We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like your staying in the scenery.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First of all, Bacharach is my favorite Rhine town because it has kept it's solid ancient feel but isn't hyper touristy, like Rudesheim is. Anyway, you will eventually wander into the authentic feeling old square and there it is, the Hotel Altkolnisher Hof anchoring one corner. From our room I spent time looking out at night at the cobblestone street and halftimbered buildings and felt transported in time.

Easy walk to the train, boat, restaurants and shops (not hundreds of shops but a dozen nice ones.) This hotel holds a central position in the small town.

The hotel management was very friendly and helpful. They have parking available down the street so go check in and unload first and park second.

We loved the crisp white duvet beds. Bathroom was large and very new and clean.

We enjoyed the nice breakfasts at the hotel. A diverse buffet of good breads, cheeses, hams and eggs. Various cereals, yogurts, nuts and fruits as well.

Bacharach was a good anchor point for our Rhine castle visit and within an hour we were at Frankfurt Airport for our return flight home.

Room Tip: We got the family room, with a large queen bed and queen size foldout couch which worked out well fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElectricalEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We loved our 2-night stay here. The location is very central (though Bacharach is so small that most hotels will meet this definition). It is a large old inn which is lovingly preserved, specially the beautiful façade and the large dining room is with its high ceilings and wood panels and definitely brings. The wood floors in the narrow corridors creek as to remind you the age of this place but the rooms themselves are fully modern with all necessary facilities. Breakfast was very good. They have a private parking about 200 meters away - when you check in you can drop off your luggage in front of the hotel and they will give you a sign that will allow you to park there. Overall very recommended

Room Tip: I was with a teenager child and we took the triple room which is in fact equivalent a two-bedroom su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Yair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a wonderful hotel this is in a lovely town! Loaded with atmosphere and comfort, you won't be disappointed here. Had a standard room without a balcony which was just fine. The breakfast was the best we had in any of the hotels we stayed in Europe with lots of variety and very high quality served in a beautiful dining room. Also had dinner there one night and really enjoyed it. Staff was friendly, and the town and entire stay was simply magical!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jcemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The best hotel we stayed in Germany. Wonderful view of the rhine river. Rooms were big and had a balcony with street view and the rhine. Breakfast was great. We stayed for two nights and both nights we ate at the Hotel restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff especially "Brigit" made are stay so welcoming and personal. I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anybody who would like to visit the rhine. Walking distance to the boat.
The hotel is in the city center with parking near buy. Everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel has balcony and ask for one you with rhine view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LMel154958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for a family of 4 and were given adjacent rooms. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual continental style as well as scrambled egg and bacon. The hotel is very picturesque and it was nice seeing our hotel being the centre of attention for the other tourists. It made a good base for exploring the region and Bacharach seemed to be the best of the villages we saw. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiful and charming period hotel with exquisite dining room! Hot breakfast along with an array of cold meats, cheeses, etc. served on silver. Upstairs remodeled hotel rooms in old building are completely renovated and even high-end. Located right in the center of a small, but nice town along the Rhine.

Room is somewhat, but not horribly, small. Probably typical for being right in the middle of an old town. Also, if folks want to sleep late, they have to be prepared for train noise and church bells. We were not bothered by either. Although there's a lift, there are also half-floors with steps, so the somewhat disabled should try to get a room directly on an elevator floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed with another couple, last week. I booked the rooms and at the time only one balcony room was available; however, I requested two balcony rooms, if another one became available. When we walked in the lovely lady at the check-in immediately said she had two balcony rooms for us, without my even mentioning it! So nice to stay in a place with such attention to detail, on their patron's behalf! The balcony rooms are the worth the small extra price, as you can enjoy a beautiful view of the town. The rooms are very large and it is so nice that they have fans in the rooms, as there is no ac. The dining room is absolutely gorgeous! The breakfast was ample and also included scrambled eggs and bacon, not normally included in German breakfasts. We ate dinner at the restaurant, outside along the street. The dinner menu was fabulous and the food delicious! Our waitress was a lovely lady who ran my friend and I through the narrow alleyways behind the hotel, to show us such a beautiful sight of a well and vineyards! Very nice staff, with attention to the customer/patron...very much appreciated!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GermanyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#3 of 9 in Bacharach
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#6 of 9 in Bacharach
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
3.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof

Address: Blucherstr 2 / Ecke Marktplatz, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range: £61 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the marketplace in the center of the romantic Middle Rhine town of Bacharach, you will find our beautiful, historic, family-run hotel-restaurant Altkolnischer Hof. Comfortable and stylish rooms await you. All rooms are equipped with shower / WC, minibar, laptop safe, flat screen TV, radio, telephone and hairdryer. W-Lan free for hotel guests. Some rooms have a balcony. Our restaurant with an outdoor area invites you to spend comfortable hours to enjoy delicious food and drink a good Middle Rhine wine from our cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altkolnischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing