We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but tiny rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Chaudanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Chaudanne
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at Hotel La Chaudanne in March 2013 for a 4 day skiing trip with my youngest son. We booked the hotel on booking.com and requested a "superior twin". We arrived ahead of the normal check in time ( 1700) to find the hotel on the main street about 200m from the lifts and friendly staff. Our room was really way too small though with two tiny 90cm beds with hardly any space at all for luggage and especially to hang ski jackets etc. As it was only 4 nights we put up with it but if I had been staying longer I would have asked for a bigger room and paid the incremental cost. The breakfast which was included was great with plenty of choice and freshly squeezed orange juice. The one surprise was that the hotel didn't have ski storage but had an arrangement with a ski shop across the road to store ski set each day foc.The staff there were great but I still found this a bit annoying for a hotel in the ski area itself. The bar prices were ridiculously expensive and the bar was empty at all times the days I was there - 14 for a gin and tonic no wonder it wasnt popular. The only other thing was the cleaning where often food trays and bags of linen were left in the corridors all morning not pretty at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room - get them to quote the size of the room in Metres 2 - some are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    39
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
50
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good services... and best for my family ....
The swimming pool is very cool .... and room are beautiful .... There are lot's of services for family....

We just spent a very pleasant afternoon having lunch on the terrace of the Chaudanne. It 's a gorgeous location...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Yes, it was pricey but I suspect that is the going rate for its location. The staff were charming, the rooms small but perfectly formed. Some of the rooms have been modernised and feel "better value" for the money and the older ones have bath only (superieure room). If you are a shower person like us, this was annoying but there are plenty out there who are bath people after a days skiing. Would stay there again, book a little earlier and get a room with shower. Breakfast was a pleasure as others have written here.

Room Tip: Not quite ski in, ski out but a 75m walk to the lift is pretty close
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhhedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

we paid around 200€ per night at the hotel and definately it is not worth it. The location is the mais pro of the hotel as everything else is rather week. The room was TINY, we had no place to put our luggage, as it is a ski resort they should consider that people travel with boots, etc. the room was very old and bathroom needs renovation. very dissapointing for the price!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna_Koltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

From Class to A... The original Chaudanne deserves both it's rating and the reviews here. It feels like a *** and the place oozes charm and class, matched of course to it's price but it ticks all the boxes for value. The Tremplin and L'Eterlou" are just ugly budget places, with horrid colours and furniture, and cheap fittings. They do not deserve the same price-tag as the Chaudanne.

Across all 3 hotels though the staff are really good. Dressed well, professional, and ready to help out.

If you have a baby (and stroller/basinet) then you need to be in the Chaudanne. To get from the Tremplin to breakfast is logistically difficult. You will be "carrying" your stroller ....up a flight, down a flight....up 2 flights....to get there. Just a pain for all. You can take the "outside" path and make it just one small flight to carry, but in bad weather thats not an option.

My suggestion is to make sure you are in the Chaudanne.

The one advantage the Tremplin and L'Eterlou have is the close access to the pool andoutdoor Jacuzi.

Room Tip: Reserve in the "Chaudanne", not the Tremplin or L'Eterlou
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge, suffolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in La Chaudanne (not Hotel Tremplin or Hotel L'Eterlou) very recently and I have to say I was worried after reading the reviews on here but for no reason. the hotel is lovely, the staff are very helpful and the breakfast was very good indeed. The Chaudanne has been updated very recently and the interior is lovely ...the bathrooms in particular ! It is moments from the slopes and opposite a number of very good ski hire shops who will store boots and skis (owned or hired) so the need to lug ski gear home is negated. It was not cheap and the room while the largest double they did was still not enormous but it was more than adequate and how long do you spend in your room?! . Two points to note ...one very positive, they have a fantastic showers/changing rooms on the first floor so if you have check out and still want to change after a morning skiing there is the facility to do so, and secondly the negative which is not about the hotel at all ...DO NOT be tempted to eat in La Grange ...the seafood restaurant across the road!! It is not only extortionate but very poor value for money. Over all this hotel is by far the best situated I have ever been to in any ski resort and the rooms, service and food were lovely. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was my third stay in the Chaudanne hotel. I have allways felt welcome here!

Looking at some of the reviews of this fine hotel, it sounds like some people might need to rethink what three stars mean. First of all it's important to realise you're paying for the best location in Meribel (and imho the best in the whole 3V area)! The level of service is way above par. I was ill two days and missed breakfast and dinner. The restaurant staff made me light meals which I could have in the room. They were attentive and friendly. If they seemed rude (to those who claim they are), maybe it was a reflection of your own behaviour towards the staff!

The rooms are not large, that is correct. However, they are very clean and comfortable. TV has BBC 1,2, news and world. There is WIFI coverage everywhere in the hotel and you get a login per device. Unfortunatly our iphones and ipads kept having to log in again every 10mins.

Same for the bathroom: not large but fine. Allways plenty hot water for a nice bath and ample ventilation. The only thing I missed was a wall mount for the shower.

Dinners and breakfast are excellent. The menu offers choice to suit most people. If you ask in advance you can also switch restaurants. The cheese fondue in La Grange is superb.

After a nice long day on the slopes the outdoor pool is superb but we gave it a miss this year (as the temperatures were round -19°C in the evening).

Finally, parking. Order a spot in their indoor garage in advance and be assured you have a warm snow free car when you travel home again.

To finish this review: A big thanks to everybody at the hotel and restaurant. You will see me next year again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeRobertsNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#7 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Helios
Hotel L'Helios
#6 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#5 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Eterlou
Hotel L'Eterlou
#20 of 33 in Meribel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chaudanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chaudanne

Property: Hotel La Chaudanne
Address: route de la Montee, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Meribel
#8 Spa Hotel in Meribel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Chaudanne 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Chaudanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les 3 Hotels De La Chaudanne Hotel Meribel
Chaudanne Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing