We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience With Yiota”
Review of Naxos Trekking

Naxos Trekking
Ranked #6 of 18 Tours in Naxos Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Naxos Trekking immerses visitors in the hidden Naxos. Naxos combines astonishing beaches with majestic mountain views. Pastures, farming fields, even lunar-like landscapes can be found here. Among them lie the scenic villages of Naxos linked together by a network of ancient footpaths. The hiking routes we suggest offer an unforgettable trekking experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While spending several weeks on the lovely island of Naxos I took the opportunity to book two hikes with Naxos Trekking. The first hike was the Halki-Moni loop trail which winds through the Naxian countryside between two quaint villages. While the experience of traversing through the olive groves, among oleander and jasmine, past ancient Byzantine churches would have been rewarding on it's own, Yiota, my guide, shared with me her knowledge and insights on the history, culture and nature of Naxos: and this made the experience one of the best during my stay. The following week I went with Yiota on the trail to the summit of Mt. Zas and enjoyed it just as much. The 360 degree views from the highest point in the Cycladic islands were stunning. Again, I was very impressed with the information and insights provided by Yiota throughout our trek.
I would definitely recommend the guided tours provided by Naxos Trekking to anyone looking for an authentic Naxian experience. (If you plan on hiking, you should allocate the space in your luggage for hiking shoes - it is worth it).

Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naxos t, Διευθυντής at Naxos Trekking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I had such a great time we you and I am glad that you really enjoyed the hikes.
Looking forward in a future hike together.
Many thanks,
Yiota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"amazing hike"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful guide"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 2 reviews
"trail"
in 6 reviews
"moni"
in 4 reviews
"oleander"
in 2 reviews
"kyriaki"
in 2 reviews
"diversity"
in 2 reviews
"geology"
in 2 reviews
"frescoes"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"parts"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"tavern"
in 6 reviews
"gems"
in 2 reviews
"beauty"
in 4 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We appreciated the hike very much. It was astonishing views and really interesting history that the guide knew and told us about. Well worth a 5 star rate!

Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naxos t, Διευθυντής at Naxos Trekking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your good words.
We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In Greece, the locals refer to the popular, crowded places as “touristic.” While we are clearly tourists, we like finding the less populated areas/tucked away gems and found that we need to make friends with the locals to do that. Yiota of Naxos Trekking was the friend we made while in Naxos, and she took us on an unbelievable, private, 4-hour, 10K+ tour of the Naxian countryside that we definitely could not down without a guide like Yiota, and we highly, highly recommend.

She picked us up at our hotel and we drove to one of the highest parts of Naxos—aperanthos—to begin our 4-hour journey down ancient footpaths which were 1000+ years old. It was fascinating to watch the landscape change over and over again during our hike, and we were thankful to have Yiota’s directional knowledge, but she was also able to share local history with us as we traversed the countryside. Once we finished the loop, we spent a little time in the marble village of Aperanthos, where we also stopped for coffee.

Our private tour also provided snacks and hydration for along the trip, but the best perk of choosing the private-tour option is the post-hike meal at Caliope—a true farm-to-table restaurant on a secondary road in between Aperanthos and Naxos Town. With this meal, I felt like our late friend, Anthony Bourdain, as we truly ate like a local in a restaurant we would not have found without our friend Yiota. We at horataki salad, beetroot salad, tzaziki, vegetables simmered in tomato sauce, and a lamb dish accompanied by the farm’s wine—and all of our meal’s ultra-fresh ingredients came from the small family farm surrounding our table. The company, the setting, the meal, the wine… like your favorite episode of Parts Unknown: it was a unique and enriching part of the incredible human experience.

When in Naxos, take the path less traveled with Yiota. It will make all the difference.

1  Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naxos t, Manager at Naxos Trekking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was a great pleasure sharing one my favourite hiking routes with you.
Your appreciation makes us happier and stronger to continue exploring new paths in the island.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

One of the most famous trek in Naxos, a good way to appreciate the historical heritage of this Island. Yiota succeced to share her enthusiasm for Naxos with us. As a first day of our honey moon it was a great time. For an amaizing finish, she takes us to a « local » tavern where the food was delicious and homemade of course !

Thanks again Yiota.
Cecile & Antoine

1  Thank cecileantoine2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naxos t, Manager at Naxos Trekking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Cecile and Antoine,

Thank you so much for your good words and for being so great partners in the hike.
I do wish to meet again in a future trip of yours to explore new routes.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We hiked Mt. Zas with Yiota when we were in Naxos - and it was by far one of our trip highlights. Yiota met us in Halki and we drove up to the trailhead together. She had delicious snacks for the hike and told us all about Naxos, the mountain, the history as we hiked up. The day was hot and she was very patient with breaks and going at a comfortable pace.

From the route she chose to the information she provided - everything was exceptional. We would've gotten lost multiple times without her!

Cannot recommend this company enough - if you're in Naxos, call them!

2  Thank inna1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naxos t, Manager at Naxos Trekking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was such a pleasure to reach the pick of Mt. Zas with you.
Although it was a hot day we managed it well. I hope to hike with you again in the future.

My best wishes,
Yiota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naxos Trekking also viewed

 

Been to Naxos Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing