We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time back and would stay there again”
Review of Hotel Asteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Asteria
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was my second time back to Naxos and both times we stayed here,and i would stay again if i went back.
the bathrooms were a bit dark and basic which was fine, because we didn't spend much time in our hotel rooms, with the beach being right on our doorstep, if you love the beach this is the ideal place to stay, two second walk from your hotel room and everytime we stayed we had an ocean view, worth it. we didn't have a big terrace, but others in our group did, so we had wine and nibbles on the bigger terrace listening to music and chilling after tanning and swimming all day, so ask for a slightly bigger terrace, it's worth it in my opinion. the breakfast was basic but very delicious, could not get enough of fruit and greek yogurt!!
Staff always very friendly and smiles. One of the people i travlled with said goodbye to the lady working there and started to cry. Always very nice and one of the staff members helped me lug my extremely heavy bag up and down stairs.
Rooms were fine, not extremely flash, basic but nice and suited us all just fine, would definitly stay again and recommend it.

Room Tip: always ask for an ocean view ask for a slightly bigger terrace too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

The plus of this hotel is that it is right on the beach in a great location 5 min walk to town. They do offer pickup from town which was reliable for us. The room is spacy but basic with and old/rundown feel. Bathroom tiny and with the old curtain you dont want to touch water gets all over the floor. The room was cleaned 1/3 nights only. When we asked for towels it was like pulling teeth. All they tell you is walk five minutes to town, which it is. Bed was not terrible. They do not have a map of town either but we rented ATVs from Mikes bikes just down the street and they gave us a map and answered ALL our questions since the hotel was not helpful at all. Definitely recommend renting ATVs from them. They also recommend a restaurant for dinner which was AMAZING. The menu has a shadow of a grandmother on it. The hotel does have this menu (which is in greek but the restaurant has it in english as well). You must try the cheese pie with honey and seasame seeds which is to die for! WOuld not stay here again despite the location just becuase of the unfriendliness of the staff and cleanliness. Was the worst hotel we stayed at in all of our two week trip.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great location right on beach yet also very close to amenities of the town. View from balcony was lovely and the thoughtfully provided washing line and pegs was helpful. The room itself was basic and the bathroom dated but everything worked! The bed however was rock hard so hard that you could have been sleeping on the floor! The staff were friendly and breakfast was usual bread,cake, yogurt, cheese etc and also had some fresh fruit each day. Would stay here again happily if they changed the beds!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crosby10145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a fairly basic hotel and we were okay with that when we booked it. It has a great location, right on the beach. And while not a luxury hotel, we enjoyed watching the sunset from our balcony.

But I have to rate this hotel as poor simply on how uncomfortable this bed was. I've never experienced something so bad. And it's shame, if they invested even in pillow tops for the bed, maybe I'd probably be giving this place 3 stars. We ended up finding a supermarket and spending 20 euros on 4 pillows to put down on top of the bed to make it bearable. We both woke up the first morning in pain. Keep in mind, we are young and have both slept at our share of hostels.

Otherwise, the room was pretty small and very plain. The bathroom was tiny and the shower almost impossible to use.

On the plus side, the location was great for us - we hung at the beach all day and was nice to have our room nearby and quickly walked to town for dinner. The room was very clean and we had a nice view. The breakfast was okay as well.

The hotel has some decent value, but we booked this cheaper hotel thinking we just need a place to sleep at night as we will be out all day doing stuff. I even saw another negative remark on the beds and thought how bad could they be. Well they were that bad and I would never recommend based on the beds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Admittedly, Naxos had a lot to live up to as we were arriving from Milos which had totally captivated us. So we were less than pleased when the promised free transfer from the ferry was non-existent and we had to cab it instead. Then the man at the desk proceeded to argue with us that the hotel car was at the port. Needless to say by the time we were shown our room, we were already unimpressed.

We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 and 9) and the room they gave us was actually two separate rooms that had been opened up, so there was plenty of space. One of the rooms had doors opening onto a balcony that was steps from St George beach but there was no access to the beach from here. The room was at the far end of the hotel on the ground floor and adjacent to a path leading to the beach. As a result it was noisy from early in the morning and into the evenings with foot traffic and scooters and music from the bars on the beach. I also did not like to have the shutter open as the windows were on street level and so privacy was an issue. I imagine that in the high season the noise would be even worse (we were there early june). Added to this there was an odour in the room that I could not place: it may have been a plant outside the windows or it may have been that cats used the walls/garden outside as a latrine, but whatever it was it was pervasive and no amount of airing out the room seemed to make it any better.

The bathroom was very dark and cramped and seemed old and worn. The beds were firm as per usual in Greece but this does not bother me and we slept well.

The hotel is in a nice location right on the beach and breakfast on the large terrace overlooking the beach is very pleasant indeed and a nice way to start the day. Breakfast was the standard greek fare.

The St George beach area was way too built up and touristy for our liking. I am sure the beach is great if you have very young children who need shallow water, but my kids are great swimmers and we like to swim in deep water. You needed to walk a looong way out at st george to be able to swim properly. Yes the walk into the Port/Kastro area is short but again, so many shops and restaurants and bars...

I think that we paid more than we should have given the standard of the hotel (110euro/night) and in all honesty I would have preferred to stay somewhere off the beach and have a nicer locale. My daughter and i walked past hotel Spiro and went in to check it out. The lady at the desk showed us a room available which was very nice, smelled fresh (!) and she offered it to us for 80euro. In retrospect i wish that we had taken it and moved from the Asteria.

We hired a car (25euro per day) from a nearby car hire firm and spent most of our days out in the countryside exploring (beautiful scenery and villages, we loved it) and at other beaches, in particular Mikri Vigla which was much more our type of beach than St George, and the tavern on the beach was fantastic. We ate many a meal there!

If i went back to Naxos I would 1) not stay at the Asteria hotel; with so many hotels in that area there would have to be better prices and better standards and 2)would not stay in the St George area...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacq67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I was nervous about this hotel because it was rated by my travel agent with 2 stars. But it was perfect for us! We loved the prime location right on the beach at Agios Georgios, and the "short walk" to town was nothing. The Asteria is at the beach end of the main street through town, so as soon as you begin walking there are charming cafes and shops all around. The room itself was a bit spartan but clean. Tile floors and er, firm beds. But the room's white walls were freshly painted, there was a frig, a modern blue-tiled bathroom, lovely embroidery on the traditional table linen, and best of all, French doors that opened to a small private patio facing the beach. George, one of the co-owners, was really helpful, giving us directions and helping us whenever we had questions. His English isn't great, but then I don't speak Greek at all, and yet we managed to communicate just fine.

Hotel Asteria is a great place to kick back and relax, or to use as a base for visiting the rest of the island. (Be sure to check out the sunset concerts at the Della Rocca Museum!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Great views over the beach , and a good place to stay to explore the town ,
Smallish rooms and bathrooms , but great to have a fridge and balcony .
We thought the beach ( Aghios giorgious) was rather dirty though , and much preferred the beautiful one at Aghios propokious about 20 minutes walk away .
Breakfast was Ok, our only criticism would be the very unsmiling owner , who seemed affronted when We asked him for a beer ! ( the bar area was always empty - no wonder !)

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun Beach Hotel
Sun Beach Hotel
#30 of 57 in Naxos Town
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalergis Studios
Kalergis Studios
#15 of 57 in Naxos Town
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#5 of 57 in Naxos Town
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soula Hotel
Soula Hotel
#25 of 56 in Naxos Town
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asteria

Address: Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: £22 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asteria 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opposite the port of Tinos, Asteria Hotel is just 100m. the church of Our Lady and Country. The rooms are air conditioned and have private balconies. All rooms have access to the elevator and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, fridge, TV and telephone. Many offer unobstructed views of the sea, the harbor and the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Asteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asteria Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Asteria Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing