We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our first visit to the Hotel Tarentaise and we were not disappointed. The location right on the slopes and access to the whole 3 valleys lift system was ideal.
Our room (no. 6) was spacious and very clean and our balcony overlooked the pistes with fantastic views.
The staff were very helpful and the service, quality and standard of the food was excellent.
Our grandchildren (ages 3 and 1) were in the Kids Club and had a great time, looked after very well by the nannies, giving their parents the opportunity to spend time on the slopes.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the piste have fantastic views and sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
56
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Reading some of the other reviews for this hotel I was not sure what to expect but service,staff,food, room , ski hosting and location were all excellent when we stayed week beginning 26th Feb 2012.
Our room no.8 was facing the slopes and above the dining room but we were not bothered by any noise from piste bashers or guests/staff below us.
The staff were all so helpful and the quality of food provided at afternoon tea and dinner was very good.
We throroughly enjoyed our third stay at a MW hotel and would definitely say this has been the best so far and will be booking again with MW.

Room Tip: Room number 8 first floor facing pistes -quiet and was good size with double bed and single and balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagpuss298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.W England UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very clean Hotel, polite, helpful well disciplined staff providing an all round excellent holiday. I have read other reviews whom make reference to the noise of the piste bashers, our room over looked the slopes and didn't disturb us or the kids. We'll be booking again.

Room Tip: Make note there is no lift in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippy4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is our 3rd Mark Warner holiday skiing. We booked this hotel because it is more luxurious compared to the other hotels that we have stayed in (dahu courchevel)
The hotel is fine, its comfortable and clean and fairly up together.
however you will share the hotel with the staff that seem to be there to ski and have a laugh, the bar always has staff loitering and drinking in between the smoking breaks outside.
the bar was always cold, I always had to ask to get the fire lit, in fact I lit it myself one night.
the bar is very expensive, its cheaper to drink in the village!!.
the hotel had a good location on a green run to the village but beware for beginners the slope get very hard packed steep at the end.
Boot heater does not work and has not worked for a long time and probably will never work.
ski school miles away from hotel.
most of the staff are lovely, the other seemed to ski all day then do their work at 5 oclock, like hoovering the bar when you are trying to relax.
Would i say here again...... maybe if they sort out the management and staff issues.

Room Tip: make sure your room is not above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sid44782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Having looked at trip advisor before making the booking for a last minute ski holiday, I was in two minds to choose the Tarentaise due to some poor comments. The reality could not have been further from all the bad comments left on trip advisor. ALL the staff were fantastic, accommodating, friendly and professional The Hotel, with its fabulous location was not a usual tired "chalet hotel" in need of refurbishment, but a well appointed smart building, with very comfortable rooms.
The dining experience was excellent, lovely food choices, and the house wine was very acceptable, with the waiting on staff very friendly and proficient.
The hotel manager was a credit to Mark Warner in running her team so smoothly and faultlessly!
Overall, we had a fantastic holiday, and I would recommend staying at the Tarentaise to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 42 was a double and single, piste view, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superkersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Firstly some lovely staff.
If you have children who are going to ski school dont even think about booking this hotel ! MW informed us ski school pick up is outside the hotel, that changed a few years ago and now it involves a mini bus ride of 15 minutes each way and they dont all fit on one bus, so lots of waiting around.
Bar area is full of hotel staff killing time! just lazing around all day feet on the tables making it very uninviting. Also dirty glasses everywhere day and night. Bar not stocked well one evening not even any ice !!!
Some lovely staff at kids club but not enough or a lot going on, (but lots of texting and smoking breaks ).
Boot room damp cold and dirty. Boot rack heaters not working and we were told have not been working all season, nor has the room had a clean all season.
No hot water after five pm.
Rooms above the bar very noisy with staff smoking and drinking until early hours of the morning.
At breakfast and high tea you have to find your own cutlery, napkins etc just the odd table was laid up.
Evening meals very good and some very good staff.
We have done 9 MW holidays and none were like this, such a shame. I think MW are cutting back to much and it shows.

Room Tip: Do not take a room above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our fourth trip to this Mark Warner hotel, and possibly the best yet. Despite being unbelievably cold, the snow conditions were exceptional. Possibly the best thing about this hotel is it's superb location on the piste in Mottaret, Mottaret being the most convenient place to stay in the 3 valleys for getting about. The staff this year at the hotel were fantastic. We travelled with our two young sons who really enjoyed the creche (never brought an artwork folder home from holiday before!!!) and my parents, one of whom is an irritatingly fussy veggie. The dining room staff couldn't have been more helpful in accommodating him and he had to concede that the food had been very good. The wine was plentiful and very drinkable, and service in the dining room was consistently good. The bar was perhaps not as comfy as in previous years...at times downright chilly, but given the very low temperatures and single, yes single glazing, it's not surprising. This hotel is not the newest, and not especially luxurious, BUT it is comfortable and informal. Our room had had a refurb, was nice and clean and the beds have really thick comfy mattresses, so we slept very well. Sarah in customer service, and all the front desk team were very helpful and friendly.
Big thanks in particular to the wonderful team of nannies this year who were so caring and made the creche such fun for our boys. The evening DVD in the kids club was a massive hit with so many of the children, with the staff putting them into cosy beds in the creche when they got sleepy. Our eldest son, 5, had private lessons and was collected/ dropped off on the the piste directly outside the hotel (our only grumble really is that the MW recommended ski school for kids, Magic in Motion, involves a 10-15 minute minibus trip down the mountain into Meribel, and then a trudge across the chaudanne, and then a gondola ride to the second station of Rhodos in Meribel.... Our son did this last year, never again. Seems crazy to us!!) The nannies were really accommodating in helping with the handover to the instructor, so that we could ski.
All in all, a really great week. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodcote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meribel
17.5 mi away
L'Aiguille Percee
L'Aiguille Percee
#19 of 37 in Tignes
147 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#5 of 33 in Meribel
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#15 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#13 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Tarentaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Tarentaise

Property: Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
Address: Immeuble Tarentaise Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Hotel Tarentaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing