We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fluffy towels, a real bathmat and soft pillows - a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Newport News
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room was roomy, beds nice, pillows soft and the towels were amazingly fluffy. (Clean but without reeking of bleach and stiffness.) Loved the real bathmat that didn't slide all over the tile. Water pressure great. If I had to find a complaint, it would only be that there wasn't a freezer in our in-room fridge and that the entrance was a bit confusing - we nearly got back on I-64! Lots of nice restaurants nearby. (And shopping - but my husband wouldn't take me, teehee!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theplanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our bathroom amenities and pillows! Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon in Newport News!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a conference I attended at the Marriott oyster point. It was about give mins away. The hotel is right off rt 64. Very close stores and restaurants. I booked on Priceline secret hotel and it was $40 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank living07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon in Newport News!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

I checked into the hotel without issues, but after the first night I found multiple small bugs on the bed that luckily I had not been sleeping in (there were two beds in my room). After finding these bugs, I took some pictures of them and searched them on google to find out what they were. They were bed bugs. I counted seven different bed bugs throughout the mattress and coming out from behind the headboard. When I contacted the front desk to let them know they quickly moved me to another room. Typically when I have been inconvenienced by a hotel and they move your room they offer to help you move your luggage, but that is not why I am complaining. The next morning I am awoken by a phone call at 8am from the general manager of the hotel, telling me the rooms are newly re done and this shouldnt have happened and there was an exterminator coming that same day to take care of the problem. The reason I am writing is because instead of offering to make this right, the gm only called and woke me up to tell me it shouldnt have happened as the rooms are new. Now i am stuck having to wash all of my clothes while on the road, which is not cheap or convenient. Thanks a lot Newport News Holiday Inn, i hope i can clean all of my stuff well enough that I dont bring any of your nasty bugs home with me.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Campman612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. As we mentioned when you stayed with us, there were no signs of bed bugs in your room. We had exterminators come out to the hotel while you were still on property and they confirmed that there were no bed bugs in your room or our hotel. The pictures that you have uploaded with your review are not of our hotel. We do not have that bedding in our rooms. I have contacted Trip Advisor in hopes that this review be removed as it is false. We are sorry again that you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

I've had a very pleasant stay here. Upon arrival, we were greeted promptly and were allowed to check in early, as soon as they had rooms available. The manager was very cordial to us. I would stay here again, the rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn & Suites Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon next time you are in the area! Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just a fantastic value. Great staff. Clean, upgraded property. Had to switch around my dates and they were very easy to work with. Restaurant on site. But went to Waffle House across the street. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn & Suites Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Newport News soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent one night there when we couldn't get to Virginia Beach because all the tunnels and bridges were closed. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful in helping us - we were lost, tired and angry at VaDOT. The room was very nice and clean. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn & Suites Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel team was able to help you when the tunnels and bridges were closed. Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Newport News soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Clean, well appointed, beautifully redone, great helpful staff, soft bed, ....this place is a gem in Newport News.
The room was gorgeous and so clean...smelled terrific. Refrigerator, coffee maker in room- or you can walk down to the lobby to get coffee day and night. Towels are soft and luxurious....bathroom is large and clean....what a joy after a long day in the car. Shower was great- massaging head included.
Oh- and Shawntia- what a sweetheart! She recognized my platinum card holder account and moved us into a suite... She was so helpful in suggesting places to eat and we finally decided on a chinese restaurant she told us had great food....She was right! Delicious!
With our tummies full, we crawled into bed and had a great night sleep. Very nice breakfast area with yogurts, fresh fruit, omelets made to order, breakfast meats, milk- of and the coffee in the lobby.....all made a terrific night into a terrific day.
We will be back again and again when we return to the area for work.....and this is our new favorite hotel in Newport News, Virginia Beach area....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PADancergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for Holiday Inn & Suites Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast! Thank you for your business and for staying with us when you are visiting the Newport News/ Virginia Beach area. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon in Newport News.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 40 in Newport News
542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#5 of 40 in Newport News
211 reviews
3 mi away
Residence Inn Newport News Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News

Address: 943 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Newport News
Price Range: £66 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Newport News Holiday Inn Express & Suites, formerly the Holiday Inn and Suites Our award-winning hotel is conveniently located near the Newport News / Williamsburg International Airport, and Joint Base Langley-Eustis allowing you to reach your destinations effortlessly. Since our hotel is nestled in the heart of Newport News, work sites including the Naval Weapons Station, Northrop Grumman Shipbuilding, Boeing, NASA, Ferguson Enterprises and Jefferson Lab are just a few of the surrounding companies. We offer free high-speed internet and complimentary business center services making it easier for you to get work done efficiently. There is always something to do in Newport News, whether it's learning the rich naval history at the Mariner's Museum, visiting the endangered animals at the Virginia Living Museum, or relishing in the diverse cultures of the performances at the Ferguson Center for the Arts, we're happy to assist in planning your trip. Enjoy dining and shopping with us at the City Center, or the new Marketplace at Tech Center just a few miles from us. We at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites take great pride in our customer service and the amenities we offer our guests such as the free hot breakfast in the morning, our 24-hour convenience store, fitness center and our indoor heated pool. Let us help you plan your trip for business or leisure, we offer you what you need, stay smart and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport News Hotel Newport News
Newport News Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing