We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, good location, great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Galini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galini
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June/July, just before high season. We hadn't booked any room but came in with the ferry and knew that we wanted to stay between Naxos (Chora) and Agios Georgios. This was the first hotel we found. Georgios showed us the rooms (we were three persons so we got a twin and a double, connecting rooms) and we just adored them and knew that we had to stay here. They're really cute and nicely decorated. We also got a reasonable price, just a little bit over budget, so we choosed to stay.

We got a balcony with one of the rooms, perfect for the smokers, and we got two bathrooms that was nice and clean but maybe a bit old fashioned. The only two less good things were that the pipes aren't properly fastened inside the walls, so when you're pouring cold water you'll wake your neighbours up, and that the balcony door was hard to open.

Georgios is very proud of his breakfast which actually is great. It's not a huge variety but it's homemade and everything you need; coffee, juices, bread, butter, spreads, eggs, cakes, yoghurt, jams and marmelades etc.

There is free wifi at the lobby and breakfast/serving area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Agree with all the other positive reviews and can't add much more however I have to write a minimum of 200 characters so I shall just repeat that breakfast was delicious and the family could not have been more helpful. Thank you George and family for a great stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Many different rooms. Depends on your personal taste. We were in room 6 which didn't have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Beautiful quiet location, overlooking St. George Church, very close to a sandy beach with shallow/clear water, supermarket/tavernas all within 100/200m. Town approx 300 metres with many shops, boutiques and great tavernas/cafes. Wonderful for families and walking tours. Buses great for touring island. The blue and white rooms compact but beautifully decorated greek style, and very well maintained. We first visited Naxos for a 1 night stay 2011 and fell instantly in love! Have returned many times since and 2014 reserved three weeks! Georgio, the owner and all members of the family are superb hosts, very helpful and informative about all things! An excellent variety breakfast inc home-made delicacies. Did not want to return home!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Probably the best breakfast I had while in Greece! The owner is a great man and the hotel is very well situated as it is close to the beach. The rooms are a bit small but that's not a big problem as Chora offers a lot of attraction that will keep you out and about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyanu95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My daughter and I spent three days at this truly traditional Greek island hotel.

It is situated a few meters from St. George beach and approximately 300m from the town of Naxos (chora). Walking distance to the port. Close to mini market dry cleaner/laundromat, bus stop cafes tavernas.
The blue and white colors of the hotel and it's decor, the balconies over looking the St. George church it was just overwhelming!

The hotel is managed by the owners, which gives the feeling that you are part of the family!
George,the host of the hotel, was so helpful to us, ready to answer any of our questions, and assist with all our requirements.
The rooms were serviced on daily basis. Most important free wi fi!
Breakfast? All home made jams and marmalades, cheese pies, spinach pies fresh juices etc. Wake up in the morning and smell the aroma of fresh coffee!
Great stay! Real Greek hospitality
We are visiting Naxos next year, and staying at Galini!
Thank you George and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doritsa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I spent a week here just recently and, during a walking tour, lost my expensive camera (whilst out of the hotel) . The hotel (hosted by George - thank you George) helped by telephoning various tavernas and taxis that had been used. The camera turned up 48 hours later. The hotel serves a mediocre breakfast but the hospitality from the family and of all those I met on Naxos was wonderful. The hotel is well located - just by the beach and 5 mins walk to the ferries and shops. It is also located in a quiet area.

I would go back again but not with Ramblers Holidays.

Thanks again George and to your Mum Sofia.

Room Tip: Just ask for one with a balcony overlooking the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolaClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel and I would absolutely return. Location is great, near the St Georges Beach, 5 min walk to the port, no need to rent a taxi when arriving by ferry, it is a short walk from the port. Close to grocery store, bus stop and old town. Rooms are small but cozy and have all amenities required including small kitchenette, free wifi access, tv and vanity. This is a family run operation, extremely friendly people. The only negative I can think of, is the fact that you can hear every noise at night, especially slamming of the doors from neighboring rooms, very disturbing if you are a light sleeper. And yes, the breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolajarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#3 of 58 in Naxos Town
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 58 in Naxos Town
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galini

Address: Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece (Formerly Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#5 Best Value Hotel in Naxos Town
#6 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: £32 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galini 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Galini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galini Sofia Latina
Galini Sofia Latina Hotel
Hotel Galini Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing