We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff but the hotel needs renovation”
Review of Porto Naxos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Naxos Hotel
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff but the hotel needs renovation”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The location of the hotel is not ideal as there is not much around there. It takes around 10-15 minutes to walk to the town centre. There were a lot of mosquitoes in the area which made sleeping with open windows impossible. We had to use the air-condition all night long.
There were small problems in the room such that some power plugs were not functioning all the time, the toilet handle was broken, the balcony door would not close easily as some rubbers were out of place, etc.
The breakfast was OK, nothing amazing. The staff though was incredibly polite and friendly. They always had a smile on their face and were always willing to help. A serious renovation would make this hotel excellent.
A last thing is that cleaning should have been better for such hotel. There was sand (from the beach) on the floor of the room which was not cleaned for the days we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeAth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear MikeAth,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please rest assured that your comments on the friendly, responsive and welcoming service will be shared with the team! It is great to receive this confirmation once again.

Your comments on certain maintenance issues and on the cleanliness level in your room are highly appreciated and well received, as our target is continuous improvement. As you have noticed, we have renovated much of the public areas and are planning to continue, as part of our upgrading schedule.

Regarding the mosquitos, indeed, it is this time of the year that nature gets tricky! This is why we provide mosquito repellent electronic devices in all rooms. It is unfortunate that it did not fit your needs.

It has been a pleasure having you here in Porto Naxos and we certainly look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Sunny regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    65
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Hotel was spotlessly clean ,bright and airy .We had a deluxe room overlooking the pool area,it had a very large balcony and a nice size bathroom. The towels and linen were of a very high standard and towels changed every day and linen v regularly. The hotel staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us!...We thought the location was super a 5 min walk to the nearest beach with nice bars and restaurants or a 15 min walk into the old town with some nice bars and restaurants enroute .admittedly the view from the hotel wasn't the most inspiring ,just next to a road( not busy by our standards ! ) and overlooking fields, we had a sea view in the distance from our balcony!!. The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold choices and was served either on the terrace or inside. We thought this was a good standard for a small friendly 4 star hotel, and would return! .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter and have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Debra A,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found our team members friendly, that you liked the breakfast selection and that you truly enjoyed your room, the cleanliness and the overall amenities.

It is rewarding to have offered you nice, relaxing holidays and it is great to know that you would return to Porto Naxos for more!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the near future, for more days in the sun!

Best Regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok. It's in a dingy part of town but has a nice pool and friendly staff. No view of anything nice. Breakfast was good. Was a small walk down a dusty side road to get into the town.

We were pretty shocked on the 2nd day as we left to go leave our room that our door was in fact not locking. Which meant it had been unlocked our whole first day and night while we were out. Considering the safe didn't work because there was no key or instructions all of our valuables (passports etc) were just in our bags, we felt pretty annoyed. Someone came to fix it as soon as we noticed.

I am with my partner and we went to Mkyonos prior and it was much nicer island. We should have skipped Naxos (now heading to Santorini). We found the town here pretty scummy. The best thing we did was rent a 4wd for two days and get out to Plaka beach. It is really nice there and found a 5euro per day double lounger and umbrella on the beach. This hotel is a 5 min walk to st George's beach which we didn't end up swimming at because we preferred the look of Plaka beach which was beautiful.

If you are happy to sit around the pool all day

I don't know where else to recommend to stay on Naxos but somewhere near north end of Plaka beach would be ideal and get a car to see the island, it was a nice drive right up to the north end in the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krtnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear krtnz,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found our team members friendly, that you liked our breakfast and enjoyed the pool area!

Porto Naxos as you mention is located 5 minutes walk to Ag.Georgios beach and 10 minutes walk to Naxos town. Overall, renting a car is advisable if one wishes to explore Naxos, as it is the largest island of Cyclades.

Regarding the door lock, our magnetic card system is a way to provide a secure and safe stay, as the doors lock automatically each time you enter in and out of your room. Unfortunately, it is possible the cards to be de-magnitised if placed next to smartphones or credit cards, which may be the case. We apologize for this unfortunate incident.

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your overall stay in Naxos, as it offers a variety of activities, from archaeological sites, beaches, great local products and beautiful sunsets among other things. We are very happy though that you did have a nice time to Mykonos and hope you have enjoyed Santorini, too!
We look forward to welcoming you to Porto Naxos, should you decide to visit Naxos island again.

Best Regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Beautifully designed premises that fit in with the landscape. Lots of space, light, air, colours... Friendly staff, perhaps a little over-eager around the pool. Perhaps a warning on slippery tiles might be useful! The music in the pool area was too loud (for our liking, at least).The way the rooms are built, none of them have neighbours on top of them: this makes for undisturbed nights. For people who like reading in bed, there were not enough pillows and the bedside lamps did not give much light. But all the rest made for a very spacious, comfortable and cosy room, with a balcony and garden view to boot. We would certainly use this hotel again - it seems a bit far from town but it is actually only a 10 minutes' walk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side may suffer from noise; our garden view made for peace and quiet - except for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulina129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Paulina129,

Thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us and that you are willing to return. We certainly look forward to that!

Your comments on the carefully designed premises, the pool and the room amenities are very well received. We pride ourselves on the high level of service and attentiveness to guest needs.

Rest assured that we at Porto Naxos look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Greece and Naxos island.

Best Regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My room was very nice - spacious, clean & comfortable. The pool was claen and big enough to have a reasonable swim. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. The road would be a bit noisy if you had the windows open. It's about a 10 minute walk to the nearest restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs seemed more spacious than the one I saw downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear axsan,

Thank you for your positive comments on the rooms, the pool, our breakfast offering and the service quality offered in Porto Naxos.

Indeed, the hotel is located 10 minutes walk from Naxos town, where shops, restaurants, bars and a lovely, picturesque old city are located.

All our rooms are designed with guests in mind. To be spacious, welcoming, clean and comfortable. We are delighted that you enjoyed yours.

It will be a pleasure to see you again and provide our services, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We've just stayed for 8 nights at Porto Naxos and we loved every one of them. The Hotel was excellent and exceeded our expectations. Our welcome was warm and friendly which set the tone for a really lovely stay at the hotel. Our room was spacious, bright and airy and immaculately clean. The huge balcony overlooking the pool was tremendous commanding a magical view out towards the sea. Between the hotel and the sea are some other hotels and trees but we could still see the water between them, the mountains of Paros in the distance and watch the ferries come and go. Looking behind the hotel we could see the mountains of Naxos and the little white cube houses of various hill villages. Other reviewers have mentioned the location of the hotel next to a main road but we found this no problem at all and even an advantage to some extent when we hired a car - it was really easy to get into the interior of the island without having to go through the town. There's also the bonus of a big supermarket close by with everything you might need at good prices. The hotel is also well positioned for getting to town. It was only a 5 minute stroll to reach the street with all the car rental offices, Maro's and Niko's restaurants and about 10 minutes to the little square with Scirocco and Pizzadella. The beach is only 5 minutes too and you can walk that way into town for a nice change. The pool area is lovely, surrounded by flowers and palms and with a handy little bar. The public rooms are spacious and airy with a nice sunny terrace on which to take your wonderful breakfast. The choice at breakfast was wide ranging including hot items such as tasty little sausages, fried or boiled eggs and bacon, lots of cold savouries, seeds, nuts, fruit, yoghurts etc. a range of freshly baked breads and some amazing looking cakes and sweet dishes which we had never had room left to try! The staff were all helpful, friendly and efficient and helped make our stay really memorable. We would definitely stay at Porto Naxos again when we next visit Naxos.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quietest and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WindyGhyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear GobblerDictum,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed a great holiday in Porto Naxos and that you highly recommend our property!

It is truly rewarding for us to receive such positive reviews.

We look forward to your next visit to Porto Naxos for some more memorable holidays!

Best Regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Convenient location, near the beach and Naxos Chora. A very beautiful hotel at an excellent price. The room is very clean and spacious and felt like home, fabulous lobby and lounge area. Staff are friendly and the superb breakfast is particularly worth mentioning. Pool is just marvelous.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARITA M, General Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear John K,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. It is rewarding to receive your positive comments on the price, the location, the breakfast and all the facilities Porto Naxos has to offer.

We certainly look forward to offering some more great holidays to you and your family in the near future!

Best Regards,

Margarita Margariti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess of Naxos
Princess of Naxos
#15 of 58 in Naxos Town
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#19 of 58 in Naxos Town
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astir of Naxos
Astir of Naxos
#16 of 58 in Naxos Town
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Naxos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Naxos Hotel

Property: Porto Naxos Hotel
Address: Aghios Georgios Beach | Kotti, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Naxos Town
#22 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Naxos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming hotels in Naxos island, Porto Naxos is a 4* property located just meters away from St. George beach. This small resort is set within a beautiful garden landscape and combines local architecture with a cozy design, excellent installations and attention to details.It is decorated and furnished with taste and elegance and occupies a very kind, friendly and well trained staff focused on guests' service, making it the ideal choice for pleasant holidays in a relaxed environment. Combining natural and traditional materials and colors with modern amenities, the hotel unites the classic with the contemporary to exquisite effect. The very essence of the hotel is its remote location; virtually all the city’s main attractions are within walking distance making it the ideal venue for a leisure break. It is close to the numerous shops in Naxos town, and only 5 minutes away from one of Naxos’ island most amazing white sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Naxos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Naxos City Hotel
Porto Hotel Naxos City
Porto Naxos Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing