We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the historic Kastro area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Despina's Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naxos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Despina's Rooms
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location in the historic Kastro area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We loved the location of Despina's Rooms in the warren of laneways of the historic Kastro area. It is an historic family home offering excllent views of the harbour and temple of Apollo. As charming as these alleyways are they make it difficult to find Despina's rooms initially. Just keeping asking. Within this labyrinth there are a number of very pleasant little restaurants nearby. The rooms are comfortable although I found the beds somewhat small. Despina herself is very affable. I have no hestitation in recommending this budget accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bepate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Lovely place to stay. I'd actually avoid one of the very top rooms as you don't have your own bathroom and everyone else can use the roof terrace in front of you. Get one of the lower rooms - you can still use the roof terrace. The free wireless was intermittent but a useful bonus and the shared kitchen has lots of basic provisions (salt, pepper, tea) left by others. We paid £30 a night - bargain !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argyle_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

extremely well located in a quiet and central part of the old town, despina has several rooms at different prices. our room had no window, but was very comfortable. the three budget rooms on the top are awesome as the view is fantastic ! (others can go on the terrasse too)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramdam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Despina's Rooms was one of the highilghts of my trip to Greece. From the moment she welcomed me with her smile, and remembered my name, i knew I had chosen the right place - and I hadn't even seen the sensational views from the rooftop at that stage! I was shown a selection of rooms, but chose the rooftop ones, even though they are smaller and have a shared bathroom - simply for the view. And Naxos is not the kind of place where you spend all your time in your room anyway. The location was perfect, so close to the port and bus station, but right in the middle of the old town which is the most characteristic place. Should have learnt the Greek words for "can you adopt me".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaDiRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were in the low season and it was great place! We took one of three rooms that are on the room! There were no air condition inside (no problem on May) and the room was small - but we did not need more! The view from the huge tarras is beautiful. It is almost at the top of the castle hill, close to the castle, small supermarket with everything and the traditional bakery with so tasty bread!!! The owners are very friendly and helpful.
I recommend it for people who don't need luxury and want to spend 2-3 nights for seeing the Naxos City.
There are also bigger rooms at first floor - also with the sea view (but not so great as from the top). They were painted this year and on May you could still smell it, but it should be all right now!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klimecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

I travel to Greece at least twice a year and am desperately in search of the Greece that existed in times past, genuine Greece, the one that exists under the touristy surface. Usually when we revisit a place it is never as good as the first time. Not the case for Despina though, we were met by Despina with open arms and had wonderful rooms at a great price.

This year I brought some extended family with me, and she was able to accommodate us on short notice no problem.

Some info I left out in the last review, the rooms are still immaculately clean, there is a small communal kitchen available to everyone, air conditioning in rooms, the location is wonderful and quiet.

If you are looking for a simple, truly greek place to stay and to be welcomed by a genuine individual head straight to Despina's when you get off the ferry and let your accommodations be the easiest part of this island stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskolokythas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

What a wonderful place! The location was perfect, the rooms were excellent, and Despina and her family were incredibly gracious, flexible, and accommodating. Without a question, this was the best hotel experience we had in Greece. The location is terrific - near the bus and ferry stations, in the heart of the old Greek district with an amazing view of the harbor, the nearby islands, the downtown skyline, and the Bourgos walls. Thank you, Despina!

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anixis
Hotel Anixis
#26 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Zevgoli
Chateau Zevgoli
#23 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windmill Naxos
Windmill Naxos
#18 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iliada Studios
Iliada Studios
#31 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollon Naxos Town
Apollon Naxos Town
#30 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Sofi
Pension Sofi
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despina's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despina's Rooms

Property: Despina's Rooms
Address: Venetian Kastle | Chora, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Despina's Rooms Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing