We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True good Italian cuisine in Naxos”
Review of L' Osteria

L' Osteria
Ranked #24 of 145 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: From the seafront: take the small street up next to Randezvous bar, then the first left and the first right
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“True good Italian cuisine in Naxos”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is true good Italian cuisine, not the poor imitation that, unfortunately, we often find around the world, Greece included.
The menu includes classical dishes and others created by the cook and everyday there is something new to be added to the main list.
The service is friendly and the prices are reasonable.
We were there for 3 dinners and we suggest the ''Tortino di Sardine''

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giusi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    56
    33
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Something a bit different!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

It is nice to see a restaurant abroad focus on just one thing and not try to do a bit of everything!! This place has a set menu of starters which stay the same every day and then a daily specials main course menu, something different every day! We ordered 2 different types of bruschetta to start, both very tasty. We did, however, struggle slightly with the main courses to choose things we thought we would like. We opted for a pasta dish with bacon, mushrooms and breadcrumbs as well as a baked pork dish with potatoes. We really enjoyed the pasta dish, it was very tasty. However, the pork dish was nothing special, although not unpleasant! They also had a good wine list and Pinot Grigio was available by the glass, a nice change from always having to have a glass of Greek house wine!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetangel345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The chief planned different menus from day to day I believe, but that doesn't help when nothing on the menu was good. We had three different main courses (3 people) and none of them tasted anything good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rurushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best dinner so far on Naxos”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Delicous dinner and tasteful wine! Very attentive service, highly recommended if you want a tasty experience, and still have some room for desert, unlike the huge greek servings. We'll be back! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fake Italian quality!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The actual plates were far away from the menu discription!Most of the Main courses actually belonged to the starters category...I ordered "beef with green pepper sause and grilled potatoes".the plate was tasteless with no pepper sause but pepper seeds instead and as far as the potatoes they seemed to be boiled than grilled, mostly raw!!!the beef was unacceptable and definitely not Italian!last but not least the bitter chocolate icecream was worse than any kind of chocolate icecream bought in a supermarket!the prices were unacceptable in any case! Not even for free i would try this restaurant again!!!bad advertisement for the Italian cuisine!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank leo8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L' Osteria also viewed

Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 
Naxos, Cyclades
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to L' Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing