We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind the times”
Review of Saint George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saint George Hotel
Ranked #42 of 57 Naxos Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have been visiting Greece for many years and have sayed in Naxos several times. We booked through the Internet.

This accommodation is certainly convenient, being 10 metres from a perfectly reasonable beach. The outside is decorated with flowers, there are lots of plants in pots on the whitewashed stairways - very pretty. But then there are the drawbacks.

This accommodation is listed as a hotel. We are not sure We would agree - "rooms" might be a better description since there is hardly anyone around, day or night. If you do find anyone it is usually a nice elderly gentleman (THE George We think) who speaks very little English so trying to communicate is a little remeniscent of some scenes from a well known BBC comedy based on a hotel in Torquay. The hotel promises hot water all day - OK, most days there was hot water in the evening but 2/7 days not. The hotel promises free wifi. Yes, but on the top floor where our room was you could barely get a connection and only then at the back of the room.

The room: We had one of the rooftop rooms that have a reasonable sea view from the balcony, though spoiled by a large electricity post and it was very hot in the late afternoon as the shared balcony faces west. The room itself was cramped, especially the bathroom. It was reasonably clean, but poorly maintained. Eg One of the room sockets fizzed and crackled when you plugged anything in. The battery powered emergency light was not connected, the bare wires dangling free. The furniture in the room, including the bed was of a poor standard, especially the dirty old wardrobe with a broken door. There was a small air conditioning unit and it worked fine. There was also a fridge. The toilet continually dripped after flushing. The bed springs were easy to feel.

The accommodation promises a free collection from the port. We had written Email confirmation that we would be picked up but despite this they forgot. We did at least get a lift back and were grateful. The hotel advertises taking visa cards, but in reality they don't, offering the excuse that the "machine is broken". We have heard this one before and so are not fooled!

Conclusion: We have said quite a lot of negative things, but in the end it was not too bad, especially if you are used to basic Greek accomodation. We just got on with it, it was OK, just not what we had hoped. It is just that in Greece, a lot of accommodation has moved on in the last few years, this place has not, apart from the wifi. Indeed, within a couple of hundred metres of this property there are some very nice places of a much higher standard and for not much more money.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank langdale12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was the perfect hotel for our honeymoon stay on Naxos. Not only was it really inexpensive, it was ON the beach. And a BEAUTIFUL beach. The hotel and area were lovely to walk around and we hardly saw anyone - which was great. All the other hotels on this beach further down were expensive.
We did the ATV all around the entire island and out of our stay in Europe, this was one of the best values and the most beautiful island in the Greek islands. Do yourself a favor and stay here, do an ATV run - around the whole island, discover all the hidden grottos and beautiful ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sea view, it was a couple dollars more and so pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fyrefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Charming little place. The rooms were great. The balcony room was prefect size with 2 single beds great view of the St. George beach. Will stay there again for 2 rooms for 3 nights 155 euro. Awesome value.

Room Tip: When booking ask for balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandbcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Lovely small hotel. Balcony overlooking the beach. Thought there was going to be a catch when we got there after researching on the internet, but it was perfect. Nice and quiet because cars can't drive right down to the hotel. Waking up to just the sound of the birds, but very close to lots and lots of restaurants. 10 minutes walk to the harbour and the airport is 10 minutes drive away. No noise from airport (we did wonder before going as it looks close on the map). Rooms basic but very clean. Cleaned daily apart from Sunday.. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janette28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We should have known things were going to be bad when we called the day before to confirm our arrival, only for the hotel to have forgotten about us - despite having booked and paid a deposit online. When we called back later they had found our booking and confirmed our arrival time and port transfer.

When we arrived though, they forget to come and pick us up. We had to make several phone calls for them to send their minibus to come find us. The room was very dated, with random pipes coming out the floor and terminating, and other electrical wires and various holes. There was a puddle of water in one corner. The refrigerator whined incessantly and we had to turn it off to be able sleep overnight.

Both of our rooms were below street level, with the balconies’ views half looking at a brick wall and half looking at the car park. We returned later to our room to find a cockroach, which the manager did come and kill when we called them. It was no surprise because the floors were dirty and under the beds looked like they hadn’t been cleaned for years. There was random litter and medication left in the drawers from previous guests which hadn’t been cleaned out. There were definitely none of the advertised sea views from our room. Some pictures of the hotel use photographs of neighbouring hotels and restaurants trying to make it seem that they are part of the complex. They are not.

There was a lot of old furniture in the rooms, but there was no way we were putting our clothes in those mouldy, smelly disgusting wardrobes. Every day we put everything back in to our suitcases and locked it in. There was NO SAFE in the room, despite their advert saying there was, and a lack of utensils in the room, despite saying the room was self catering.

The hotel might have been close to the beach, but that beach was small and cramped and we never went there. Instead we took the bus to the bigger and better beaches down the coast. Given that most people do this, there is really no need to be close to this town beach.

Luckily we didn’t stay long, but things even went wrong when we came to pay. We checked the day before how we should settle our bill and were told to come the next morning with a credit card. However, when we got there they decided that the payment system was broken and instead we should either pay them in cash or transfer the money directly in their account using their system. This seemed incredibly dodgy and we refused the transfer method. She said the system had been broken for ages, despite us asking the night before and the same person telling us it would work. She asked us to come back two hours later, so we had to waste our last morning in Naxos hanging around for her. In the end she ‘fixed’ it, and we paid by card. Her reasons for why it wouldn’t work changed every time we saw her. She called the hotel mini bus driver and asked him to take us to the port. We went out and waited for the hotel minibus, which took at least half an hour to arrive, and with the earlier two hour delay we were getting perilously close to missing our ferry. When the hotel minibus did arrive, some other guests emerged suddenly and ran to the bus in front of us. We spoke to the hotel driver, who knew us, explaining the bus was called for us but he wasn’t interested. We went back to get the manager from the reception and she came out and explained to the driver that the minibus has been called for us but again he wasn’t interested. None of the staff seemed to care less. By this point the manager was clearly embarrassed about how badly we had been treated, but she seemed to have no control. She finally agreed to call and pay for a taxi to take us to the port and we left what was the worst accommodation any of us has ever stayed in. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abc123def
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I was a little suprised at how basic the rooms are at the St George but they are clean and the air conditioning works, so that is a bonus! The bathroom in our room had seen better days and the furniture was cheap and rickety. However, for the cheap price (40euros) we wouldn't complain.

The old part of Naxos town is charming with its winding, hidden alleys. The St George however is in the newer part of town right next to St George's beach. This area doesn't have the same old-world charm but is still pleasant enough and only a ten minute stroll from the port. The beach was very crowded when we were there and was very popular with families due to the shallow waters. We hired a car and visited the other beaches on the island which were far nicer - as were the mountain villages in the interior of the island. Defintely get out and explore - Naxos is a beautiful island.

All in all the St George is a decent enough place to rest your head. The staff were friendly, the rooms adequate and location fine. Just don't go expecting luxury for the cheap price you're paying.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

very good but not too big hotel, right on the beach, a room with sea view was worth all the money to be able to wake up and fall asleep to the waves:), the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, and if only there certainly will be an opportunity to return meet them again and spend time there. Nice room not too small, the only thing that is perhaps a little too small bathroom, if someone is as big as me:) I recommend the hotel and the island of Naxos to spend time there

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank voyager81_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Ikaros Studios & Apartments
Ikaros Studios & Apartments
#9 of 58 in Naxos Town
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#19 of 58 in Naxos Town
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astir of Naxos
Astir of Naxos
#17 of 58 in Naxos Town
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 58 in Naxos Town
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palatia
Hotel Palatia
#23 of 58 in Naxos Town
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Hotel

Address: | Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Naxos Town
Price Range: £30 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Saint George Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint George Hotel in Naxos Island, is perfectly situated on the golden sandy beach of Saint George Bay in Naxos Town (Hora) of Naxos, just 10 meters from the sea and offers marvelous sea views over the magnificent bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saint George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing