We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property but no AC”
Review of Studios Naxos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studios Naxos
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My sister and I spent 4 days at this property last year, but the experience is still fresh in my mind.

The Good
Nice, quaint property, clean and near beach, a bit of a walk from down town and the ferry. Delightful street with foliage around and ladies sweeping off their porches with brooms. Really lovely. Our second floor sea view unit (dangling telephone/power lines) had dated furniture and kind of a funky layout but we are budget travelers and were fine with that!

The Bad
It was VERY HOT when we were there. Studio Naxos advertised rooms with AC. No matter how we tried we could not get the AC to work in our stifling (but quaint!) room. We notified Mrs. Stavolous (sp?) before going out for the second day. She assured us it would be fixed when we returned. After a hot day in the sun we returned to find no AC. Again notified Mrs. S. She turned from being friendly to getting agitated. Hands flying, loud voice, angry voice. We were VERY POLITE and didn't appreciate her response. Her very grumpy husband came over later that night while we were sitting on the balcony, drinking some vino and trying to make the best of a hot night. No apology, very unfriendly, he jiggled some things on the AC unit, mumbled something and then left. No AC. We caught very little sleep the 2nd night with the windows open. There are bars nearby and they were LOUD till the wee hours. NOT helpful in getting a good nights sleep so as to enjoy the next day of sightseeing. Again, we tracked down Mrs. S. to complain. She got MORE ANNOYED with us and told us, basically, that we were being "too demanding" and we "needed to understand". She said "that room always has trouble with the AC". Then she got a look on her face like "oops. I didn't mean to say that." I asked "So the previous guests in that room have had trouble with no AC?". She admitted "yes". Disgusting way to treat your guests. Have inferior equipment and then BLAME THE GUESTS when they complain they aren't getting what they paid for. After two nights with little sleep we asked to be moved to another room as they had several that were vacant. This is something Mrs. S. should have offered after night one. She very reluctantly agreed. We were given a room one floor down from us. But get this. She TOLD US WE COULDN"T USE THE BATHROOM! Not because it was broken, but because she didn't want to have to clean it again! Obviously our comfort was of zero importance to her. So my sister and I obeyed and went back up and down the stairs to our non AC room to use the facilities. Ridiculous.

There are too many other options. Next time I'm in Naxos I will choose another property with more friendly hosts that don't waste my vacation time and treat me like the paying guest I am. Oh, and I ate at the next door restaurant operated by Mrs. S's brother(?). Okay food but very indifferent service. When I said we were staying next door at Studio Naxos the brother just shrugged like "who cares"? This really stood out to us because during the other 10 days we were in Greece we encountered such warm, friendly people.

Bottom line: this really is a nice property at a decent price run by a callous, uncaring owner. If you stay here, hope you don't have any problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxios, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Studios Naxos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

All the Airconditioning systems are in top working conditio, and they go through cleaning and testing every day. The bathrooms are renovated and crystal clear, and they go through daily cleaning as well. Mrs Stavroula is standing by, round the clock in a nearby mini market, for any need you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Studios Naxos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to find Studios Naxos through Lonely Planet forums. We had a lovely 1 bedroom studio with sea views from our balcony. Stavroula was a great host and we loved the location - metres to the beach and close to the centre of town. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank ruthpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from Naxos and Studios Naxos this Oct. (2013) Got the top floor studio with kitchenette (a real kitchen) with sink, stove top burners, refrigerator, hot water maker, plates, cups, glasses, utensils, etc., TWO bathrooms (one with sink/shower, one with toilet/sink), bedroom leading to double doors and balcony with 180 degree of St. George Beach and off course right on the beach! Cost only 30 euros a night! Stavroula was a wonderful host, picked me up and drop me off at the ferry, gave me maps and lots of info on Naxos Town. Gave me a bottle of Naxos white wine! Rooms cleaned every day, beds made daily, very quiet and a short walk to the waterfront and even shorter walk to small square with tavernas, shops, markets, banks, etc. A wonderful accommodation for a couple to enjoy a romantic time in Naxos!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor studio. Nice balcony with excellent views of St. George Beach, the bay, wind s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Studio Naxos is a small building located on the beach of St George. Its location is ideal: 15 meters to the sand, 10 meters to the restaurant, 100 meters from a big parking, 1 minute walk to the supermarket, 4-5 minutes walk to the center. The rooms are nice decorated and clean. During the night you don't have problems with noise and parties, like in the center of the town.
Stavroula, the owner of the place, is so kind and helpful! Starting with waiting us at the ferry in the middle of the night, providing us with beach items from her small shop, recommending us where to go (on Naxos, but olso on Paros island), what to visit or just talking about Greece she was always ready to support her guests.
A very important hint: Naxos is plenty of amazing beaches, take a car and go. 15-20 km away (south direction) there are some incredible must-see places. Ask Stavroula she will tell you how to go.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, especially the big studio on the second floor and offers a 360 degrees view...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My room is on the top floor, has a balcony with a 180-degree view of the beach. The room is basic, but spacious, and there're openings(little windows) in the bathrooms which allow ventilation. It's good value for the money. The owner Stavroula, a very friendly woman, picked me up from the port with a big smile even though the ferry was late, and dropped me off at the port as agreed. When I needed an adapter, she brought one as soon as she could.
Please note that the photo above is not correct. It had confused me earlier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vteotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Having heard about Studios Naxos from other TA's on the forum, and needing some good budget accomodation at St. George Beach, I decided to take the plunge and go ahead with booking. It was definately a good move. Very good communications on e.mail from my first initial enquiry, and easily organised. We were a little worried the ferry would be late, and it was, but Stayroula and her husband were there waiting for us at the end of the Pier. They were lovely, friendly and happy to see us.

Studios Naxos is a brisk 10 minute walk to the Pier, or a quick 2 minute drive.

The rooms are clean, very prettily decorated in soft greens, or soft blues, with plenty of wardrobe space and very comfortable beds. We had two clean fluffy white towels each, which were replaced every couple of days, and the cleaner came in everyday, to dust and generally tidy up.

The bathrooms are small but appear to have been recently refurbished, so everything is clean, unbroken, nicely tiled and more importantly - working with a lovely hot shower at any time of the day.

There were plenty of glasses, cuttlery, plates etc., and a very useable hairdryer. Extra blankets, pillows were in the wardrobe if you needed them - and the airconditioning, which was very much needed, was free.

There are only a few rooms in Studios Naxos. Some have a small balcony, and some just have a window onto the street. They appear to cater for all sizes of parties - one of our friends who was staying on his own only paid 20Euros for a night, whilst we paid 30 euros for a double in the standard room, and 40 euros for the front rooms which are much much bigger (can sleep 3 - 4 in two rooms with two shower rooms) and have a lovely little balcony overlooking the sea directly above a beachfront taverna.

Stayroula wasn't at the studios most of the time, but she could be contacted easily enough if you needed her, and she had a lovely friend called Forteenia (??) who was always there as she owned the studios opposite, so she could always either help or get Stayroula for us.

Positioning wise, it is just behind the cluster of beach tavernas at the busier end of St. George Beach, next to the Nisaki Beach Hotel. It took us no time at all to wander to the shops or the restaurants, and we had our breakfast at their own taverna on the beach a couple of times, and found the food to be great value plentyful, fresh and good.

We were only going to stay for a few days in the first week, but we ended up staying the whole holiday. I can honestly say that these were some of the best rooms we have stayed in, in greece or anywhere on a budget, and without a doubt we will be staying here again.

The only things you need to be aware of, is that Stayroula needs payment in cash when you leave - don't rely on a credit card payment as she doesn't have a machine, so you will need to make sure that you get enough money out of the ATMS. Also if you are leaving on the early ferry (8am) then they can't give you a lift to the port, but it took us 10 minutes to walk there.

We will definately be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardworkingdreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

This small, no-frills, hotel is in the most perfect spot for a beach holiday. It is a few steps from St. George beach, right behind 2 tavernas, one owned by the same family.

The rooms are clean and bright and each room has a small balcony from which you can see the beach and the sea.

The owners wer exraordinarily helpful and available in a few minute's notice. We requested an extra blanket and received more towels, sheets and blankets, just in case. one day we returned to find a bowl of fresh apricots left for us.

The accommodation is basic, but everything was clean and everything worked.

The area is perfect too. Everything you need from laundries to car rentals are in walking distance, and anything you want to eat is availabl from gyros and souvalki to high-end restaurants.

And the price, 25 Euro per night in Juine, cannot be beat,

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bronxempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 58 in Naxos Town
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anatoli Hotel
Anatoli Hotel
#13 of 58 in Naxos Town
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palatia
Hotel Palatia
#20 of 58 in Naxos Town
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios Naxos

Address: | Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 84300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Naxos Town
Price Range: £23 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios Naxos 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Studios Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios Naxos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing