We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for skiing but hotel needs some attention”
Review of Hotel Le Mottaret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Mottaret
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel is on the piste side, so excellent ski-in, ski out location. The hotel is let down by an apparent lack of management, manifested in poor hygiene (room cleaning bad & food-related hygiene below standard - wasn't a day went past that we didn't have chips in plates etc & one day I watched the bar-person 'clean' a cup under a running tap with their finger before filling with coffee for someone). Also a lack a security - the external boot room is rarely locked and there are no lockers within it to secure your belongings and even if you have a ski lock you'd struggle to find something to secure your skis to. The hotel also takes no responsibility for personal possessions left in your room - no wonder since we returned one day to find that our room had been left unlocked by the cleaning staff & another when the balcony door was left wide open. There is plenty of food but the menu is the same for the whole week & the food frequently cold and under/over cooked. There was so much wastage that you would think that the management should be questioning their menu and catering staff. If all inclusive there are packed lunches which save a fair bit of money, plus much of the bar is free, although the wine comes out of boxes and is only just drinkable. The staff were mainly friendly but largely unprofessional, again reflecting the lack of any apparent management structure within the hotel. Our party had great snow and enjoyed the holiday - if you were stuck in the Mottaret Hotel for a week of bad weather you might find it all a bit less humorous than we did. There are plenty of other 3 star hotels along the same stretch of piste where we have stayed before and would return to over this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Mottaret, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your review as your comments are useful to us in order to know the things that need to be improved.
We regret that some aspects of your stay were not up to expectations, however we would like you to know that during this interseason a renovation programme of the bar / restaurant/ terrace has been undertaken to upgrade the whole eating and drinking experience. We are really pleased to be opening this Winter the “Café del Mott” – a large terrace with all day BBQ and open air Jacuzzi.
We hope that with these changes in place you will consider staying with us again in the future.
You should know that we take note of all the suggestions made by our clients and send them directly to our management team.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

We just wanted to ski, so this hotel lived up our expectations. The rooms are rather small and cold. The restaurant is quite good for the price they ask. The stuff is very friendly and helpful.
I will go there next year unless they encrease the price.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Transfer time from airport 5 1/2 hours due to poor driver and route taken.
Boot room unheated best to take boots to your room.
Rooms comfortable and clean, but need more maintenance eg. Brackets for shower so you dont have to hold the hose while washing. Poor drainage in bath plug.
Bar comfortable drinks okish and agree with earlier review with drafty bottom end!
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Food was very poor. Breakfast was ok with warm eggs, bacon, beans.
For lunch you get a bland baguette, crisps, fruit, cake and bottle of water. Not to bad this safes you at least €20 a day.
Evening meal main course was terrible every time with really random combinations eg. Tagatelli and stew!
Soup was nice, cheese was cheese and pudding was the best course.
Overall the 8 of us that went had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwsooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Other reviews of the Hotel Mottaret are accurate. This place is far from perfect. The price, however, is considerably less than the more "perfect" hotels in Meribel. The location and hotel is perfect if skiing is the reason you are here. The rooms were clean and comfortable to sleep in. The food was decent but far from gourmet. The bar and lounge area were comfortable and the fire inviting. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

If you are not a skier and are looking for a place to stay with a lot of amenities this is not the place for you. But, be prepared to pay a lot more to stay and for finer dining elsewhere in Meribel.

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't have an elevator. You will have to carry your own bags up the stairs. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

can only think the person below was staying at a different hotel to me because iv just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel.i agree with taking your boots to your heated bedroom but if you cant walk down a few icy steps i dont think you should be on a ski holiday. the 5 course meal every night was varied and absolutely delicious,didnt have a bad one all week.the all inclusive was a real bonus, unlimited top quality wine and lager really made the trip. lounge was comfortable and warm with a roaring log fire every night. rooms were smallish and beds were narrow but they served their purpose and were always clean tidy and warm when we returned. all in all an excellent hotel and would reccomend to everyone, i,ll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rizzotherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The location is great, but so are the location of so many other hotels in the 3 valleys. The food was ok, but not really when you consider that you are in France and you expect to have great food. If you like to have fresh veggies at least once a day, bring your own. Having just a hand-held in the shower is on the bogus side - but i did enjoy the mushroom that grew during the week from just a 1 inch cup to a 2.5 inch x 4 inch full blow fungus! Got a great photo of that. The ski room is badly in need of some TLC - nothing fantastic, but is it too much to ask to have lights that stay on and a bench that doesn't collapse? I did like the staff, and the beer was cold, but if you are looking for a hotel that pays attention to the details, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The le mottaret is situated in a great position in mottaret, which is at the heart of the three valleys. Virtually ski in and out access to probably the best ski resort in the world, what more could you ask for? Maybe the following may help you:-
1. Dont leave your ski boots in the boot room. Its unheated, and gets really cold at night, therefore your boots have contracted by the time you put them back on. Also increase your levels of insurance as the steps into it are precarious. Finally take care on the bench, it will collapse very soon.
2. Be prepared to eat out more than you anticipate, the food is bland, often overcooked, and sometimes under-cooked, but rarely properly cooked. We opted to eat and drink in the delightful little village for the last three nights, as we could no longer face the evening meal. Therefore, a few hundred extra euro's or your credit card is almost essential.
3. Take extra clothing into the lounge, particularly if you are sitting at the bottom end, its very cold. Further, dont make the mistake of asking the barman to serve you whilst he is eating. He will rudely point at his food and stay exactly where he is.
4. If you fancy afternoon tea, be quick, as the staff virtually always dive in first. Also be warned the quality of the beer and wine in particular are very very poor.
5. Dont take valuables as neither the rooms or reception offer any form of secure storage.
6. It might be advisable to take a screwdriver with you, as the bathroom door handles regularly falls off. Also a bath plug is a good idea, as the water in the bath of our "superior"??? room always drained out of its own accord, as the bath plug did not fit.
7. The hygiene in this hotel is poor, the room and general cleaning is inadequate. Our bins were rarely emptied, and toilet rolls infrequently replaced.

Be wary of reviews on this hotel, many of the staff in this hotel are British and could be boosting the hotel's ratings themselves. The hotel gives the impression its about to go bust, as all of the ingredients used in the bar/ restaurant are basics, for example the wine comes out of unbranded cardboard boxes.
In summary its a shame, because in the middle of this amazing resort, is a very shoddy, supposedly 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.5 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#9 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#4 of 33 in Meribel
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont Vallon
Hotel Mont Vallon
#29 of 33 in Meribel
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#18 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mottaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mottaret

Address: Chemin du Chardon | Méribel-Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
Price Range: £146 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mottaret 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Madame Vacance, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Mottaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mottaret Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing