We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel am Markt
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night after originally booking Pension Dettmar in the same town - they are owned by the same family, and I think we got a better deal than we paid for when we were moved to this Hotel. After some initial language barriers (my wife's German hasn't been used for 10 years and mine is non-existant) we were given a very beautiful room - old fashioned but in a good way. The bathroom was excellent (looked brand new and a very good shower) the bed was comfortable. The hotel is in a fantastic location right in the center of the interesting part of town. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. If you're looking to experience the history and culture of a town then this hotel is a good bet. Breakfast was traditional continental europe - bread, croissants, cereals, meats, cheeses etc. We like this style of breakfast and it was very good, the bread was lovely.

My few very slight negatives would be as follows:
1. The building is old and the walls aren't very thick, it was easy to tell when the neighbouring room came home and put the TV on. This isn't a modern building, so don't expect modern sound insulation.
2. Only 1 english language channel on TV, and it was CNN (how awful!), but I'm the one who can't speak German, so its really my fault.
3. They only accept cash as payment - which came as a surprise to us at checkout...its our fault for not checking in advance, but this is possibly the one genuine negative as it cleaned us out and I don't like using cash and it pretty much cleaned us out.

#3 above is really the only thing which the hotel could be "faulted" for...had they taken credit cards and given free internet access (only via paid wireless) it would have been 5 stars.

As a general note, there is little parking close to the hotel, but the hotel do offer a parking garage at an additional charge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    74
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
41
107
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This bed&breakfast was extremely charming. Staff spoke minimal English but were eager to help! One young lady even brought our luggage 4 flights of stairs (87 steps)!! 

The room had a fantastic view of the little town: three windows gave a breathtaking aura to the warmly colored room. Both the bedroom and in suite washroom were quite large and seemed to be recently renovated as everything seemed to be quite new and clean.

The breakfast was quite pleasing! Continental and served in the restaurant on the ground floor of the B&B. We also had dinner at the same location and it was quite delicious :)

Major drawback was the lack of reasonably priced wireless Internet. We ended up hiking to the hostel and use the 1€/hour connection there. Cannot understand why owner would not be able to offer a cheaper ad-hoc connection. 8€/hour is simply too much.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaTagliasacchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellettsville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

What can I say. Andreas and staff were simply amazing. We were a bit difficult I'll admit, but they were so patient, we got to use their personal computers, they helped us with phone calls, the food was superb, the wine was better, and we have told everyone how great our experience was. We would go back in half a second.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed 3 nights in this small town on the Rhine. Since the town is so small, almost all the hotels have good locations. What you have to worry about in Bacharach is the town is located on the main RR tracks - so you really want a hotel that is far enough away from the tracks (and soundproofed) so your sleep is not disturbed. This hotel is fine in that regard. Would describe it as a standard German hotel and restaurant located in a small town. The room was relatively spacious by German standards - definitely clean and well-attended to. Again - not much in the way of extra amenities. The restaurant is on the ground floor. Good typical European breakfast was included in the price of the room. I ate two dinners there. Convenient and good food but not great.

Got to know the staff there. They were very helpful to me and gave me some good advice. Between their English and my German we communicated just fine. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed for two nights with my hubby in October 2010. We had a Superior room with a jacuzzi tub (very nice after a long day of hiking, biking, and walking on cobblestones!). The room was on the 2nd floor and faced the square. It was basically furnished, but very clean, spacious, and with a great view of Bacharach's (tiny) main square and the vertical vineyards surrounding the village. The breakfast was generous and filling, and it was all a great value for 95 euros.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, but try to get a room with a view for sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpartyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

For 50 Euro, this was a great hotel. No frills, but the view from our room on the top floor was fantastic. Lovely view of the town and vineyards on the hills. Yes, checking in at the bar was a little unorthodox, but the staff, from the manager to restaurant staff were superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tayloredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Beautifully remodeled room with jet tub and attentive staff make this small town hotel and genuine jewel. Strongly recommend the local wine. Don't miss the riesling gellato down the street.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eckmacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bacharach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Markt

Property: Hotel am Markt
Address: Oberstr. 64+66, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Romantik Hotel is in the scenic market square of Bacharach am Rhein, just 24 miles from Frankfurt Hahn Airport. It offers fine local food and Wi-Fi via hotspot access.The non-smoking Hotel am Markt has brightly furnished, soundproofed rooms and apartments with cable TV and modern bathrooms.Continental breakfast is available each morning. Seasonal dishes and homemade cake are served in the Hotel am Markt's traditional-style restaurant with wine cellar.Free parking spaces are located near the Hotel am M ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing