We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Asteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Asteria
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
South East England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here as part of an island hopping package for three nights at the end of September. Located on Agios Georgiou beach which is about a 10 minute walk away from the port area. You can either walk along the beach/waterfront or inland through a shopping area with myriad shops and restaurants. There are loads of restaurants, coffee bars, shops and small supermarkets within close proximity. We had a twin room overlooking the beach. It had very efficient air conditioning also with louvered doors if you prefer air that way. The hotel has direct access onto a shallow gently sloping sandy beach. The room was a good size with an adequate bathroom. The shower was very efficient and easy to keep the water from flooding the floor. Towels were changed each day and the room was nice and clean. There was a small balcony overlooking the beach with a table and chairs. There was a very useful drying track on the balcony. One gripe is that the beds are really, really hard. Having read other comments we brought a foam pad for hubby and he needed it! Breakfast is fairly simple, bread, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, cake, tea, yoghurt, cake, juice drink, jams. It's nice to be able to take your breakfast outside overlooking the beach. There was a kettle with cups and saucers in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful but didn't impose themselves on you. If you hire a car there is parking just along the beach from the hotel, you can't park outside it. There is a TV but we didn't try it. There was a fridge in the room and a safe deposit box in the wardrobe which we didn't need to use. Would be more than happy to use the hotel again, great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Two of us spent 8 nights in early September at the Asteria. The hotel is run by two brothers and their spouses. The hotel is clean, quiet and safe. The hotel is located on St. George Bay with a beach that is well suited for all users. The bottom shoals gradually suiting children and waders, with avid swimmers having access to deeper water further out. The beach is actively patrolled by lifeguard(s). The breakfast served from 08:00 onwards is more than adequate with a variety to suit most needs. The owners and staff were very helpful and were able to communicate with us in very adequate English. The hotel is located a ten minute walk from the port, across the street from a market and within minutes of many excellent restaurants - try the octopus and Ouzo combination. The matresses as with many parts of Europe and Asia are harder than our North American standard - simply explore the option of having a second mattress added if it becomes an issue. Plenty of hot water, good air conditioning (we needed it) and BBC/CNN to keep up with world events - we always tune in to the BEB when we travel. Two beach sunbeds with an unbrella and wait service is well worth the 8 euros a day. Take your own beach towels or buy some at the market in advance as beach towels (6 euros or so) are not included with the room. The rooms have drying lines on the balconies which are convenient. We will stay at the Asteria again and found it excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: A room on the second level of the new wing of the hotel provides you with a good view and will get y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Hotel Asteria is your basic Greek accommodation very clean and in a brilliant location - have your breakfast on the terrace nip down the stairs onto the beach.

Hotel is well maintained and very clean. Towels and bedding were changed every other day. The bathrooms are small but more than adequate for its purpose and there is plenty of hot water all the time. Plus - free air conditioning, there is also a TV in each room.

Breakfast is buffet style - orange juice, bread, cheese, fresh fruit, ham, cake, eggs, cereal, thick creamy yogurt and honey, coffee and tea. Sufficient to suite even the largest appetite

The staff are great, always greeting you with a smile, and nothing is too much trouble fo them, thy really do care that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Special thanks to Matina for all her help, and patience in trying to teach us the correct Greek way of saying thank you -it was good fun.

We would have absolutely no problem in recommending this hotel and would have no qualms what so ever of staying there again.

Just one small suggestion to the hotel and that is that have sun shades for the balconies on request.

A very big thank you to the Asteria hotel for a really great holiday, we hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have terrific views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandmshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a hotel that makes you think "oh man... If I owned this property I would do this... and that... and that..."
The location is just great. Right on the beach, walking distance to the city center, a minimarket next door.
I stayed here with my wife a few years ago, and we got a room with perfect seaview. But there wasn't much else that was perfect.
The rooms were old, the bathrooms screamed for an upgrade, and the staff was pretty unfriendly.

If you want a cheap place with great location, Asteria is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SolidBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Without doubt the big plus point of this hotel,is the location.It's right on the beach with a wealth of beach bars and sunbeds for hire at 7 euros per day for two beds plus parasol and table.The sea is warm and gently shelving,so ideal for young kids.
Opposite the hotel on the road side is a supermarket and plenty more bars and restaurants.The main drag around the Port is only a 5 minute walk away,with dozens more bars,restaurants and shops
The hotel itself is budget level.Our bedding and towels were not changed once during a 3 night stay.Free air- con and wi-fi is a big plus point for a hotel of this class.
Rooms are adequate,but bathroom was small and dark with a tricky shower and curtain.A free safe in the room is also a big plus
Breakfast was good,typical Greek fare - cereals,yoghurt,honey,fresh fruit,eggs,bread,cake,coffee,juice etc.
The girl on reception,who also did breakfast,was very friendly and helpful.
A good choice for a few days,due to location,any longer and I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was my second time back to Naxos and both times we stayed here,and i would stay again if i went back.
the bathrooms were a bit dark and basic which was fine, because we didn't spend much time in our hotel rooms, with the beach being right on our doorstep, if you love the beach this is the ideal place to stay, two second walk from your hotel room and everytime we stayed we had an ocean view, worth it. we didn't have a big terrace, but others in our group did, so we had wine and nibbles on the bigger terrace listening to music and chilling after tanning and swimming all day, so ask for a slightly bigger terrace, it's worth it in my opinion. the breakfast was basic but very delicious, could not get enough of fruit and greek yogurt!!
Staff always very friendly and smiles. One of the people i travlled with said goodbye to the lady working there and started to cry. Always very nice and one of the staff members helped me lug my extremely heavy bag up and down stairs.
Rooms were fine, not extremely flash, basic but nice and suited us all just fine, would definitly stay again and recommend it.

Room Tip: always ask for an ocean view ask for a slightly bigger terrace too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The plus of this hotel is that it is right on the beach in a great location 5 min walk to town. They do offer pickup from town which was reliable for us. The room is spacy but basic with and old/rundown feel. Bathroom tiny and with the old curtain you dont want to touch water gets all over the floor. The room was cleaned 1/3 nights only. When we asked for towels it was like pulling teeth. All they tell you is walk five minutes to town, which it is. Bed was not terrible. They do not have a map of town either but we rented ATVs from Mikes bikes just down the street and they gave us a map and answered ALL our questions since the hotel was not helpful at all. Definitely recommend renting ATVs from them. They also recommend a restaurant for dinner which was AMAZING. The menu has a shadow of a grandmother on it. The hotel does have this menu (which is in greek but the restaurant has it in english as well). You must try the cheese pie with honey and seasame seeds which is to die for! WOuld not stay here again despite the location just becuase of the unfriendliness of the staff and cleanliness. Was the worst hotel we stayed at in all of our two week trip.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
#6 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antony Suites & Residences
Antony Suites & Residences
#27 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Beach Hotel
Sun Beach Hotel
#29 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Korali Boutique Hotel
Korali Boutique Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Studios Thomais
Studios Thomais
#3 of 76 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asteria

Property: Hotel Asteria
Address: Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Naxos Town
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asteria 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opposite the port of Tinos, Asteria Hotel is just 100m. the church of Our Lady and Country. The rooms are air conditioned and have private balconies. All rooms have access to the elevator and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, fridge, TV and telephone. Many offer unobstructed views of the sea, the harbor and the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Asteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asteria Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Asteria Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing