We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
27
81
57
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
81
57
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoisy at nightyour doorstepapartment blockescalatorslopes
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for a fortnight in jaunary 2014. Every evening the hot tap-water became lukewarm around 6-7:00 pm and did not get hot enough again to take a shower or do the dishes until at best around 11:00 pm. The builing most certainly has a central system for heating the tapwater which in insufficiently dimensioned. The lack of ventilation of the stove and the lack of an oven is a drawback for anybody who wants to prepare a proper hot meal.

Otherwise well managed and well situated in the villagecenter close to the baker and butcher and with the main skilifts within short walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgvklejkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Compared with a previous stay at residence Les Brigues in Courchevel a few years back this was a world of difference. The apartment we stayed in was still in good condition, looks like it was renovated a year or so ago. Everything was in good working order, there is a slightly random assortment of crockery etc, but everything we needed was there. There was no information about an inventory at check in.

The apartment has a two ring halogen hob, and a combination grill/microwave for cooking. It would have been nice to have had an oven, but the grill/microwave was ok. Although there are plenty of shops nearby for food, I would suggest stocking up on basics on your way up to the mountain. You don't get a very wide range of food in the local shops, and it can be pricey.

We stayed in an apartment behind the lifts (x08) - this apartment was a bit bigger than the others (the bunk bed room was larger, and a larger bathroom). The extra space was welcome. I was worried about noise from the lift, nothing from that, but we did get noise from the stairwell when people wearing boots trekked up and down to get to/from the boot room. I was also a bit worried about facing the street, there was a bit of noise in the room, but nothing major. Closing the shutters helped (no shutters in the bunk bed room). Heating and hot water were also all good. Individual heaters in each room you could control.

Internet connectivity was fine. Not the fastest in the world, but enough to be able to run a VPN connection back to work. You have to pay extra for internet (EUR 25 for 3 devices for a week).

Funnily enough my only real gripe about the apartment is the very low light levels. There is one light fixture with a low energy bulb and it's hard to read with just that light. There is a table lamp also provided, but also fairly weak. I'm not sure why this is, it's probably an accountant trying to offset their massive electricity bill with the electric heaters, but it is pretty annoying.

There is a ski/boot room one floor below entrance level. It's a bit dark and gloomy with a timed light switch that often cuts out while you are trying to put your boots on. There is one (1) bench for the entire boot room. So you get pretty used to putting on ski boots standing up. The lockers have space for 4 sets of boots and skis.

We parked in Parking Les Ravines, it's nothing to do with these apartments. If you are checking in park outside the front on the main street to unload etc, then move the car round. The Parking Les Ravines is a pay car park. There is free parking as well (ask the front desk).

The front desk people are pretty friendly and english speaking.

Overall if I was coming back to Meribel I'd consider staying here again. (But I would bring a lamp :-) )

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had been looking for somewhere close to where our son was working and this sounded ideal in location.
On arrival reception was closed but the notice said that it would be open again at 5pm which was fine as we had just driven from Geneva and some light refreshments were high on our agenda!
So we crossed the road to The Taverne which was very busy with people sitting outside on the terrace, this place had a buzz about it. We enjoyed a well served glass and returned to check in just after 5.
The receptionist was very friendly and explained the local tax rule together with the closing time of the nearest shop so that we could buy some provisions before it was too late!
Our accommodation was compact, with a set of bunk beds in the entrance corridor opposite the small but adequate and clean, shower over sit-bath loo. The galley which was again well laid out and had a well stocked cupboard of crockery and pots and pans was on the left as you turned towards the lounge, door out to the balcony and table with 4 chairs, absolutely all we needed.
The pull out sofa bed had already been sheeted and had 3 pillows of varying density, firm to very soft, but again spotlessly clean.
The outside woodwork was in need of some tender loving care and if I wanted to be really picky a coat of paint on the walls to make it fresh would be good, but this was the end of their skiing season so it could have been fresher at the start!
We stayed for three nights and slept well in the sofa bed, although happy to be home in a proper bed tonight!
Very good value accommodation and a pleasant staff member on check-in, self check-out means leave keys through letter box of office before departure, easier than many hotels make it!
Would certainly stay again when going to Meribel.

Room Tip: Unfair to rate service as this is a self help place, check in was good and informative. Our room overlooked the rear of the building and when we were there the sun shone very brightly in the afternoons so we lucky in that respect.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A much better experience than a few years ago, as now the place is spotless, well run and location is ideal, unless you truly want to be in a slope side property...Special mention for the friendliness and competence of Pauline Kaes, that made our sejour a pleasure!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarcoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The good things about Les Ravines - centre of town, escalator to snow slopes 50 metres across street up some steps, stop for free bus across street, restaurants across street (Le Taverne and Le Refuge very good), little supermarche across street. The apartment was clean, toilet was quiet and quick re-cycle, shower over bath good; reading lights provided over the bunk beds. Quiet dish washer, microwave. There's a TV, we did not turn it on at all so don't know what's available on it. Very efficient electric convector heater. Outside our apartment, the four person lift was quiet and quick, we were on the 5th floor.

The not so good - the unsupervised apartment building is prone to be party noisy after midnight, this happened on two of the seven nights we were there; hot water can run out in the evening, this happened once to us at around 7 pm, but OK all other times in late afternoon when we came in after skiing. Cooking facilities basic, we didn't use them, no electric kettle of course ... what is it about the French and electric kettles? and sliced bread that stays fresh for more than a day?! Anyway, we brought along our own travel kettle, we've been to France many times ...

The bad things - the 2-4 person studio is way too small for 4 adults, full stop! Unless you are perhaps four young lads or ladies out on the slopes all day and on the town all night and you just fall into bed when you eventually come in. Otherwise, no way is it comfortable for four adults, two OK, maybe with 1-2 kids who can bunk down. The pull out sofa bed was about 5 feet wide and creaky - we took off the mattress the second night and put it on the floor, much better. Because of the smallness of the room, the four of us (Mum, Dad and adult son and daughter) were aware of the airlessness of the place and had to keep opening the balcony door to let the (freezing cold) air in. There is very little storage space, so two of us operated out of suitcases for the week.

There is mention of a play room and sauna and salon down in the basement and we investigated this, for interest, late on the last afternoon we were there, took the lift down to Etage 0. Emerged into a dim quiet corridor, locked doors everywhere - play room locked, notice about limited opening hours on the door; sauna room locked, notice about booking it on the door; salon and Gents/Ladies door locked. All was as quiet as the grave in that corridor - one sensed that if you fell down dead here it would be some weeks before the receptionist up on the 3rd Floor, morning or early evening shift, would sniff the air and exclaim, 'Oh merde alors! Je pense une autre personne has snuffed it dans le basement.'

So there you are, that's Les Ravines - I'll always remember the sinking feeling the four of us had when we crowded into our tiny 5th floor studio, a very definite uh oh feeling ... we survived the week, just about ... but boy, were we glad to get out of the place! Memo to self - pay a bit more to ensure comfort and be afraid, very afraid of 'special' offers from tour operators.

And just to finish, a true anecdote - on the second last day, we were running out of loo paper (four adults, rich food, wine ...) and my wife asked, in her perfect French, at reception for another roll to see us out. 'Ah no, je regrette, vous have used up votre allocation de papier toliette, vous etes on your own maintenant ...'

You will be pleased to hear that we managed to snaffle a roll off the cleaning ladie's trolley in our corridor - just hope she didn't have to pay for it later!

Room Tip: Four adults should go for the 4-6 bed option.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MossieB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews