the experience together with our kids. Wine selection was very good as well as the service and hospitality.

The food was very good. I enjoyed the truffle menu and was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ralfyduchi566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Snowtime 30th Anniversary Reunion”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

30 years ago the Plantin was a very different restaurant to say the least - now it is a culinary delight!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinMathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great French dinner place halfway between Meribel and Courchevel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Worth one evening of your vacation, a little bit of a drive - good hotel shld be able to arrange free transfer

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rimidalv_Vonavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Plantin also viewed

Meribel, Les Allues
 
Meribel, Les Allues
Meribel, Les Allues
 
Meribel, Les Allues
 

Been to Le Plantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing