We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on Naxos”
Review of Despina's Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naxos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Despina's Rooms
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place on Naxos”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Last Fall (October 2013) we spent a week at "Despina's Rooms" in Naxos town. This delightful spot is one of the most enjoyable hostelries we have ever experienced. Our room was small by North American standards but clean, convenient, with air conditioning and well sited in the centre of the old town.

From our window we could see a 2500 year old arch, the remnant of an unfinished civil project. Looking the other way was a well preserved Venetian castle. We started every day with this panorama as we ate our breakfast on the balcony. There was a tiny kitchen downstairs where we could brew our morning coffee. A baker perhaps two minutes away on
foot supplied our bread right from his ovens.The harbour was a few minutes away so transportation was close by. This includes the island's bus service, ferries and taxis.

Despina's is one of the few places we've stayed that would prompt us to return to a destination, just to be able to stay at the same place. Note that it is not a hotel, nor a B&B. Don't expect luxury. It does have Wi-Fi and a certain ambiance that we found delightful and the value received for what we paid is right at the top of the scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesoupier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Family rooms by grandmother Despina, à lovely, sweet lady with a nice sense of humor.
Nice and clean rooms in the Kastro of Naxos with on the roof a georgious view over Naxos Chora and the Portara. Rooms are not too big but there is à kitchen with frigerator for commen use with the other visitors. Friendly family and beautiful located, so being able to discovery Naxos Chora by foot.

Room Tip: There is one room on the roof....it is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Perfectly located in the old town, you can enjoy all the fun of Chora without the noise!

The room we stayed in was simple, with a small en-suite bathroom and fridge. There was also a small balcony at the side with a sea glimpse although on the top floor there was a larger roof terrace with great views over the harbour.

Sure, the rooms are basic but it's all you need for exploring this lovely little town. Check out the bakery just a few alleys away - amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manwithspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great location, in the old part of town, just below the venetian castle near a wonderful old bakery. Room is clean and decent size, added bonus is the balcony with a sea view, my room didn't have a sink or toilet. I had the use of a 'private bathroom' down the hall at the shared kitchen. It was a bit inconvenient, i would stay at Despina's again but would get the room with a bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonkeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Saw the painted sign Despinas Rooms on this lovely place from the harbour when we got off the ferry and were lucky enough to find a room available at a fantastic price with sea view and in a glorious location. Exceptionally friendly welcome. Lovely bright and brilliantly appointed simple accommodation oozing Greek hospitality. Unbeatable view from a large roof terrace for breakfast and a beer in the evening watching the sunset. Hard to imagine better and walking distance to a place to swim in the sea.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Despina's rooms for 8 nights in September. We had booked in originally for 2 nights but when we arrived and saw the place and met Despina and her daughter Nina, we decided to spend the rest of our holiday there. The place is in a fantastic location, up the winding streets of Naxos just under the Kastro. The rooms are spotless, ours had a balcony with view of the harbour and there is a wonderful view from the rooftop where we spend nearly every evening watching the sun go down with a local beer.
There is a small kitchen with limited facilities but our room had a fridge.
This place is fantastic value for money and the genuine friendliness is hard to match.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraDivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had 4 great nights at Despina in a room with bathroom and fridge. Although our room was not very big, we enjoyed the view on the sea and could also go to the rooftop to sunbathe/have a drink/take breakfast. Great location in the city and in the island to enjoy your time in Naxos! There is also a small kitchen to prepare breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Zevgoli
Chateau Zevgoli
#25 of 58 in Naxos Town
90 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Despina
Hotel Despina
#42 of 58 in Naxos Town
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
#6 of 58 in Naxos Town
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ikaros Studios & Apartments
Ikaros Studios & Apartments
#9 of 58 in Naxos Town
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anixis
Hotel Anixis
#26 of 58 in Naxos Town
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#5 of 58 in Naxos Town
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despina's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despina's Rooms

Property: Despina's Rooms
Address: Venetian Kastle | Chora, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Despina's Rooms Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing