We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Newport News

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Newport News
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and the overall rating, but it sure didn't seem like the rating and reviews were written about the hotel we stayed in at all. I was impressed, too, that the management seemed to take the time to respond to reviewer comments, but basing my review completely on my stay, I would never choose to stay at this hotel again.

When I made my reservation online, I asked for a quiet room. Upon check-in, I was told that the hotel was full, so they weren't able to honor that request, but they had given me a room away from ice/vending machines which I did really appreciate. From other reviews of this property, I expected a very friendly welcome and nice greeting when we arrived, but it was short, cold, and to the point (also something others might appreciate, but after a long trip, I thought at least a smile would be nice).

As we ascended the staircase to our room, I started to get a little nervous. The smell was old, musty, and smoky. We requested a non-smoking room, but the room did still have a funky smell, and it particularly smelled like it maybe at one time had been a smoking room and then was changed to non-smoking. There was a wall fan unit or air purifier attached to the wall outside the room, but it was unplugged, so whatever its purpose, it was non-effective to help the smells.

The appearance of the room was fine. It was old, as others have commented, but it looked nice. It seemed to be clean, except the bathroom, but when I mentioned this to the front desk as we were leaving for the afternoon, she had someone take care of it while we were gone. One odd thing about the room is that, as you walk across the floor, there are dips in the carpet. I'm not a flooring expert, so I have no idea what causes this, but from my perspective it seems like the floor under the carpet is rotting away - otherwise, why would there be dips? While it doesn't affect the appearance of the room, because you don't notice it until you walk across one of the spots, if it is rotting underneath, that could certainly explain part of the smell.

We left the hotel & didn't come back until bedtime. In the hallways, it was easy to hear noise from other rooms. Like I said earlier, I am a light sleeper, which is why I always ask for a quiet room. No matter where I would have gone in this hotel, though, I'm sure it wouldn't have mattered. Every time the person above us (3rd floor) walked or moved in their bed, we could hear it. It was awful. Luckily we couldn't hear anyone in rooms next to us too, or that would have been the end of our stay. The mattresses were lumpy, and the beds squeaked every time we moved. Needless to say, it was not a good night's sleep.

In the morning, we stopped down to the breakfast buffet, but like the rest of the hotel & stay, it was disappointing. We opted not to eat based upon the appearance of the food and the kinds of food left (we didn't get there until 9, so there was only 1/2 hr left of the buffet), so I can't speak to the quality of the food. It might have looked more appetizing if we had gotten there earlier, but I don't know.

I am used to staying in hotels in this mid-range level. I look for good deals on rooms but ones which will provide a good night's sleep (I mean, I'm still paying $95-$100 for a room - I don't think a good night's sleep is too much to ask). This hotel may charge mid-range prices, but definitely don't expect a mid-range stay. Very disappointing for a Choice hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room on the top floor. Just be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Sara,

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to par. I have checked the room you were in, and there is no issue with the flooring in that room. It appears the foam they put down to level the floor, wasn't level in that specific room, leaving the uneven space you had mentioned.

Regarding your other issues, I am extremely sorry you were not satisfied. As you can see from our other reviews, we do our best to provide the best possible guest experience possible. If you would like to discuss your issues further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.

Sincerely,

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
12
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is clean. But, it is also very basic. The rooms are old and small, but they have been renovated. The rooms are dark, with inadequate internal lighting, and small windows for natural light. There isn't even a place to hang your clothes. Seriously, there is no closet in the room. Also, the breakfast is not well attended, and therefore they run out of items.
That said, the rooms are clean. So, if the price is right, and you are just looking for a place to lay your head...

Room Tip: NO ELEVATOR. If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a first floor room. If you have a wheelchair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H2OGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear H2O Guy,

Thank you much for your review of our property, and your business this past June. In the last year we have made improvements to our breakfast, and usually have a breakfast host on staff during breakfast hours. We have gotten over the door hangers to hang clothes on, available by request from the front desk, while we work on getting new closets. We are hoping to have the closets some time this summer, or early fall.

I am glad that you were satisfied overall with your stay, we are an older hotel, but we pride ourselves in providing the best service possible, and for providing clean, comfortable accommodations in the Hampton Roads Area.

I invite you to stay with us again, and am sure you will find that the service and our product continue to improve.

Sincerely,

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My son left his favorite stuffed animal at the hotel following our stay. The very kind gentleman (Jay) is mailing it back to us. We are so grateful for his kindness and understanding! We will be sure to use this hotel every time we visit New Port News (which is frequently to attend swim meets). THANK YOU!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DyanneG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I am thrilled to see that our staff and management have again gone above and beyond for our guests. We pride ourselves in providing top not guest service, and I am glad we have upheld our standard of excellence and quality.

I hope to get to know you upon future visits, and look forward to having you as our guests any time you are in the Hampton Roads area!

Sincerely,

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A friend was getting married and we all stayed here 2 weeks ago. The hotel was pretty & clean, the staff were amazing. Internet worked great, and they had flat screen TVs in all the rooms - I wasn't expecting any of this because it is an older hotel. But you can not beat the place when it comes to service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathlynUVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for your business, and your wonderful review. We value each and every one of our guests, and we do our best to go above and beyond to provide the best possible service. I am thrilled to see that we have succeeded, yet again!

Congratulations to your friend on getting married, and I hope to see you again in the future!

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was at this Inn for four days to study, the Inn was quiet, so clean, the employees were respectful and helpful. There is a hotel nearby which I stayed at in the past, but I would choose this Inn again instead. There isn't a frilly lobby, like the one around the corner, but the coffee was hot the room was wonderful with great pillows and the staff were respectful and..at breakfast, yes...real scrambled eggs (not triangle shaped). It had everything I needed to be comfortable and secure. I would like to say thank you to the staff and management for keeping everything the way it should be...a home away from my home.

Room Tip: Very clean and friendly, near grocery stores and other places for things you might have forgotten. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamarie91111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your business and your wonderful review. We appreciate hearing how our guests stays were, and we are pleased that we have continued our long tradition of guest service and excellence! We go out of our way to ensure each and every guest has the best experience possible.

I look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

From NC, I called the Quality Inn in Newport News to book a room. My daughter recommended the hotel because they had stayed there numerous times when visiting their son at Christopher Newport University. She said she had never met a nicer staff at any hotel she had stayed at. When I called, I spoke with Regina. She went out of her way to help me secure a room for me and my husband. There was an error with my Triple A discount and she took ALL the time needed to fix it and put our reservation in again, to enable me to get the Triple A discount. She kept apologizing for taking so long instead of acting like I was taking up her time!!! That was quite a change than most hotel staff!!! When we checked in the next week, Regina was there to check us in, had all our paperwork ready to sign and called to check on us when we got to our room to see if we needed anything and to see if we were happy with the room. She was VERY knowledgeable, efficient, and friendly. She was the epitome of 'customer service.' When we checked out the next day, I asked for a supervisor to explain how much we appreciated it. I told her that Regina was very knowledgeable in her job and must have been there a good while to be able to wait on all the people that were checking in, without getting flustered. She was nice to everyone! The manager said that no, she had only been there for a week! I was amazed! The hotel in itself was nice, but dated. Rooms were very clean and the housekeepers were every bit as friendly. What was lacking in 'modern amenities,' i.e., soaking tubs, etc., the staff MORE than make up for in kindness and assistance. We WILL stay there every time we go visit our grandson in college. That will be four years of visits and I figure by that time the Quality Inn staff will be family!!! Thank you so much, Ms. Patel and Regina!!! Being a military family, we have stayed in MANY various hotels but this Quality Inn is definitely in our top 5.
Sincerely, catjag@gmail.com

Room Tip: All rooms were nice. We stayed in a smoking room on 3rd floor (smoking rooms on higher level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Cathy,

Thank you so much for your great review of our property! We pride ourselves in offering clean, comfortable guest rooms, with that family touch that you spoke of. I look forward to us all getting to know you over the next 4 years! If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask for Mrs. Patel or myself and we will ensure it is taken care of for you.

Again, thank you for your great review, your business, and hopefully, over time, your friendship as well.

Sincerely,

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Week long stay when in the area to visit family. Options are rather limited in the immediate vicinity. Nicer full service hotels are across the water in Norfolk but that is a bit of a hike away. So, that's the backdrop for this review.

The plus. Room was clean and comfortable. Climate control works well, both in heating and cooling modes. Front desk staff were friendly an efficient. Lobby area small but welcoming. Coffee available all day.

The minus. Hotel should think twice about its choice of cleaning products. Not everyone likes the smell of floral potpourri. It is such an overwhelming smell from the minute you step in the doors. The hotel should take this into consideration. Neutral or unscented is the industry standard. The breakfast is so so. Basically reheated jimmy dean packaged products, pastries and juice. Good when you are desperate for a quick bite but there are lots of better options just down the road. Walls are super thin and lack insulation. I could clearly hear the conversations in the next room.

All in all, given the other choices in the area (no-tell-mo-tells), the Quality Inn is a good choice. I would probably make the same choice again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimesFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your business, and your candid and fair review of our property. We are an older hotel, and we don't have a lot of frills. But we are proud to offer clean, comfortable rooms with an inviting, professional staff, and we do all we can to make each guests stay as good as possible. As you can see from our other reviews we generally have great reviews, and very satisfied guests. I am sorry you were not thrilled with your stay, but I am glad that we at least met your basic expectations, as you stated your room was clean, the staff was friendly, with good, working AC & heating for each room. We will look at other cleaning products and see if we can find something more neutral that is appealing to all guests.

Again, I thank you for your business and your fair review. I hope to see you in the future when you're in the area visiting family!

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 38 in Newport News
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
0.1 mi away
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 38 in Newport News
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Newport News? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newport News

Property: Quality Inn Newport News
Address: 945 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Newport News 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Quality Inn Newport News reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Newport News/j Clyde Morris Hotel Newport News
Super 8 Newport News
Newport News Super Eight
Newport News Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing