We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel in good location”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Galaxy Hotel is located on the outskirts of Naxos town in an area fronting the beach .
Overall it is a good hotel with clean modern rooms and very good staff . In particular Helena on the front desk assisted us greatly . She help us design our own self drive tour and then organised the hire car for us . Stephanos the duty manager was always there with a smile and quickly rectified with a small problem we had one day with servicing the room .
There is a lovely pool area and the buffet breakfast is very good and you can walk into town (15 minutes ) by two routes that takes you past many shops and restaurants.
We Certainly recommend the Galaxy as part of your Naxos experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Davidb0962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just brilliant; location, size, staff, facilities, bathroom everything. The location is great half a kilometre to the square with a lot of restaurants on the way one kilometre from the harbour front. To call the beach a block away is a little misleading it’s more like a stones throw and in full view of the hotel with no buildings spoiling the view. There are mobility issue which the hotel has done as much as they could to address. The very nature of the building which makes it visually interesting means quite a few steps. If you have mobility issues check the layout it may not be for you. As lots of other reviewers have said top floor superior room with a pool view is a must. Everything about the hotel ensured we had a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: If you can go for a superior top floor room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BradfordTravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past eight years and always enjoyed it. I think it is even better than it used to be! A few years ago they remodeled the rooms and they are beautifully decorated now. We have recommended this hotel to friends and family and they have all enjoyed it.

Here are some "thumbs up" and "thumbs down" --

Thumbs UP:

Wonderful staff -- The owner Lambros and his beautiful wife Eleni make every visitor feel welcome. When we return, we almost feel we are with family again. The property manager, Stephanos, is very efficient and helpful. Petra serves us at the poolside and she is very gracious and friendly. Everyone speaks English well.

Modern rooms -- The rooms have been completely refurbished and are really beautiful. The bathrooms are very expensively done -- Villeroy & Boch sink and showers. Now that's first class!

Pristinely clean and large pool.

Just a few meters from the beach. You can just pop down there for a quick dip and return to the pool without having to actually set up camp at the beach to enjoy it. There's a nice shower at the beachside entrance to the pool to wash off the salt and sand. There are also a number of seaside eateries just a few steps away.

Good breakfast -- This is the biggest improvement I have noticed over the years. Now you can get your choice of fancy coffees, including cappucinos, from a high-end coffee machine. And it's delicious.

Great location -- Although this is listed as being in Naxos Town, the hotel stands at the edge of the town. This is good because it is not crowded around the hotel area. Most of Naxos Town is just piled one building on top of the other, but this one stands by itself. It is a short 5 minute walk to good restaurants and about 15 minutes to the harbor front. The front desk can call a taxi for you if you need one and they are inexpensive.

Thumbs DOWN:

Not all the rooms are the same. Be sure to ask for a seaview room. They are a bit more expensive, but worth it.

Be sure to have someone tell you how to operate the shower controls. Once you know how to do it, they are fine, but it is not obvious just how to do it.

Rooms are a bit small, but still large enough to contain a queen sized bed, two night stands, a sofa and sofa table plust a vanity table with ottoman.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our last island in Greece after Santorini and Paros and we really enjoyed being so close to town. The old town area is really fun with lots of quaint shops and great restaurants.
The hotel rooms are very modern and clean. Our ocean view was only from the balcony but it was nice to sit out there and enjoy. The shower with rain water head and 3 jets was a pleasant surprise as were the soft towels. The pool was lovely and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We loved having all the room details explained to us.
We'd go back to this lovely place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank karla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a lovely time in Naxos and I know the selection of hotels are more limited here compared to other Greek islands. Here are some of the pros and cons of Galaxy Hotel:

PROS:
- Walking distance to the main town
- Very close (100m) from the beach
- The front desk staff is excellent - Mr. Stephen and Andriana were very responsive with setting up transfers prior to our arrival, they took the time to explain the island to us and the sites to see and where to eat. Overall, excellent front desk service!!
- The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms are updated.

CONS:
- The beds are very hard and not very comfortable.
- The cleaning staff isn't very careful. They were careless with our luggage when they were cleaning. When leaving the room each morning, just make sure everything in your suitcase is secure and you should be fine!
- While we liked that the hotel was away from the main town (so very quiet), we had a bit of a scare on the way back to the hotel one evening. We walked back from town at around 11:30pm from the beach side (there are 2 ways to walk to and from town) and were followed by a group of men. Luckily, a police car drove by just in time and the group of men turned away immediately. If you do stay at the hotel, just make sure you take a taxi back at night. There are taxi's at the taxi stand (near the port) and it's only 5 euros to get from the Port to Galaxy hotel. After our little scare, we took the taxi back every night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Galaxy hotel is located ten minutes walk away from the city center of Naxos. It is a two minute walk to the beach. The hotel itself and the rooms are top notch. The rooms are large with a nice modern bathroom, nice bed and a sofa. The pool area is nice with a nicely sized pool. The staff are courteous and helpful, providing generally good service. All this being said, the hotel gets pulled down by a number of annoying details. During the breakfast, which in itself is nicely served with a broad selection of hot and cold choices, every morning there was something missing: forks, knives, toast or orange juice, and the staff never seemed to notice before the guests told them. The same became apparent when we tried to get something to eat at the hotel after arriving late the first night, after some confusion we were allowed to order after 40 minutes, and another 40 passed before our mediocre food was served. This lack of attention to detail was also reflected in a barely working WiFi, no wine glasses in the room, no "hotel guide", and too few beds by the pool.

I really wanted to give this hotel five stars, but it needs to iron out a few things before it can get my fullest recommendation.

Room Tip: Second floor with a seaside view is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runar_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is the first time that a hotel did not live up to expectations after all the glowing Tripadvisor reviews. Perhaps it is a matter of taste. The first room we were given was a few steps down from the pool with a tiny window and no other source of natural light. You need to switch on lights mid day. Come on, I booked a sea view room, not a dungeon. We managed to change to a second level room the next day. It was smaller but a lot brighter. The so called sea view was only from the tiny balcony looking sideways. The direct view from the room was of another block.

The room is tiny. Not enough storage/shelving. The safe won't fit even an iPad. There is a horrible smell from the drains in the bathroom. The AC is not cooling enough. The towels are worn. There is no information about the hotel, restaurant hours, pool hours, etc in the room.

The breakfast selection is very limited. It is full self-service. On the first morning, the breakfast area was full and there was no one to help with seating, etc. the coffee from the machine (espresso, cappuccino, etc) was horrible. The tables are too close to each other.

The pool is ok, big enough, but you need to put the towels down early otherwise you won't have a chance of a getting a bed. No vibe.

Now for the good. The location is good - a walkable distance to town and the promenade. The rooms are refurbished, modern and a clean. The bathroom although compact, is nice and there is a good shower. The landscaping is good with lots of flowering plants and well maintained. There is parking for rental cars. The staff are nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 57 in Naxos Town
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 57 in Naxos Town
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: | Saint George, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#7 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: £79 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel is located in the south-western part of the town of Naxos (Chora), just a few steps from the Blue Flag sandy beach of Saint George. Ideally located in the centre of the coast, it offers easy access to all of Naxos' attractions. Fully renovated in 2014 in accordance with the Cycladic architecture, it aims at providing its guests with all modern comforts for a pleasant stay. It offers excellent service, discrete modern luxury and authentic quality, perfectly combined with an idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Naxos City
Galaxy Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing