We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Renovated, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Without a doubt I would say that if you want a nice hotel with walking access to Naxos town, this is it. The staff was helpful and friendly, the accomodations were very comfortable. Everything has been renovated and is quite pleasing. It is one of the few European hotels I have ever stayed in that changed it's breakfast buffet daily.
The beach is ok, the nicer ones are further south on the island. But we wanted to be able to walk into town at night, so this was the perfect location for us with a nice pool and A/C.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Post765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    66
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
109
245
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We spent four nights of our honeymoon here. We had a pleasant stay and the hotel was perfectly adequate but I don't really understand many of the 5-star reviews on here - in our opinion this is not a "stunning" hotel, the bathrooms are not anything to write home about etc.

I should also clarify that we had a very nice bedroom, right on the corner of the hotel, with two balconies looking out to sea. We were not overlooked at all and had no complaints on that score. There's nothing wrong with the hotel but it is not really a high quality establishment. In what ways?

The decor in the room itself is modern and tasteful, but not particularly good quality. A fair amount of fake wood around, for example. It's true each room has an espresso machine but it sits on a tray on a shelf, a bit like an afterthought, and there are no tea-making facilities in the room. The hotel makes these kinds of gestures towards being 'luxury', but doesn't really come close in the end.

As for the breakfast, Dry, greasy and cold buffet foods... not very appetising. They do offer very nice freshly squeezed orange juice but for some reason this is offered as a kind of extra. The breakfast area itself is quite uninspiring.

We had one evening meal at the hotel - partly on the basis of reviews here - and my pork souvlaki was big, but very dry and not really tasty. Not that cheap either. The position on the beach is very pleasant. But leave Naxos town and find some good Greek restaurants instead.

The receptionists were very helpful and pleasant in general. One stupid thing the hotel did was rinse the marble steps around the hotel with bucketloads of water without leaving any warning signs at all. My wife had quite a hard fall as a result.

Finally, we got a free bottle of wine because we were in a superior suite but it was clearly a cheapo local bottle. Perfectly nice - but not luxury!

We didn't once lie around the pool because, even though it is a pleasant area, it has no outlook - there are buildings on all sides. Better to go to some of the lovely beaches further South down the coast. I agree with another reviewer who said the hotel should get tough on people 'reserving' sun-loungers with towels which meant there was no space. That did appear to be a problem whenever we walked through.

In sum, this is a nice place to stay. The room is comfortable; the beds and bathrooms all very nice. But 5-star accommodation?? No way!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan_London_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for the comments submitted and we take them very seriously under consideration.
First of all we would like to make it clear that we never have sold Nissaki Beach Hotel as a 5* hotel. We are a 4* hotel run by family members and trying to offer the best we can to our guests. All reviews here reffering to us as a 5* luxurius accomodation and service, are personal opinion of each guest.
About the fat and greesy breakfast you were talking about, we would like to remind you that beside fried eggs and bacon, there is allways a wide variety of fresh fruits, low fat yogurt, low fat cheese and cold cuts, fresh salad, cereals and other mediterranean goods. Oranges are squized after you sit at your table in order to enjoy an original fresh orange juice and not one standing on the buffet hour after hour. As far as the dry souvlaki you refered to, I'm sorry but I think you might have confused the restaurants while we don't have souvlaki on our menu.
We would like to apologise if our maid has forgotten to put out the sign for slippery floor while trying to keep the surrounding area clean, we thank god you didn't have an accident.
At last we would like to say that it pleases us to hear that the room was of your taste and we hope that in your next trip in Naxos we get the chance to accomodate you again.

Andreas Papadopoulos, Nissaki Beach Hotel owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I stayed in a two-unit suite overlooking the ocean at Nissaki Beach for our anniversary. It is beautifully maintained. Our room was nicely decorated with artwork. Two balconies in our room overlooked the beach were great for having a glass of wine. The beach itself is small, but the views are especially pretty at sunset. The hotel is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk to town. The one minor nit we had was that the bathroom was oddly designed: the bathroom was up two steps and then the shower was up another two steps (but huge). The service is great, (Carmen at the front desk was particularly helpful in renting a car, arranging tours, etc). and the breakfast is not to be missed. Fresh squeezed orange juice, tiropitas, fresh fruit and more. The restaurant, while small, consistently has excellent traditional Greek dishes. Free wifi was a plus as well. Would highly recommend for Naxos.

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the ocean offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laffingnetizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. This is not our usual Greek Island accommodation, we tend towards good quality self catering rooms and rarely hotels. However, we had just moved from a reasonable place with a dreadful bathroom and the lure of a deal at a quiet time of year and a superb bathroom was just too much to refuse. Indeed the hotel, with a good pool, with efficient free wi fi, is very well positioned at one end of a beach that in May is excellent, though in the high season can be a nightmare.
The rooms are fresh well designed and decorated with good balconies and are kept immaculately clean. A degree of luxury commensurate with the repuation and cost of the hotel. Breakfasts were fine and large and compensated for the lack of need to do the ubiquitous walk to the bakery and the fun of cooking it oneself.
My only complaint is that they allowed silly selfish German people to do the usual early putting out of towels on to seats around the pool - a selfish stupid practice that is despised by many and should be controlled better by hotels. It was okay at first when it was just French, British and american but once one German had done it, the others started to follow on like sheep and no one from the hotel spotted or deterred it.
A good value hotel offering some serious luxury and by the way the reception desk was excellent especially Ioanna ( Karamani ) who couldn't do enough to help one. If only other hotels had reception desks to compare!!!

Room Tip: Room 204 is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We had a nice week at this hotel in August, and were impressed by the standard of the accommodation (were upgraded to deluxe second floor). I agree with a previous reviewer that the first floor rooms look a bit dark, but they have easy access to the pool area.

Breakfast was nice. Breads, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, ham, cheese, marmalade etc. Ok cappuccinos, and freshly squeezed orange juice (they don't offer you this, you have to ask... but it was free).

Pool area was nice and clean, with extra towels. However it is quite small, and can get extremely hot during the day as it is located between the buildings (no view towards the sea). Still nice for an afternoon plunge though.

Further, the hotel is located at the end of the beach, which means that it is quite quiet at night. However, the beach isn't especially nice just outside the hotel (very shallow and debris). Other beaches outside of town are better. Recommend going towards the end of Plaka - less crowded, nice sand, just avoid the nudist "zones". We found nice family friendly areas.

As mentioned it was nice coming back to the hotel for a plunge in the afternoon. However, the hotel lacks a little charm. The service was very sporadic, the dinner restaurant was just ok, and as the hotel is located in town with limited space there are no garden and very little vegetation. If you're ok with this, and don't plan to spend all days at the hotel, then this is a good, modern option.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

I thought this hotel was lovely ... Our room had a beautiful four poster bed and gorgeous wooden flours...and a fantastic mosaic (modern) tiled shower. It was very very romantic. Perfect for a little getaway. It was also very clean and the staff was always gracious. I would definitely suggest this hotel to friends. Furthermore, the restaurant in the hotel is by far the best restaurant we tried in all of Naxos... outside the hotel the food was not impressive at all... We always had fresh homemade bread sandwiches in the morning and i am not even going to mention how terrific the lobster pasta was at night.. It is also only a stone's throw from the main port so it was easy to get to upon arrival and very convenient to walk to the city center from.

The only negative thing is that it is a little overwhelmed by the surrounding buildings... so when you are in the pool you have people sitting on their balconies not too far above you. However, we didnt care ... we wanted to be in the center of things and then rented a car and explored the whole island..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodntravelgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Nissaki Beach Hotel was the best hotel we had while visiting different Greek islands. It blew it's competition out of the water given its modern design and big rooms. The bathroom is unbelievable- great counter space and awesome shower. There are also blackout shades via the outside panels you can choose to have up or down. Not only are the rooms impressive, but the breakfast area and pool were also gorgeous.
We had some trouble connecting to the internet with the ethernet cable we brought from home, but once we borrowed the cable the front desk gave us, everything worked fine. The front desk and staff was very kind and had a few computers open for guest use along with several pamphlets on what you can do in the area.
As other reviews have said, the location of the hotel is also very convenient. It's right on/next to a beach and yet a very short distance to shopping and restaurants in Naxos City. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lws07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.5 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#4 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos

Property: Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Address: Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nissaki Beach Hotel is situated on the sandy shore of Saint George beach on Naxos Island, a short walk to the seaport and Old City and offers its guests luxurious accommodations inspired by the elegance of Cycladic minimalism. The Hotel's restaurant serves tables at beachside and offers patrons delectable traditional and Continental cuisine made from local produce. Its location on the island and hospitable services will ensure a carefree vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissaki Beach Naxos City
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos City
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing