We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel !!!”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We just arrived from our holidays in Greece to Paros and Naxos. Both islands are very nice but we had a really great time in Naxos, maybe because we stayed to the most beautiful hotel we have ever been.
Galaxy hotel has the best location, on the beach and just 10 minutes on foot from the city center. Our room was excellent, a big one with a nice modern decoration and an amazing sea view. Hotel is very clean with nice breakfast and snacks from the pool bar.
All the staff were just perfect! They gave us all the best information about the island and they were always very friendly, they made us to feel like to be in our home! They have a good service anytime you need it and the reception is open 24hrs per day.
I do not know why some people write bad comments?! I really recommend you to visit Naxos island and of course Galaxy hotel, the best hotel in Naxos!
We have already plan our next visit with our best friends!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DoloresRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Let me start by saying that we travel a fair bit, and this is the first time I have ever left a negative review....... We spent two weeks in Greece on 3 different islands. I have left glowing reviews for the other two hotels and cannot rate them high enough, as they showcase the fabulous Greek hospitality. The Galaxy hotel was our last hotel on our trip, and unfortunately spoiled our impression of Greece.....

The positives:
1. The location of the hotel is superb, just a stones throw from the beach, and a 10 minute walk to the town

2. The hotel is clean and tidy, with pretty grounds and lots of local flora

The negatives:
1. I have not experienced such poor customer service in a long time! The lady on reception and the guy that seems to cover the night shift are incredibly unhelpful and rude. We were made to feel like an inconvenience any time we asked for help. On our first night we had a problem with no electricity in our room (which ended up being due to a faulty plug on an appliance). The staff left us sat in our hotel room in the pitch black for over an hour. We were in our wet swim wear and couldn't even see enough to read a book. There was no update or explanation, and no apology for the delay. When I asked if we could move to another room while they fixed it, I was told to go back and sit in my room and wait. This level of service continued throughout our stay, the staff here are rude and unhelpful. The only exception being the tall gentleman on reception who checked us in on arrival.

2. The rooms are ridiculously tiny for the price you are paying. This room wasn't even half the size of the other rooms we stayed at in Greece, yet the room was a higher price! It was old fashioned in decoration and the air conditioning was more like a slight breeze than anything else!

3. Don't expect to sleep... this hotel is so noisy. You can hear everyone getting up in the morning and slamming their hotel room doors (as the doors to the rooms don't shut properly unless you use a key). Additionally the hotel staff seem to think it is acceptable to conduct noisy DIY at around 7:30AM

4. I have to admit we didn't try the breakfast, but the food in the pool bar was barely edible. We ordered a toasted sandwich, and it arrived as a flattened piece of toast with the cheese oozing out and piled on the side. The beach bars on Agios Georgios Beach are full of delicious food at much cheaper prices

In summary we used this hotel for swimming in the pool, and to try and sleep at night. It was over priced and was generally an unpleasant experience, as we were made to feel unwelcome.

The island of Naxos is a beautiful place to visit and we loved it. Just don't stay at the Galaxy Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmmaGovus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We knew we had chosen well when we booked but we were not dissappointed. The room was beautifully furnished, clean and well serviced. The hotel pool was warm and quiet with no issues for a sunbed. The breakfast was good, but it was busy as the hotel was full and the breakfast area was a little small for the number of guest. The beach was very close and the sand and sea was a delight. We only had a few nights here but we felt very relaxed as the locals were very friendly and made you feel welcome with nothing being to much for you.

Food at the local tavernas was excellent and very cheap compared to the islands of Mykonos and Santorini where we had stayed previously. The port and marina were idylic and the old temple ruins and castle are worth a look. Lovely hotel and would go again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Having read excellent revues of the Galaxy,decided to stay for two weeks.
Good decision,beautiful modern very well maintained hotel with excellent breakfast,lovely pool with free towels and friendly,helpful and informative staff.
Ask for room 111,second floor overlooking pool,with beach and sea view.only problem is sitting on small balcony at sunset could very hot indeed!

Room Tip: Room 111 cool in morning,could be hot at sunset but view well worth any small niggles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bewron96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a lovely hotel where everything is maintained to a very high standard but because of its excellent location we spent very little time in the actual hotel.

The beach just yards away is absolutely perfect with good sand and clear waters so we really didn't use the excellent hotel pool very much.

The beach has a series of excellent beach clubs where we spent most of our days and enjoyed some good food and an ousso night cap before returning to hotel quite late each evening.

Our room in the hotel had recently been refurbished and although a little small was well laid out with a wonderful bathroom with double sized shower and quality fittings.

The welcome could have been better as one of the few places that didn't offer us a drink on arrival and as breakfast finished at 10am there was often a scrum of guest in the small dining area if you left it late. Needs more dining places or a slightly later finish for breakfast.

But these are minor gripes and we were very happy with our stay although next time we will look to stay somewhere slightly cheaper as we really didn't use the hotel enough to justify the expense.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for a few days in July and really enjoyed it.

Rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Relatively small though, as is the balcony. The aircon is a bit weak (just OK though) when temperatures outside are 30+ degrees. The pool area is very nice and it's about 2 mins to the beach and 5-10 into town. Staff are friendly and helpful, especially the blonde lady at the pool bar who makes killer (literally!!) cocktails and is pretty funny! Rates are pretty good for July at about EUR 120 p/nt.

I recommend you hire quad bikes - plenty of places to rent them close by. The island is really nice and the roads are quiet.

My only criticism is that you have to pay to get a cab to and from the port - it's only about 8EUR though. I'd have expected a free pick up for EUR 100+ a night in Naxos.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We've been staying in Galaxy while in Naxos for almost ten years in a row. We love the location, friendly staff, nice pool and renovated rooms. With two children you will fit nicely in the triple room with an extra bed. The garden is well kept and the hotel is always clean. The price might seem high, but not compared to other similar hotels on the island. You are only few steps from the beach, close to the restaurants and there is a large supermarket nearby. The hotel staff will help you with everything- this time my husband got a ride to the hospital even though he was prepared to take a taxi. Naxos is the perfect island for a Greek holiday and Galaxy is the hotel to stay at. And the beds are extremely comfortable, which is unusual to Greek hotels. We will return for the years to come.

Room Tip: Room 139 is our favorite for a family with two kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terhikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 57 in Naxos Town
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 57 in Naxos Town
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: | Saint George, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#7 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: £74 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel is located in the south-western part of the town of Naxos (Chora), just a few steps from the Blue Flag sandy beach of Saint George. Ideally located in the centre of the coast, it offers easy access to all of Naxos' attractions. Fully renovated in 2014 in accordance with the Cycladic architecture, it aims at providing its guests with all modern comforts for a pleasant stay. It offers excellent service, discrete modern luxury and authentic quality, perfectly combined with an idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Naxos City
Galaxy Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing