We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are Two Orth Zimmers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orth Zimmer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacharach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orth Zimmer
Ranked #5 of 13 Bacharach B&B and Inns
greeley, CO
Level Contributor
389 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“There are Two Orth Zimmers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Please note that there are two places in Bacharach that are zimmers run by families named Orth (sisters in law I think). The address given here is for Ursula. Across the street (really a lane about as wide as an alley) is Spurgasse 2, run by Irmgard. There are reviews for both in this larger review. We stayed at Irmgard's and found it very nice. I selected July for the date stayed, but I really stayed in Dec. 2011 (and will stay in Oct., 2013). I just wanted to report that there are the two different places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had no trouble finding the B&B and received a warm welcome. Ursula and Erhard speak a little bit of English (probably a smidge more than my little bit of German) but we managed the communication just fine. Our room was on the third floor with lots of stairs (just like the rest of Europe!) Our triple room was fairly small and contained a large double bed and a sofa bed, which, according to my daughter, wasn't the most comfortable she'd ever slept on. The double bed was fine, however. The room contained two wardrobes, a small table and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was clean but on the cold side - there was heating only in the bedroom. The towels were very small and scratchy - take your own (we did). Breakfast was wonderful - eggs, pastries, meat and cheese, bread and spreads, hot and cold drinks, and Ursula served us at 6.30am on our final morning as we had an early train to catch. There is no internet access, but we made a nightly hike to the youth hostel in Burg Stahleck for cheap wi-fi there. The B&B is quite close to the train station and the boat dock, and Bacharach is a lovely town to wander around. Considering the price we paid (48 euros per night for the three of us) this was fantastic accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loki_crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielOrth, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Orth Zimmer, responded to this review, 25 December 2016
Hey , Ursula is Irmgards sister in law, so they share the same last name, so I think you rated the wrong place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindon, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

When my mom and I arrived, we felt so welcomed! It is literally their home, and they rent out the bedrooms, so naturally it is cozy.The owners don't speak english, so it helps to speak German. Maybe it was because of our jet lag, but I have never slept so good in my life. The beds were very comfortable.
If you're looking to have a fancy, less personal experience, go somewhere else. But if you want to make a friend, and experience some culture, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
592 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

While i appreciated marylanddweller's assessment of Orth Zimmer, i want to add that if the annoyances she mentioned are such to deter fellow travelers, then PLEASE, stay away. One of the toughest things about having been an expat and avid traveler has been coming face-to-face with americans (for the most part; and 'we' really DO seem to be the worst) who seem so caught up with the little things that they fail to appreciate the truly amazing. We, too, found no soap ...a reminder that most germans travel with a small bar, as, usually, do we. On being asked, Urmgard quickly provided. Television, where it was available most places, was primarily in German. My husband happened to pick up a great 'read' on the first of our (two) stays at Orth Zimmer that proved far more enjoyable through ALL of our trip, even those places with television. Suffice to say, many Europeans travel with their own TOWELS. Not so, Americans ...
Orth Zimmer was a 'Rick Steve's' suggestion and we were delighted when we arrived late on a Monday night to find Urmgard had a room and made us feel welcome. 40 Euro a night was a wonderful price for a quiet comfortable bed and a great breakfast. She also suggested a restaurant, not in Rick Steves, that was great when we went there on our second swing through Bacharach.
Quite frankly, it was their simple kind of place, well-priced, that made us return to Bacharach when, several days later we'd finished in Beilstein and Cochem and St. Goar and found ourselves looking for a room in Rudesheim. Talk about small and noisy and rather cookie-cutter! The tourist office told us of the cheapest to be found (64 Euro) and after scouting it out, we got on the car ferry and train and made our way back up to Bacharach. It took 14 euro to get there and Ulmgard's smaller place was full, so we stayed w/ Frau Ursula ...but the welcome was genuine and, because the bath was in the hall, we paid 38 Euro. As the weather was turning rapidly to 'winter', and the next day was to be our long-transit day back to Munich, it was good to be 'at grandma's' and to find yet another fine restaurant they'd suggested.
Something about Orth Zimmer reminds me that most of Europe's hotels originated not as 'Motel 6's', but as way-stations for weary travelers. If unique, hospitable, and reasonably priced are your criterion, you'll be pleased when Ulmgard or Ursula buzz you in and show you to your room.

Room Tip: Urmgard's upstairs room was a tad more cozy, her towels a bit softer, and breakfast a bit more a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Sometimes it’s very hard to knock a place when you love the owners but overall things are not up to standards. I will word this carefully. First the good- Ursula and her husband are WONDERFUL. We fell in love with them both instantly. Basically you’re staying with your grandparents. The people who stayed there at the same time were great- wonderful conversations over breakfast, which was very good. I have food allergies and Ursula was wonderful, with out being asked, at making me things I could eat. So accommodating. The shower pressure was good and the water hot. The bed was acceptably comfortable. Okay the bad- The rooms were… basic… oh so so so basic. NOTHING. No soap, no TV (of course since there was no soap) no room to maneuver around with any sort of luggage on the floor. The towels were like little dish towels- very old and very scratchy. I joked I was getting an exfoliation treatment each time I got out of the shower. So there you have it. Just realize there are some definite pros yet some serious cons.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marylanddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielOrth, Geschäftsführer at Orth Zimmer, responded to this review, 25 December 2016
Hey , I think you stayed at Ursulas place. She is Irmgards Sister in law so you rated the wrong place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed four nights. Good location to visit up and down the Rhine, hiking, boat rides, visit castles, festivals.... 36 euro a night including excellent breakfast. Frau Ursula lovely hostest.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

My wife and I stayed with Urmgard in her en-suite room for 3 nights. Great location just far enough away from the busy train line, great price, wonderful town in the heart of the most scenic and historic part of the Rhine River. Urmgard is a warm and friendly , helpful host and her homemade breakfasts a treat. Making the phone booking was interesting due to the language barrier but well worth it to experience this lovely little slice old style German hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GafPjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bacharach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#8 of 9 in Bacharach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
0.3 mi away
Gaestehaus Stroeter
Gaestehaus Stroeter
#9 of 13 in Bacharach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orth Zimmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orth Zimmer

Property: Orth Zimmer
Address: Spurgasse 3, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bacharach
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Orth Zimmer Hotel Bacharach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing