We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately,...I'll never stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Key West Inn
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Georgeton, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately,...I'll never stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

I've stayed at this particular Econo twice in the past. My first time was uneventful and even though the place needed renovation,...the price of a jacuzzi room and the hotel's location were perfect so no complaints. My last stay did it for me. The hotel advertised new rooms and renovation but our room still looked run down down with a frige that didn't work,...missing light bulbs and a non-smoking room that smelled of heavy smoke. The final straw was the fact that out of the 3 nights we stayed 2 of the nights there was no hot water. Explaining to me how old the equipment was and that it takes time to warm up was what I got when contacting the front desk. YES,....the staff is very freindly and management is professional,...but that alone does not make up for a very uncomfortable stay. I will say here that management knocked off a significant amount from my bill because of the hot water issue and I appreciated that,....but never again will I stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeOP, Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are profusely sorry that you came on the weekend of the water heater problems. We had our onsite maintenance man and a contractor as well as virginia gas working around the clock trying to fix the problems that weekend. Unfortunately, they weren't able to pinpoint the problem until after you left. It is reassuring to us, as management, that at least you had a previous stay that went well without a hitch. On the otherhand, thank you for the compliments towards our management team and our staff. We truly appreciate the feedback and are happy that at least you were satisfied with the customer service. We will continue to strive to involve management in making sure all room standards are met for all future customers. We hope, that because of the first good experience and the fact that you were compensated for the bad one, you will come stay with us again, and let us make the next stay even more successful than either of the ones you've already had. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
6
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Despite it being posted as a non-smoking room, our room seriously smelled of cigarette smoke. The carpet looked and felt dirty, and the bathroom was moldy with badly patched walls. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the front staff were very friendly. The location was good for shopping and dining, was close to the university that we were visiting and was relatively inexpensive. Still, if I were staying longer than one night, I would look for another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeOP, Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for your review and your feedback. Thank you for the compliments towards our staff, they are our most valuable asset at Econo Lodge Oyster Point. We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory, however, we have just hired a maintenance man on site, as well as a head housekeeper whose sole job is to make sure that our rooms measure up to industry standards as far as cleanliness goes. We hope that in light of recent changes you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport News hotels

Beaufort, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Firstly, I travel a lot. I'm a Choice Hotels diamond elite member and this is decidedly one of their best kept secrets. I've stayed here several times and the staff have always been extraordinarily friendly and helpful. If there's ever been any type of issue I've let them know and they've always responded in a rapid and courteous manner. Not the surly, "I was trying to finish watching my show." response too often found in value hotels. The rooms are invariably clean and comfortable, and even the cleaning staff are friendly. I don't know that I haven't received a smile and a "good morning" anytime I've bumped into one of them. The place has always been quiet, and I've never been awakened by doors crashing, people yelling, or the ever-dreaded "listening to the racket in the next room because of too-thin walls." Best of all...the price is right. Check out the "Choice Hotels" website and try to find another in the tidewater area to match their rate. Especially now, with the summer travel season coming. If you want a good, comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable cost, you can't miss.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaarrrggghhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeOP, Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you so much for your valuable review. We are truly lucky to have regular customers like you that come in and are so loyal to us. We appreciate you staying with us and promise to be dedicated to your needs as time goes on. Thank you again from the WHOLE staff at Econo Lodge Oyster Point! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

Well, it looked fairly new in the photos. I believe, as I sit here looking around, that every piece of furniture has damage. The fridge can't be opened unless you lean it back due to missing base pieces. Goodness knows if it works. The shower/tub does not drain and there is much black mildew in the bathroom. Taking a shower standing in 2" of cold water is *not* fun. There are badly patched holes in the walls of both the bathroom and the room. The heatlamp is not a heatlamp, it has a basic 60w bulb in it and the timer does not work. There is *no* alarm clock. *no* hairdryer, *no* fitted sheet on the bed (just a plain sheet tucked in) the towels are threadbare, this place is just worn out. It was inexpensive, the guy at the front desk is nice, but I'm glad we are only here 1 night. We were too tired and too unpacked to go look for another hotel. I wouldn't stay here again, and I probably won't want to stay at another Econo Lodge again as a result of this stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekend_warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeOP, Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
We thank you for your review. We are also very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and ran into these problems. However, we appreciate the feedback, and will try to anticipate any such problems that may arise, ahead of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
0.6 mi away
Newport News Marriott at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 38 in Newport News
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn

Property: Key West Inn
Address: 11845 Jefferson Avenue, Newport News, VA 23606 (Formerly Centerstone Inn Newport News)
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Key West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing