We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great holiday, staff excellent, on the slopes"”
Review of Hotel Le Mottaret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Mottaret
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"Great holiday, staff excellent, on the slopes"”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed again end of March 2014 after coming start of January 2014 and one again we're not disappointed. Although late in the season the staff were excellent and meals just as good as before great choice and plenty of it. Ben and staff on the BBQ served us well. A few little adjustments like you don't need password to access the wifi breakfasts had a few small add ons like better selection of jams were seen . We didn't eat at piste restaurants with vouchers but comments were that it was good. Rooms need an upgrade which I believe is going to happen but comfortable anyway. Ski hire is attached to hotel and Staff I are happy to change equipment if needed. We hope to return next season .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwfc1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    99
    32
    16
    12
See reviews for
76
94
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed over christmas at this gorgeous hotel, I have stayed with Inghams and Crystal before for my ski holidays and let me tell you, none of those holidays or hotels have ever been like the quality of this one.

From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough for you. The hotel was going through a refit, new jacuzzi and decking area, lounge and bar, however there was minimal disturbance to the guests.

The lounge/bar area is very luxurious and comfortable, brand new seating and a lovely open fire. There is also a giant tv screen which you can watch whilst relaxing. Plenty of room to find a space to sit with your drink.

The range of drinks is very good, and they do a lovely hot chocolate at the bar!! There were a variety of nationalities staying at the hotel, and everyone was really nice.

The restaurant was a great asset to the hotel, the food was of a very high standard and was served buffet style, however everything was fresh daily. My son is a very fussy eater, and the chef would even cook him something he liked if there was nothing he wanted from the extensive selection on the buffet. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant is large with lots of different sized tables to suit your party. We were always given a really nice table, and it was nice to be able to look out of the windows whilst eating. There is a barbecue every lunchtime on the terrace, with steaks and burgers. Ben the chef certainly knows how to cook a mean steak!

We had a superior triple room with a view onto the pistes, it was clean and comfortable with clean towels whenever you needed them. What more do you need?

The hotel staff were all very professional, and worked many long shifts, but this never curbed their professionalism and enthusiasm. Staff to note in particular who were outstanding were Thon at the bar, Johnny from the restaurant, Ben the chef, Georgie an assistant and Charlie the Manager.
I could go on and on with compliments for this place, but the best thing I would suggest to anyone reading this is to pay the hotel a visit, stay a week, and I promise you will never want to book anywhere else again for your ski holidays. It is only classed as a 3 star, but I would say it is definitely worthy of at least a 4 star.

We are looking to stay again this christmas, it would be great if the same staff were there again as they were a true asset to this wonderful hotel.

Well done Madame Vacances and Ski France, this hotel is definitely the best I have ever stayed in for a ski holiday. Location is excellent, right in the middle of the 3 valleys. Thank you for making our stay great!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room with balcony overlooking the piste, the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel le Mottaret made our ski holiday perfect. The food and drink on the all inclusive was amazing, barbeques at lunch on the terrace (next to the piste) , or tokens to use in the restaurants up the mountain (options for food on all 3 valleys - so you arent tied down). The staff were so so friendly and helpful, jaccuzzi was perfect, all inclusive drinks selection was generous. Also the staff in the skiset shop next door were really helpful and friendly. You couldn't get a better location for lift options in 3 valleys, it was just so easy to hed over to Val Thorens or Courchevel. Overall a great feel to this hotel, which made for a very memorable ski holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a North facing one, you get a great view of the valley, and less noise from the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here this winter (January 2014) and had a great time. The rooms were nice and clean, the staff were very charming and helpful and the food was great.

This was a great and very easy holiday. Parking is directly behind the hotel, the ski rental was next door to the hotel, so we could walk 5 metres from the hotel onto the slopes. At lunchtime we came back to the hotel to have great value lunch on the new terrace (good quality burgers and chips or salad). In the afternoon there was apres ski on the terrace and we then chilled out in the outdoor jacuzzi. What more could you ask for. I'd strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I recently returned from a weekend trip to this hotel and was definitely not disappointed. The location on the slopes is perfect. The newly redecorated bar area is comfortable with a lovely area around the fire. The outdoor jacuzzi is a great bonus. Dressing gowns and flip flops are also provided. We had both lunch and dinner in the hotel which were both very tasty. The rooms are clean and functional but not particularly luxurious. I didn't find this a major problem as I was there to ski and to make the most of the added extras this hotel has to offer. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisinangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is definitely a must for a keen skier. It's right on the slopes so it makes it really easy to access all the ski lifts, and they offer all inclusive, to refuel all those lost calories. They also put out cakes and snack in the bar area in the afternoon which is a nice treat when you've just returned from skiing.
The rooms are clean, tidy and you get what you pay for in the price, and lets be honest you don't spend that much time in your room anyway.
The Jacuzzi outside is also lovely, and steaming hot!
And just like all the other reviews say, the staff really do make it. They are all extremely professional, however, friendly and lovely at the same time. And were always on hand to help or just to chat.
The food at the hotel is amazing. Lots of choice for every meal and tasted delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Mottaret, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially pleased that you enjoyed the open-air jacuzzi.

We are planning some light refurbishments and improvements to the bedrooms during the summer.

Your encouraging comments will be passed on to the staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I've returned today from this hotel and would definitely recommend it. The staff are very helpful, friendly and generally can't do enough for you, including bringing drinks to the outside jacuzzi which is just off the piste.....
We stayed all inclusive and the food was excellent, the best I've had in any hotel in the alps after 30 years of skiing! You also have the option of lunch in about 5 mountain cafés including one in Courchevel that's been awarded 2 Michelin Stars!
The hotel is being refurbished over the next year or so and the rooms do need updating but don't let this put you off. The location, views, facilities, food and, "can't do enough for you" staff more than make up for it.
Will definitely look to book at the Hotel Le Mottaret the next time I'm going to the 3 Valleys!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Mottaret, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially pleased that you enjoyed the open-air jacuzzi. Your encouraging comments will be passed on to the staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meribel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#15 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#6 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#5 of 33 in Meribel
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#12 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Chaudanne
Hotel La Chaudanne
#13 of 33 in Meribel
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mottaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mottaret

Property: Hotel Le Mottaret
Address: Chemin Chardon 7 | Méribel-Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
#4 Family Hotel in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mottaret 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Mottaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mottaret Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing