We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but missing 2 things for the price.”
Review of Hotel Argo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Argo
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but missing 2 things for the price.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Good place, good staff, near from the beach and the center. Rooms were cleans.,i just regret the quality of the wifi (bad, not working all the time) and some problems for hot water. Also, some rooms are really better than others. You need to get lucky.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank durdenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the Argo for three nights while we met friends who were staying for longer on Naxos. The pick up service from the port was very efficient and friendly, as was the drop off for our departure. It is positioned in a quiet area within easy walking distance to tavernas, beach and town.
We had requested a room on a high floor, and certainly got that!
The room was right at the top of the hotel on the flat roof. It had dark coloured walls and dark timber ceiling. The room was quite narrow and the shower room was small, but it did have a window out on to the flat roof area. There was a locked door that we believe led to an adjoining room?
On the upside, the room had a nice open terrace area with seating and a table overlooking the surrounding rooftops and a limited sea view. They offered to show us another available room, but although it was brighter, it was on a lower floor with a tiny balcony and smaller bathroom with no window so we opted to stay where we were.
We found the breakfast a bit disappointing and chose to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are obviously some nicer rooms, but we were not lucky to be offered one of these. To be fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here over Easter weekend in Naxos (which lasted for 5 days this year) and had an amazing time! The owners made us feel at home; shared information on how and where to participate in traditional Easter festivities and even invited all of their guests to enjoy a traditional Easter Sunday meal - roast lamb on the spit. It was a wonderful way to experience Greek hospitality. Our studio room had a little balcony and kitchenette (2-plate stove, small fridge and sink) - all we needed. The hotel is well-located; very close to Saint George beach and within walking distance of the waterfront, Old Town, restaurants and shops. We also used the pool a few times. Breakfast is also served at the hotel; this may or may not be included in the daily rate, depending on room type. A daily cleaning service is provided. Staff are all friendly and very efficient.Transfers to and from the port (for ferry arrivals and departures) are provided free of charge. Lovely accommodation and real value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMT555_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Argo. Its very close to the beach, maybe only 100 meters, but its about a 400 meter walk to the beach if you don't want to cut across another resort's property.

We found the room very big. It consisted of one queen bed, two single beds, a sink, a large fridge, a burner, A/C, hair-blower and a usable washroom/shower.

Our room had a beautiful view of the beach and water. This is a real nice hotel to just unwind, and its only about a 10 minute walk to the centre of town, with plenty of restaurants and shops. The price was a very good value I thought, and I think this would be an ideal hotel for couples or a family. The washroom and shower was a little small and outdated, but considering the price of the hotel, its not something to complain about, it was fine. This is a great place to stay in Naxos, not too far from anything.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeJets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at Hotel Argo. Perfect service, nice breakfast, and a lovely room with sea view. The hotel is our traditional meeting- place for family and friends. We also love the lokal whitewine, made by the familiy we received "on the house".

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moe045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our family of 12 recently stayed at the Hotel Argo. We were so impressed. The owners are really friendly and could not do enough to help us. The rooms are cleaned daily and the location is brilliant, a short walk to the beach and restaurants. It was also lovely to have a pool. These are the best apartments we've stayed in in Naxos and are great value for money.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Argo for 2 weeks and had a lovely, lovely time. The owners were so friendly and could not do enough for us (transfer to and from the ferry, lift to the waterpark, lift to hospital!!).The rooms are basic but really clean and the pool is small but great for the kids.
The hotel is located a 3 min walk from the beach and town.
Brilliant location, delightful owners .. we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We were really luck as we were a family of 4 and there are 3 x rooms which are 2 bed (57, 58 and 59...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 58 in Naxos Town
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spiros
Hotel Spiros
#10 of 58 in Naxos Town
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Korali Boutique Hotel
Korali Boutique Hotel
#14 of 58 in Naxos Town
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fikas Hotel
Fikas Hotel
#39 of 58 in Naxos Town
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palatia
Hotel Palatia
#21 of 58 in Naxos Town
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argo

Property: Hotel Argo
Address: Kinidaros St | Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Argo 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argo Hotel is a family run hotel situated 150 m from St.George Beach and 400 m from the town's center. It is situated in a quiet area and consists of three buildings in Cycladic style .The hotel offers rooms, studios and apartments all with air-conditioning. In the main building you find the reception where English, German and Swedish is spoken. In our traditionally decorated breakfast room you can enjoy a generous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argo Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing