We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Irene II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Irene II
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in June and had a truly fantastic stay. Located only a short walk from the restaurants and port, very close to buses to the beach, and a supermarket down the road. The rooms are basic but everything you need and very clean. The pool was also always very clean.
The true highlights of Pension Irene II though are the people. Irene is such a kind and loving lady- she speaks very little English but the first time I practised my (very basic) Greek with her she gave me a choc ice! Each day she greeted us with delicious food so a little effort in speaking Greek is appreciated! Dimitris, who also works here, is one of the kindest men we have ever met and such an asset to Pension Irene. We spent many evenings having interesting and thoughtful conversations with him. He even took us up to a village with a group of Greek holidayers to celebrate the Pentecost festival with the locals. He asked nothing from us for this, and did it purely out of the kindness of his heart so that we could experience the real Greece. Dimitris has such a kind heart and Pension Irene II would not be the same without him.
Overall we had a really wonderful time. We hope to return to Naxos and would not hesitate to stay here again!
Laura and Matt

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    102
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
61
162
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good location at the outskirt of town, with easy access to the restaurants and close to the bus stop for the beaches. But this hotel has what may be an unexplored secret - Dimitris. He is working at the hotel to help and service guests. We took a guided tour with this gentleman, and he guided us through some assorted natural wonders of this island. If you go to Naxos to exlore the island, this is the man. His local knowledge in tandem with his knowledge and skills as a teacher on the nature is unique. And he speaks many languages. He even spoke Turkish with me.

Best regards,

Gunnar from Norway

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnarNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this place to anyone. We were extremely happy with our room and how helpful the staff were. Very close to the centre of town, we would walk there everyday. Plus the pool was a welcomed addition after the long drive around the island.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TashyGuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were a view days in the Pension Irene II. The Owners were very nice and the daughter brought us some Snacks every Day. Some Little homemade Cheese pies, orange juice,... And Grandma asks for some coffee in the Morning:) very nice Family and made the stay wonderful. The rooms are Big and clean. Also the Pool area. The owner was very helpful to Show Points of interest in the City and on the Island. Its only 5 min to walk to the Square Court and ~10 min to the Harbour. Transfer from and to the Port is also available. One of the biggest supermarkets of the Island is around the corner. Just go down the street, Then left to the crossroads, turn right and After 50 min there it is. All in all just 5 min.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NilsWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabenraa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We - a` Danish Family of five - think the place deserves five stars. Visit the hotel the First time in juli 2012 and now Again in juli 2014. For us it has been a great holiday stay. Nice Family room (two rooms) with balcony, clean pool, close to Beach and shopping, many Family run tavernas and Chora is a lovely town with a beautiful old town center. It is a small hotel run by Stavros and his sweet mother Irene, and their friendly staff (Maria). Maria`s father Dimitris who also Works at the hotel was our guide on a fantastic tour on Naxos. His stories gave us a Unique insight into the island`s history and life. We come back and we can recomand the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan-P-Nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked a shared room here and ended up getting a room to myself since it was low season. The host and Irene were very welcoming. Irene would randomly give guests cake and popsicles. She was awesome! The location was about 1-2 km from the main strip/beach, which was fine. It was a lovely walk. The owner gave us free rides to the ferries. The rooms were clean, the bathroom was clean, the hotel was gorgeous. the hotel was a few blocks away from a large grocery store. I would recommend this place to everyone and would definitely return there if I go back to Naxos.

They only accept cash.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know what you want, they are accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gennygengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in this villa with my fiancé. We had been given complimentary transfer to and from the port. For the money we paid to stay in this villa is a bargain. We can't say more about how brilliant this place is. Staff is very friendly and welcomed us with cake and ice cream. Room was adequate size, good air conditioning, safe and secure with two balconies. Both balcony doors had blind fitted. Rooms got cleaned on daily basis and fresh towels were provided. There were times when we left are room at 3 in the afternoon but they still cleaned our room. Swimming pool is a huge bonus, a good way to start your day. All rooms are self catering with kettle, hob, fridge and cutlery. Supermarket is at literally 2mins walk.

The famous St George bay is at about 5-8 mins walk. There are lots of places to go for drink and food(authentic Greek food) near by at really reasonable prices. We hired a quad bike and got a really good deal. I highly recommend this villa to anyone(couples, families, single travellers of all age) who want to see this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Try the nearby restaurants. Hire a quad bike or car at least for a day and travel around the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aks1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#4 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
#6 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spiros
Hotel Spiros
#10 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Irene II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Irene II

Property: Pension Irene II
Address: Chora, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Irene II 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Irene II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Irene Ii Hotel Naxos City
Pension Irene II Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing