We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View - Long Steep Climb - No Entry”
Review of Burg Stahleck

Burg Stahleck
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Bacharach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
181 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great View - Long Steep Climb - No Entry”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I really love Burg Stahleck even though you can't go inside the actual building unless you stay there in the youth hostel (which is not very castle like anyway). You can look around the exterior, though, and feast your eyes on a gorgeous view of Bacharach and the Rhine Valley. The view is free - but you pay for it with every gasping breath you take on the way up. The castle courtyard and walls are delightful to look at. There is a cafe where you can buy reasonably priced drinks and ice cream. The dragon themed metalwork and gutters were exquisite. I liked the way the walls sprouted up out of the rock. It just tickled my fancy, I suppose.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mielmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    70
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tappahannock
Level Contributor
156 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from Castle Grounds”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife, two daughters (14 and 12) and I hiked up to the castle from Bacharach in August on a rainy afternoon. The views from the Castle are wonderful and you can imagine what life must have been long ago for those inhabitants of the castle. The castle serves as a youth hostel and has a snack bar, which came in very handy after our hike up.

The hike was worth the effort in our opinion, but you do need to be in at least decent shape to make the climb. The steps are steep in spots and uneven in some areas.

We were glad to have hiked up the hill and would do it again if we were to go back to Bacharach. It's basically a hike with a snack bar at the top and great views, but we had a good experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivahrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
747 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Hiking the town walls”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We took a morning hike on the town walls up to Burg Stahleck, with beautiful scenery, views of the town and the Rhine and vineyards. The cover photo of Rick Steve's Germany 2013 book is taken from this hike, a view overlooking the town and the Rhine. Be warned, this hike is steep with uneven footing and steps. The Burg Stahleck is in good condition and is now used as a youth hostel. Worth the hike for the views alone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful castle and village”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Bacharach and its castle, Burg Stahleck, were such a pleasure. Beautiful views both from the castle and of the castle from the town below. Lovely little town with cobblestone streets, half-timbered houses, historic buildings, Rhine Riverfront, restaurants, and of course the castle. Also a good base for taking train or boat rides along the Rhine, visiting other villages, and going from Koblenz to see the Mosel River vlley. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My boyfriend and I hiked up to Burg Stahleck from Bacharach - it is a lovely walk through vineyards with a gorgeous view of the town and the Rhine River - but it is steep, with a lot of wooden steps and uneven ground... The castle itself is in great condition - it is now used as a hostel but it has all of the character from its Medieval roots.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burg Stahleck also viewed

Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Burg Stahleck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing