We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kellsod
Omagh, United Kingdom

Good value for money but tired hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Apr 2017via mobile
Great swimming pool/ fitness area for families - pool temperature was great and kiddies pool just the right size.
69 bus stops outside door and takes about 40 mins to O'Connell Bridge and Red Cow Luas stop is about 15 mins walk.
Hotel was very busy during Easter holiday break and we had to wait an hour on our room to be ready which delayed is going into the city, however Costa Coffeeshop in the bar was a nice waiting spot.
Bar itself was very busy in the evening but had nice relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was lovely - perfect Irish fry up but poor selection of bread and fruits and staff not much use in helping you to restock milk or butter. However we went late for breakfast so I suppose this can be expected? Nobody came near us to see if we had breakfast included in our deal so we could easily have bagged a freebie!
Hotel room itself was dated -2 single beds and a very small double. 1 cupboard was missing a door and the window frame appeared to be slightly rotted and by the sway in the net curtains badly in need of repair. Few lightbulbs actually working in the many lamps and I would have liked the lamps to be at the bedside so you didn't need to get out of bed to turn off.
The room was cold and radiator didn't appear to work either, but was warm at night so not too bad.
There was also a strong sewage smell from the bathroom which again may just need maintenance -I sprayed some perfume and kept the door closed. Bathroom again in need of a little freshen up.
Overall though I would stay here again - it's good value for money and as we were out all day spent little time in the hotel room
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen M, Manager at The Green Isle Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Apr 2017
Thanks Kellsod,

A very fair review given the few things that weren't up to scratch so I appreciate that.
I hope that we get to see you again and I assure you of a far better experience next time.
Thanks again and have a nice weekend.

Regards.

Keith Myers.

Corporate Sales Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Priceline
    £105
0.5 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£104
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Hotels.com
    £139
  • Vio.com
    £104
0.9 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £104
  • Vio.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £104
2.0 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£48
  • Agoda.com
    £48
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
  • Algotels
  • ibis
  • Expedia.com
1.4 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£98
  • Expedia.com
    £103
  • Hotels.com
    £104
  • StayForLong
0.0 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£156
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Trip.com
    £144
  • Hotels.com
    £162
0.9 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£158
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Clayton Liffey Valley Exterior V
£128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Trip.com
    £124
  • Hotels.com
    £128
3.2 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£124
  • Hotels.com
    £134
  • Expedia.com
    £114
  • Priceline
    £134
3.5 miles from The Green Isle Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Clondalkin
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveller rating
615
641
501
358
451
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
615
641
501
358
451
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities bar staff lovely hotel enjoyable stay free parking dublin city bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,396 - 1,401 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Quite large hotel a little out of the city , good public transport to location -
Very large bar and restaurant area ,with good staff - a little pricey but quite fair in comparison to food and drink cost else where .
we stayed a few days and did resort to getting takeaway pizza delivered , Hotel ok with this as long as you are a little discreet .
Overall very nice hotel , good facilitys including pool and leisure area, Staff very nice and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Timzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen M, Manager at The Green Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi Timzee,

We're delighted with this review so thank you very much.
Ultimately our team here want guests to feel comfortable and leave with a sense of value and an enjoyable experience.
Thanks again and have a lovely weekend.

Regards.

Keith Myers.

Corporate Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We're due to return to the Green Isle and I suddenly realised that while we've gone there for years, I've never reviewed it. The Green Isle has expanded and refurbished considerably over a period of time. The large reception is bright airy and welcoming, with friendly staff. The bar/restaurant areas have also been extensively renovated too and there is a handy little shop/ coffee bar.
Rooms are fine, although some are a little more basic than others, but everything is clean and well serviced. There are tea/coffee facilities and nice toiletries.
The location of this hotel is just a little far out of town (thus cheaper!) but there is a bus stop just outside the back door and the terminal of the Lias is nearby. So it's not too hard to get to the city centre.
Finally, two "plus" points for the Green Isle would be the excellent cooked breakfasts and the fact that you have use of the swimming pool/leisure facilities. Always happy to go back!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Audrey062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen M, Manager at The Green Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi Audrey,

Really delighted to receive this review.
We are obviously taking care of you each time that you stay here which is great to know.
Your comments about accommodation,breakfast and leisure centre have been passed to all relevant managers and they were each delighted to receive such excellent feedback.
Look forward to seeing you next time,have a lovely weekend.

Regards.

Keith Myers.

Corporate Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very clean as are the rooms the pool area is very good and the staff are very welcoming and are good for fast service the breakfast is amazing and all fresh however the location is a bit out of the way however there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which you will catch the 69 and it gets you where you need to be cheap and cheerful a good place to stay 👌🏽👍🏼

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Laurenjean1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen M, Manager at The Green Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Laurenjean,

Thanks so much for your kind review.
Glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel so much and that the transport links worked so well for you too.
Hope to see you again soon,have a lovely weekend.

Regards.

Keith Myers.

Corporate Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

The room where we stayed was probably at the older part of the hotel. The room was big and spacious but the furniture were outdated and there was a lot of dust on the surfaces. The bathroom was not very clean either. The staff however were very very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok, but the price we paid compared to other hotels in the area might justify the quality. So I cannot complain. Besides there was a pool and we really enjoyed using it.

Room tip: Maybe the rooms in the new part of the hotel are better
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen M, Manager at The Green Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi Maria,

Thanks for your review,it's very balanced.
One thing I am sorry to hear about is the cleanliness issues as that is something that shouldn't occur and I assure you won't for any future stay that you may have.
Glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again and enjoy your weekend.

Regards.

Keith Myers.

Corporate Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Room was very dated and the bathroom was extremely old and tired,bath was very grubby the grout was filthy and tiles falling off the walls.I wouldn't stay there again.It was noisy and the radiator clanged loudly making it hard to go to sleep.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen M, Manager at The Green Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Caroline,

I am sincerely sorry that this was your experience.
Please always inform reception immediately (here or in any hotel) if you receive a room that in your opinion is substandard and a room move will be arranged right away to ensure that you receive the experience expected.

Apologies.

Keith Myers.

Corporate Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews