We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

loved this place at first sight !! as it is right on the beach, and not squeezed between other hotels, it has a nice feel of space and freedom ; we were there mid may and i guess it is still early in the season, so we pretty much had all of the friendly staff to ourselves !! the room was big and airy, and we loved our little terrace with a view on the pool and the sea...
the hotel restaurant food was maybe not the best we've had during our stay, but their breakfast spread was just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

I liked this hotel that also felt like a resort. The location is excellent, and the beach in front is beautiful and gold. I was mesmerized by the colour coming out of the water. Being so used to white sand in Cuba this was just as addictive.
The hotel service was great, the restaurant on the property I have nothing bad to say about it.
I met the owners of the hotel and they were very welcoming, and so were their staff. The location was very convenient. We could just walk to town taking the boardwalk, the beach, and you end up at the other end of the port city where the magical temple is located. I walked there every day and took some beautiful pictures.
I was there in Sept 2013 and the weather was glorious.
The only negative, the hotel does look a bit tired and could use some sprucing up, but other than that I would go back there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby/Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is my second trip to the Alkyoni Beach Hotel: my first was last summer (August 2012). In both cases, the hotel was excellent.

It is located about 40 meters from the sandy beach of Saint George, in Naxos. It is the last hotel property on the beach, next to Flisvos Club, so it is really like having a private beach. Naxos town and harbour are a 10-15 minute walk away, so you have the benefits of a beach hotel with the tourist attractions just a short walk away.

The sunset viewed across the sea over Paros is amazing, as is the view of the stars at night.

We really enjoy the pool, located in a central courtyard with rooms on three sides. This is excellent for children, and there is a small paddle pool for infants and children who can't swim.

The rooms are spacious by Naxos and Greek island standards and are outfitted with the basic amenities. The mattresses were a little bit hard, and the hotel should consider installing mosquito screens on the main balcony doorway. Apart from this, everything is in order, and the rooms are in good condition (painted, maintained, etc.) The bathrooms are small, but this is how things usually are in Greek island hotels. The rooms we stayed in had shower stalls and curtains. The air conditioning worked well. We were only in the rooms at night: the entire day is spent outside on the beach or around the pool.

Something we really appreciated was the food. The Alkyoni introduced a half-board special at EUR 12/person/day, and we all enjoyed it. The food is real Greek home cooking. All ingredients are fresh, and the quality of the food is among the best you will find in Greece in this category. Each meal includes a starter, salad and main course, with a small complimentary dessert. Usually you are full by the time the starter and salad have been eaten. The cook asked us what kinds of Greek food we liked, and would make this as the daily special. Needless to say, this is a fairly unique experience.

Breakfast is in large quantities: it would be better if there was one hot option, e.g. omelette, fried eggs, etc. but these can be ordered for an extra cost.

We were impressed by how international the hotel guests are. In general, everyone is well behaved. Note that this is a family hotel, so during the day there are children around the pool.

You can get to the hotel by taxi from the port: it is a 5 minute drive and costs EUR 5-6. Apart from arriving and departing (with suitcases), we walked to the town (10-15 minutes, depending on where you go). There is a nice boardwalk along the beach which leads you to Chora, the main town.

Please note that this is not a 5* property. It is a family-run, island hotel operating to a relaxed standard. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Don't expect a boutique hotel or Hilton-style accommodation. There is no room service, as far as I know, and no fitness centre, sauna, spa, etc.

The gardens are nice; everyone is relaxed; it is excellent value for money.

We will definitely stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool have wifi access in the room. Otherwise, there is free wifi around the pool, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipAtticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkyoni, Front Office Manager at Alkyoni Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We' ll consider the remarks about the beds and try to change them even in the rooms that will not be rennovated.
It was nice to have you here this year as well and looking forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location was good and staff was pleasant. On the other hand we booked an advertised king size matrimonial bed and were faced with two single beds pushed together. The shower was not working and the bathroom was not entirely clean. After complaining to the staff they fixed the problems. For 145€ a night, I thought this hotel was not good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zmamelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We 've stayed at Alkyoni Beach Hotel for five days during August 2013. The hotel is located just a few steps from the beach and a 10-15 minutes walking distance from the Chora of Naxos and the port.
Nearby there are many good restaurants, bars/beach bars and cafes (still, the only thing you hear during night is the sound of the sea).
If you are a determined walker, you can even walk to the famous Agios Prokopios (4,5 km away) and Agia Anna (5 km) beaches (my husband and I did and it was a pleasant trip, mostly by the sea), though this is not necessary since there is regular bus service between the Chora and the two beaches.
The hotel outdoor premises and the pool area are very good and I cannot think of a more helpful, kind and friendly staff (bravo guys!)
All rooms have private balconies, air-conditioning and a mini-freeze. Nevertheless, I wasn't entirely satisfied by the room itself. We were given a standard double room with a sea view. The room was rather small and you could not use the sink of the bathroom if the bathroom door was open. Furthermore, certain pieces of furniture appeared to be overused .
Αll things taken under consideration I would return to this hotel for its excellent location (next to everything but still quiet) and its great staff, though this time I would go for a superior double, since standard was not satisfactory enough.

P.S1 The sunbeds and umbrellas in nearly every organized beach of the island are rented for 4-6 euros per person.
P.S2. August is the month of "meltemi" winds (etesian winds) in the Aegean, so the sea is usually rough. This makes it perfect for surfing and for the children to play with the waves but rather difficult to swim. Still there is plenty of sunshine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexaGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkyoni, Front Office Manager at Alkyoni Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay by Alkyoni Beach Hotel. As we take the comments of our guests seriously we keep on rennovating and upgrade the rooms of the hotel.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you another time and give you the chance to enjoy the facilities of the superior rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for a week on Naxos at the Alkyoni Beach Hotel which is just off the beach and about 20 minutes walk to the port. It was an excellent hotel, very clean and the superior family room was all very modern. The breakfast was good and the bar was nice and served lovely sandwiches and crepes. Definitely would go back !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have been to Naxos twice now and have stayed in two different places, preferring this one. The hotel is located just steps from a quiet beach that has several nice restaurants along it. The walk to town is not long, and is right along the beach which makes it very pleasant. I preferred to stay just out of town where it was a little more quiet and relaxing, and this hotel offered all off those things. The hotel itself is modern and spacious, and offers a nice pool area with a well equipped pool bar. There are a variety of seating options around the pool and bar to relax and enjoy a beverage. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have whatsoever is that the shower, which is a large stand in tub style, has no curtain or door. So when you shower, water gets everywhere in the bathroom.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.4 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 57 in Naxos Town
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spiros
Hotel Spiros
#12 of 57 in Naxos Town
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyoni Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyoni Beach Hotel

Address: Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naxos Town
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: £51 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyoni Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkyoni Beach Hotel is located in Cyclades, on the beautiful island of Naxos, in a peaceful, picturesque setting on Saint George Beach, just 300 meters beyond the town. The area provides a large variety of restaurants, cafes and a sport club offers the opportunity to try water sports including wind surfing lessons. It is a family - running hotel, built in 1998. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2015 and the renovation still goes on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alkyoni Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyoni Beach Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing