We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jameson Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Newport News
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Alyssa was one of the desk clerks and she did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING(but stood outside smoking all day) MAKING THE OTHER EMPLOYEES LOOK BAD we stayed for a while there and we requested a non smoking room and went weeks as paying customers being lied too! Not to mention we were being charged an additional fees(60-80bucks a week) for having children!!!!!(who never ate that crappy breakfast) wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameson21, General Manager at Jameson Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Being good or bad it allows us to see things from a valued guest point of view. We do apologize for the additional amount you had to pay for your weekly stay. We were in the process of changing some things when you stayed in Sept. 2013. As far as our weekly rates rising is not due to children, was due to the fact that our guest are able to enjoy our amenities such as an indoor pool, hot breakfast and housekeeping daily. We are not an extended stay property so we do not cut back on the amenities we offer due to length of stay. Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Jameson Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here when we were selling crafts at the Poquoson Seafood Fest. This was also the weekend of the Phish concert. Despite being sold out the staff was able to provide excellent service and respond to small issues quickly. A++

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameson21, General Manager at Jameson Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review we greatly appreciate the kind words. Hope you see you and your lovely wife again next year for the Seafood Feast Aaron W. Maybe we can upgrade that suite again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here Oct 2013. Earlier this year, stayed at nearby place that got top rating on tripadvisor. This place was half the price, but better location. Friendly staff, decent breakfast. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: call in person for better rate. try asking for "CNU" family rate, too.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameson21, General Manager at Jameson Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Yes anytime you are not sure about special rates please call CNU always receives discounts as well as other schools and businesses in this area. We a very happy you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you on you next trip to Newport News VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After reading some of the reviews of this place, I was very concerned. But once I checked in the place was perfect for our needs--a stop over place on our way south. We had a total of 4 rooms. They were very clean, the staff was pleasant and the breakfast more than met our needs. I will say that there seems to be no enforcement for the non smoking policy as about half of our rooms that we got had the smell of stale smoke even though all the rooms were supposed to be non smoking and you could smell smoke when you walked down the halls.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachie909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameson21, General Manager at Jameson Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We definitely do have a smoking policy in which we enforce, unfortunately there are the few that do not follow. But thanks to your review we have installed cameras in the halls to monitor the few that make it bad for the rest that follow the proper procedures. Thank you again and please come back to see our new changes that make us better because of your reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been great to me and my family. We had a house fire and they took us in like family!!! The new owners are very nice people! The GM and AGM are very sweet and welcoming! The staff including front desk....grounds men..... maintanience man.....and housekeepers keep the place well kept and very nice. They treat you like family. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfix2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed for two nights. The staff was pleasant and easy to work with. The lobby was clean at check in. My room was OK, but smelled of cologne and old smoke, even though it was non-smoking. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. My remote control was missing, the front desk quickly replaced it, however. I avoided the waffles, eggs, and biscuits in favor of cereal and bagel. This hotel has definitely seen many years of hard use, with cracked tile, worn furniture, and stuck doors. But overall, I felt safe and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank tofumidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameson21, General Manager at Jameson Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your honest review of Newport News Jameson Inn & Suites. We are undergoing some changes to make the property better. We appreciate the suggestions and the positive response in you review. We look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I knew something was wrong when my family checked in and had problems switching from what was supposed to be a non-smoking room to a true non- smoking room. After the stitch was a dead giveaway, I found a lighter by the trash can. How was that missed if they vacuumed the carpet?

Once we finally were able to switch rooms, we noticed that the comforter and the couch had tears and holes in them like the other room.

Out of three nights, have had to call the front desk regarding the guest above us sounding as though they are playing a game of football or something at 4 A.M.

The maid staff is yet to vacuum and instead of cleaning, they just want to know whether or not you need new towels. I had to tell them that we are about to step out and that they can do what they need to do once we depart. One particular maid rolled her eyes at this suggestion.

We are here for a family reunion, but if we can, we will be relocating in a couple of hours as some family members have already done.

Again, "don't do it!".

Oh, also, the grass where the kids can play, is full of dog feces.

One positive is that a couple of the front desk staff employees are polite.

Room Tip: You tell me...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameson21, General Manager at Jameson Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your review of Newport News Jameson Inn & Suites. We do apologize for your poor stay. We have taken steps to correct all of the negative comments recently received on Trip Advisor. This is definitely not a pattern for us. Some people not following our policies unfortunately can turn away guest that follow the rules such as smoking in a non smoking room, or not cleaning up behind their dog. We are pleased that you decided to stay with us for the duration of your reservation even with all the mishaps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 39 in Newport News
205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport News Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 39 in Newport News
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn & Suites

Address: 21 Old Oyster Point Rd, Newport News, VA 23602-7118 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newport News
Price Range: £46 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jameson Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jameson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn And Suites
Jameson Hotel Newport News
Newport News Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing