We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”
Review of Porto Naxos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porto Naxos Hotel
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a small resort just a nice 10 minute walk to the main part of Naxos town, with restaurants and other amenities. The swimming pool is great for sunbathing with a pool bar that serves drinks and food all day. The staff is very nice and friendly. Breakfast is continental with some Greek food. Ask for a room with pool views for a nice terrace.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbarbero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Naxos H, Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2017
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for being our guest and for submitting your review. It is a pleasure to read that you had a good stay here with us, being in particular satisfied with our personnel and our location. We do look forward to welcoming you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    68
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
118
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second hotel that I stayed at in Naxos. Both hotels are labelled '4 stars', but this hotel actually is 4 star quality and comfort. The hotel is beautiful. Both the public areas and the rooms are modern, stylish and comfortable. The tv has English stations including BBC (which is rare in Greece) The breakfast was awesome, definitely the best breakfast I've had in Greece. The pool area is beautiful. The staff are sweet and actually helped me plan my stay in Athens! Only draw back is the location is a bit far from the beach and town, but the bus stops right in front of the hotel a d operates efficiently until 2 am each day. I definitely recommend his hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank richarddiamond1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is located on a busy road away from the beach. The walk to the beach is further than advertised, down a dusty road which is rather dark at night. If you want to go to the beach bring your own towel as receptionists will tell you that this is 'not a beach hotel.' There receptionists were very controlling and charged for water in the rooms which was unclear unless you read the small print on the fridge menu. They also charged substantially more for a taxi than if you paid the driver directly. The hotel overlooks scrubland although the grounds are well tended. The pool is attractive and very deep...great if you like diving. Breakfasts were ample, with a broad range of food on offer. Pool and breakfast waiters were very pleasant and friendly. We borrowed bikes to cycle to the beach and town. The roads are quite busy around town and there are some large car parks, so not ideal in the dark. Not a great location for a beach holiday considering the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Naxos H, Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your comment following your stay at Porto Naxos Hotel. We are sorry to learn that you were not quite satisfied with your visit and that your impressions were not completely positive. We were also highly concerned to read that you were not quite content by our pricing policies in regards with the use of your mini bar. As for the taxi fees, be kindly informed that extra charges apply when ordering a taxi instead of getting a taxi on your own, on the road. This extra fee is a standard taxi fee of the taxi companies applying everywhere in the island. As regards to the beach towels, please note that hotel provide guests only pool towels for the use of the swimming pool. We were sorry to read that our Front Desk team didn't provide you with the customer service you expected on the matter. On the other hand, we are glad you found our breakfast and our pool area to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your walks with your bike around the town and the beach. Once again thank you for your review and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a lovely hotel, with a great pool and bar. The restaurant closed at 9 and we were the only ones there. Food choice was limited (club sandwiches, cheeseburgers, etc.). The rooms were nice but ask for one overlooking the pool, We had a balcony but a massive tree was in front so we had no view. The hotel is located on a main street with scrubland around it but it is a five minute walk down to St George's beach which was great in the evening - magnificent view of the sunset and pretty good food at the restaurant - can't remember the name but I assume they're all about the same. The old town in Naxos is really lovely and we ate at Lucullus Taverna where the food was fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiceylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Naxos H, Manager at Porto Naxos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your stay and for posting your kind review. Regarding the location of our hotel, we would like to bring in your attention some of the benefits such as the bus stop located in front of the hotel which makes it easy for our guests to reach the main town and the nearest beaches, as well as the fact that hotel is just 10 to 15 minutes away from the Center within walking distance and close enough to St George Beach. Your input concerning the limited variety selection on our restaurant has been also noted and taken highly into consideration. Thank you once more for having you as a guest and for sharing your feedback as it contributes to our further improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Porto Naxos Hotel is a newer property located on the outskirts of the main port town. It is a reasonable walk to town or to the beaches. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The only small issue was low water pressure for our shower. There is a great pool on site and the grounds were beautiful. Most of the rooms had a small baloney. The breakfast area was large and spacious, with both indoor and outdoor seating. The staff was great, friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet selection was fairly extensive. If you need to buy wine or any food items, there is a supermarket located just across the road. This is a good hotel if you don’t mind being a short walk to the beach or town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Porto Naxos Hotel is a newish very Greek style building with huge reception rooms, large bedrooms, a lovely quiet pool and great breakfasts. We had a room (number 110) that had a balcony the size of many hotel bedrooms overlooking the pool, the sea and the island of Paxos in the distance.
The problem with the hotel was its location. At the edge of Naxos Town, it was a 15 minute walk to the old town (and with little shade we got very hot walking there, even in the evening) and several minutes walk to the beach. It was set overlooking small, rather scubby, fields and a main road. We had a room overlooking the pool and therefore the road noise did not trouble us, but guess it would do if the room was at the front. Our balcony was great, but virtually unusable after about 11.00am as there was no shelter from the sun - umbrellas would have been most useful
But I am being too critical. It was a great hotel and the breakfast, which you could have on the shaded veranda, was amongst the best we had in Greece. Great variety of local dishes and the standard mixture of cereals, hot and cold meats, cheeses and wonderful local freshly baked bread
The bedroom was very clean and the décor fresh and white. The staff, as with most Greek hotels, was very helpful.
Just wish the view had been better (but then we were comparing it with hotels on Mykonos and Santorini)

Room Tip: Room 110 is large and has a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Don't miss out on this hotel. Its in a great location little walk to the beach, a little walk to Naxos Hora...the staff are excellent and friendly and always willing to be helpful. ..the breakfasts are nutritious and plentiful and a great variety. ..the pool is wonderful and never seems to be overcrowded even when the hotel is full and beds around pool are comfy...hard to find anything negative about the Porto Naxos. I will continue to return here each time I come to Naxos...Don't miss it!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dubgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess of Naxos
Princess of Naxos
#15 of 58 in Naxos Town
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 58 in Naxos Town
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aeolis Boutique Hotel
Aeolis Boutique Hotel
#21 of 58 in Naxos Town
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astir of Naxos
Astir of Naxos
#16 of 58 in Naxos Town
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Naxos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Naxos Hotel

Property: Porto Naxos Hotel
Address: Aghios Georgios Beach | Kotti, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Naxos Town
#22 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Naxos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming hotels in Naxos island, Porto Naxos is a 4* property located just meters away from St. George beach. This small resort is set within a beautiful garden landscape and combines local architecture with a cozy design, excellent installations and attention to details.It is decorated and furnished with taste and elegance and occupies a very kind, friendly and well trained staff focused on guests' service, making it the ideal choice for pleasant holidays in a relaxed environment. Combining natural and traditional materials and colors with modern amenities, the hotel unites the classic with the contemporary to exquisite effect. The very essence of the hotel is its remote location; virtually all the city’s main attractions are within walking distance making it the ideal venue for a leisure break. It is close to the numerous shops in Naxos town, and only 5 minutes away from one of Naxos’ island most amazing white sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Naxos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Naxos City Hotel
Porto Hotel Naxos City
Porto Naxos Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing