We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We're just back from our sixth visit to the Hameau. This year we had very posh apartment. Laminate flooring, dishwasher, coffee maker in addition to a properly equipped kitchen area. Very clean, comfortable and warm. We ate well in the apartment every night. (Too tired to venture out after a full day's skiing.) Sensational view over the Meribel valley. It's pot luck. Sometimes you get one like this, other times you get a tired one in need of some TLC with a view of a white wall of now.

Foregoing comments apply: Brilliant location at the head of the Meribel valley. Step out, click on skis, ski all day, ski back to the apartment door. On our last day we had a mad outing involving Pas du Lac, Saluire, Les Creux, Chanrossa at 1650, Marmottes, Maduit, Tougnette, Alouette, Mont Vallon, Mottaret again via Plan des Main and Martre, Saluire, Les Creux, much slithering about at 1650, 1850 via Gravelles, up over the Loze ridge via Dou des Lanches, Pic Noir with wonderful view of the valley, Altiport, Doron, Chaudanne, Tougnette and finally came to a rest at the Hameau again via the Furet piste. All because Mottaret is so well positioned.
Franck at Hameau Sports had skiis waiting for us by prior arrangement and was his usual cheery and helpful self for any assistance or advice required.

If possible, buying your provisions at the Super U in Moutiers will save a few bob and I personally favour Lyon over Geneva as a connecting airport. Autoroute all the way to Moutiers, as opposed to the lanes and by ways of Annecy and Alberville if you come down from Geneva. We did the return from Mottaret to Lyon St Exupery in 2 hours 30 minutes in economy mode. I took a chance on a week's wifi access from www.neptune.fr for €20. Worked acceptably well the whole week.

Mottaret itself isn't that pretty or exciting if it's night life you're after. But if you're there to ski it takes some beating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MikeD186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were in Le Hameau du Mottaret, last Christmas holidays (2013). Although the snow conditions overall Europe were not so great, we had a wonderful time. Mottaret is at such an altitude that we didn't suffer from snow lackage. The appartment was simple, but we knew that in advance. For us this is not so important since we are outdoor the biggest part of the day. Regretfully we had an appartment that was not in direct sun light
From the appartment to the slope was only 20 m walk, so no heavy carrying. It was also simple to get back to the appartment.
Meribel-Mottaret is a small village, no big parties, music etc.So not a village where young people go for after skiing. The location is however perfect. Since it is located in the 2nd of the 3 valleys you rather simply go everywhere in the 3 vallees.
Especially for families with (smaller) children, this location is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed as a family over new year - 2 adults and 4 children (2 teens aged 19 & 17, two smaller boys aged 9 & 8) in two self catering studios. Both were small and basic but clean and well equipped - although beware you have to pay extra for towels and for the TV. Great for hot water (thankfully!). Location is excellent - right by the slopes with ski-in, ski out ski lockers, a ski rental store and lift pass ticket booth both off reception. Mottaret has an Esf ski school but no English ski schools (they are down in Meribel but not very coinvenient for an early morning start for children or collection at the end of the day). Le Hameau itself is very quiet - you are a bit stranded from Mottaret once the cabin lift shuts at 19:30 (we had to walk down the ski slope as the quickest route rather than follow the road down) and while there is a free bus service to Meribel it is infrequent (hourly) towards the end of the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged in different blocks - make sure you request the same block if booking more than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrewjh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here (booked via Thomson/Crystal) over New Year... it was probably the most expensive time to travel but we really wanted to go as had friends staying there too! We were worried about the location but it's an easy walk in to central Mottaret down stairs or the gondla runs until 7.30pm, quite a lot of stairs to walk back, but if you can ski/board you have the energy to tackle this too.

Didn't like all the dog poo everywhere, but that's common in a lot of french residences. Getting into Meribel was easy as free bus runs until midnight so could still take advantage of the great Meribel Apres and bus it home after.

Taxi back from Meribel was circa €35 - ok if you can fill a cab!

Apartment was adequate - we had a studio for 4 for just 2 so plenty of room, if 4 would have been tight for personal space! Great ski in ski out location and easy to access pretty much all of the 3 valleys, I would certainly come back again!

On check out we elected to clean our own room, they provide mop, dustpan and brush, hoover so just needed to buy some antibac wipes, cloth and soap.

Check out more pics from my holiday on my blog "Debbie Does A Blog" search for the Debbie Does Meribel blog posts.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the 4 person studio for a couple as a comfortable option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location right by the pistes and lifts. Good restaurants and bars on site and free bus runs until midnight. Good ski hire shops. Appartment tight for five people but we managed and loads of hot water. Would certainly use again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

overall there is nothing good we can say about this accomodation other than its excellent location. upon arrival check in was awful long queues and the neilson rep did not help us with this.once we had finally checked in the room was very small and cramped for 3 adults. the carpet wasnt clean, all bits on the floor, clearly had not been hoovered, and the bedding which you collect your self from a dirty basement did not seem clean due to seeing stains on the sheets which was very off puting. no staff around to speak to, even when you did speak to someone they couldnt speak english and were unhelpful. probably best to stay in meribel, yes it is more expensive but we were told there is affordable accomodtion there. small supermarket for your basics was handy. overall we had a wonderful time skiing, but you dont want your trip ruined by staying in this poor accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just back from a week there. Sure it is tired and if a coach load comes in (or several in our case) you could be a hour in a queue (get in the line quickly, while someone from your party minds the gear), but the rooms are a fair size and clean enough if the previous party have not messed it up too much. Inside the hotel there is a supermarket, ski shops, a bar and a fairly nice restaurant. Backs onto a ski run, and is next to a cable car down to the main ski area. Has a bus that runs until midnight into Meribel. What is not to like, especially if you get it for a decent price (we paid £400 each, for 3 blokes).

Room Tip: Always carry a bus timetable. The hotel is at the top of a long steep slope, so you don't want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryWhiteBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meribel hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
L'Oree du Bois Hotel Meribel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#22 of 33 in Meribel
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret

Address: Le Hameau du Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
Price Range: £66 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Hameau Du Mottaret Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing