We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments, small and in need of refurbishment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Apartments, small and in need of refurbishment.”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed at the MGM for two weeks this season and our experience was 'ok' .
Travelling : Myself, my husband and 2 year old little boy.
My brother in law
Our dog
We had a 3 room (2 bedroom) apartment.

The good points
A lovely reception area with area for children and gorgeous log fire.
Quiet and pretty location.
Apartment as requested - in a quieter area, high level and overlooking piste with beautiful mountain view.
It is ski in /ski out.
There was a great sledging slope next to our apartments.
Swimming pool / sauna / steam/ gym ( not as cold as other french pools we have visited)
There is a bus stop very close to apartments so you can get into Meribel centre if you need ski school or Creche.
Oddly the towels were very fluffy

The Bad
Apartment in need of refurbishment. The soft furnishings were extremely tired and mismatched. Curtains rails were coming off the wall. Wood was badly scratched.
Apartments small - you certainly wouldn't want full capacity. In fact we have half capacity and it was quite tight.
The beds in the parental room didn't seem to fit and the bed constantly needed making. The duvet was (strangely) two single duvets inside a double cover and they kept getting twisted up etc.
The staff would not help us find a way of watching DVD/ play games on the TV using our playstation. The TV did not have the correct remote control and we couldn't access the AV. Eventually we purchased a Universal Remote which did the job nicely. So don't forget to take one with you.
If you are looking for Apres Ski, this is not the place to be.
No wifi in apartments
Ski lockers were tiny, you couldn't leave boots in them or they would be soaking wet. It was also very dark in the ski room.
The was no lock on the main entrance to the apartment building, so anyone could enter, including ski locker.
The relaxation are in spa was a couple of loungers in the gym.
The changing area for the pool is far to small, the where only two private changing rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for posting your review. We're glad you enjoyed the location and communal areas of the resort. We strive to ensure après-ski for our customers is as relaxing as possible. We're sorry the furnishings in the room were not to our usual standards. We are pleased to assure you this property is scheduled for a full refurbishment in the new year. We do advise that guests upgrade to bigger berth rooms if they are traveling in groups on our website. Wifi is available in reception and we hope to install it in the rooms as soon as we can. We're sorry again for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    140
    55
    51
    14
See reviews for
258
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Apartments are in desperate needs of a makeover, tired, tiny and badly designed! No space in the little kitchenette with a dishwasher where the pots came out dirtier than when they went in. Worn out furniture and soft furnishings. We booked apartment for 8 but were only 6, however still cramped. One of the bathrooms has a curtain instead of a door. Lack of care in the preparation of the apartment, pots stored away dirty, beds with double duvet but no cover just 2 single sheets instead, no kitchen starter pack as agreed. Our block was a walk away from main block so not good for using 'spa', facilities in spa not great either. Saunas with children whizzing in and out so difficult to keep them warm. Spa staff chatting to frieds at desk oblivious to it all. On the bright side, reception staff were pleasant, Meribel Village is lovely, beautiful top class restaurent in nearby village and they will send a car to collect you - just don't stay at these apartments if you like comfort.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WabbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meribel hotels

brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Before going to Les Fermes de Meribel, please read this tip:

==> Book an apartment for at *least* 4 people more than the size of your group.

==> You may also want to request Chalet A or B so that the kids can enjoy billiards, pool, and lobby without having go to out of the building (other units require you to walk outside to get to the lobby)

==> In addition it would be nice to be on the top floor to avoid hearing the neighbors above you - mediocre soundproofing between rooms.

The apartments in this development are incredibly, inhumanely small and the MGM group markets them as "spacious".... Indeed in France it is not unusual for many people to squeeze uncomfortably into vacation rentals wit people sleeping on every sofas and empty floor space. I was expecting a bit more comfort and luxury from the MGM image, than what we got.

The GOOD points:
------------------------
Outside of your apartment, this property is fine.

The 3 valleys ski domaine is absolutely incredible and will make you forget your apartment as soon as you are outside.

Perfectly situated along a beautiful ski slope next to the Golf Teleski

Free bus service to central Meribel, runs frequently

Quiet location outside the main town

Superette, restaurant, and ski material rental at your doorstep

Lovely lobby and swimming pool, just like in the brochure

the BAD points
-------------------

Upon arriving most customers are absolutely gobsmacked about the small size of their apartment.

We saw dazed families coming back down to the lobby saying "it's missing a bedroom" only to be told no, people are expected to sleep on the floor (trundlebed) on the sofa, and in a windowless cupboard!

Luckily, we booked an apartment for 6 people, for our family of 4. Even so the unit was so claustrophobic and uncomfortable I couldn't believe it. I felt very, very sorry for anyone who took MGM's word for it and booked an apartment at full capacity.

Beware: At least 2 people of the published capacity will be sleeping on a sofa bed in the kitchen-dining area, with no cupboard space and no place to put their suitcase.

People will be expected to sleep on trundle beds on the floor taking up all the floor space in miniscule other rooms, or in cupboards with no outside windows or ventilation.

Parental bedroom with a very small bed (140 cm - french "standard?") wedged between the walls with absolutely no room to walk around it; not even room for night tables and lamps. Insufficient storage space for clothes, no drawers whatsoever.

Shower about 1 foot from master bed, separated by a curtain (no room for a door!): floor and bed get wet after showering if you are a normal size adult.

Kitchen with NO counterspace and NO cupboard space for storing your shopping (I guess you could put your shopping in the oven). Also no microwave, which bothered us much less than the lack of space.

No entry hall - no place to store boots, ski jackets and pants, wet mittens etc...

In addition, the units are not completely noise proof. We were lucky, we had quiet neighbors. But you can hear all footsteps, chairs sliding, trundlebeds rolling, etc. in the upstairs units.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieqjlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Having stayed at the same apartments 3 years ago I was disappointed to see that it is still as tired looking as it was back then. The staff were pretty unhelpful when we asked to look at others rooms. They would not entertain a late check out even though it was evident that the apartments were not fully booked. Check out was chaos bags and people everywhere and we had to wait a long time to be seen.

The pool was really cold and even though guests asked for the heating to be turned up the temperature throughout the week got worse !

The apartments are 3 star rather than the 4 star rating given by some tour operators. They are in desparate need of modernising and updating. I would not recommend more that 6 adults to share an 8 person apartment which had 3 bedrooms. The other 2 would be expcted to stay in a cubby hole under the stairs ! There was just enough room on the one sofa for 4 adults.

On the plus side you can ski to door and children can go sledging outside the apartmetns in the snow. The bus to meribel is regular as clock work although it can get very busy at peak times.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boopatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Customer Liaison Team Representative- Surf PR- Replying on behalf of PV-Holidays at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy a high standard of service during your stay at the PV-Holidays Residences MGM Les Fermes de Meribel. Our customers’ comfort and enjoyment is our highest priority.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We have been in contact with the management to make them aware of the issue regarding problems with the late check out and swimming pool temperature.

All of our staff receive comprehensive customer service training, and they take pride in keeping all our customers, who come from all over the world, happy.

In addition to ensuring that all rooms are spotlessly clean for new guests, it is also our policy to check that all facilities work correctly, and furnishing are of utmost comfort and style. We apologise that, in this instance, the situation was not resolved to your satisfaction.

We hope that you will choose to visit one of our residences again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hessle
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Ok, i will try to be objective based on my own personal experience.

pros

warm comfortable accomodation
we were in room #1 in the main block, literally 5 seconds from reception and the pool and ski lockers and 2 minutes wakl to the golf lift.
pool, saunas, steam rooms. Nice after a hard days skiing.


cons
check in. Its was a disorganised shambles waited nearly hour and half to get key. No problem if you spoke french, it seemed.
After 12 hours travelling not the best reception.

Rooms very compact.

one thing to note when we left at 6am on saturday the main reception was locked internally and at main doors so you have to drop your key in the wooden post box outside.

All in all not bad, but would probably opt for a rented chalet next time just because you get more space.

  • Liked — close to slopes, shop, pub
  • Disliked — reception check in
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fospa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_PV, Olivier_PV, online communication manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel, responded to this review, 23 July 2008
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments via Tripadvisor.

We have carefully considered your feedback on the MGM Residence Les Fermes de Meribel.

We would like to take this opportunity to let you know that our teams are currently being trained to deliver to MGM standards in order to better cater for to the needs of our customers.

You can be rest assured too that all of our staff speak at least basic English.

Thanks again for your feedback and wWe hope that you will choose to holiday in one of our residences again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

There were a lot of negative reviews mixed in with positive reviews on Tripadvisor, so it was difficult to know which opinions to go with. In the end, there was a large party of us (9 people) seeking self-catering in the Meribel area and they were pretty much the only establishment that could accommodate us together.

The price worked out nicely at about €290 per person for 6 nights. Which for the area was excellent! Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised... probably because our expectations were set at "low". There were 4 neat and clean bedrooms awaiting us and a pull out sofa bed for the 9th person. All rooms were small, but it didn’t matter since they were literally just to sleep in. There were plenty of kitchen supplies (cups, plates, glasses ...etc.). Besides the 4 ring hob the only other method of cooking was a microwave/oven combination that was on the blink for the first day or so. Other than that there was no faulting the accommodation.

One thing to be clear about is that “Les Fermes” is a collection of apartment blocks, built on a hill, so there is a bit of a walk up hill to get to your chalet if you are not in one of the lower chalets. The pool & spa area is also in A. The only recreational facilities in the village is a Bar/Restaurant, a Spar and a local Boulanger.

However, it’s a neat little village and easy to get to from anywhere (walking). There is also a Ski-hire shop beside Spar. You can buy your lift pass at the base of the lift system. There is a relatively regular free shuttle bus that goes too & from the main Meribel town. Watch out for when the timetable varies in frequency, especially outside of morning and end of ski time.

All in all it’s a compact set up.. all the basics are covered. The one chair lift gets you well up into the 3 Vallees and into the centre of probably the best skiing in the world. You can easily ski to Courchevel & Val Thorens. If you are budget conscious and can drum up a group booking, and are prepared to self-cater, then Meribel village is ideal. If you are looking for a faster pace of après ski & nightlife then Meribel Centre would be better (2km away).

Would I return to “Les Fermes” and Meribel village? Yes... if in a group again, but I would exhaust options in Meribel Centre first.

  • Liked — Clean and central to skiing the 3 vallees
  • Disliked — Chalets all along a hill.. made walking a pain.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Just spent a few days at a chalet in Les Fermes de Meribel. Can't understand all the bad reviews, it was fine. Checked in OK, quite a long queue but to be expected as Saturday and the first day of half term holidays, but the staff dealt with the queues well. Beds all made up and ready, staff friendly and helpful. Even more so if you can manage a few words of French, rather than shouting loudly in English! We noticed the staff were more unhelpful to the loud English guests who shouted loudly at them - they simply ignored them. They provide washing up liquid, clothes, tea towels and some toiletries in the chalets as well as towels (no hairdryer), but not loo roll, so be warned for when you first arrive. There is a Spar supermarket 2 mins away though which sells most things, including, importantly beer...... We stayed in Chalet B close to the reception area, it was nice and clean and warm.

Visited the steam rooms and pool one evening but a bit of a faff to get down there and get changed etc but nice for a one off.

Two restaurants nearby, The Lodge and The Savoyard, we would recommend the latter, it's a bit more pricey but worth it for the lovely food and atmosphere. Try the Tartiflette! Or you can get the free bus into Meribel itself and we would recommend La Taverne restaurant there. If you have children, there is a slope right outside the chalets where they can sledge and you can see them from your balcony. Also a ski run (the Lapin run, a blue one) that ends just outside the chalets - great to finish off the day with and not have to get the bus back from Meribel. Similarly in the morning when the chair lift opens - a good way to start the day's skiing without having to clump too far in ski boots!

Not many more tips for this hotel really - in our opinion it was a good, clean, basic self-catering chalet, ideal for skiing in the Three Valleys with helpful staff and good facilities.

  • Liked — The location - close to a blue run
  • Disliked — The queues on check in but to be expected.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meribel hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
331 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#15 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Chaudanne
Hotel La Chaudanne
#11 of 33 in Meribel
121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#5 of 33 in Meribel
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel

Property: Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
Address: Route de la Foret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Premium Résidence Les Fermes Méribel)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Meribel
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
#8 Spa Hotel in Meribel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In peaceful, wooded surroundingsDoorstep skiingA residence offering relaxation areas and ‘Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes De Meribel
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes De Meribel Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing