We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good enough hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nido dell'Aquila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Assergi
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, good enough hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Location excellent at base of cable car. Hotel modern and clean. Nice bar and restaurant though service slow. Rooms small, pokey, noisy. No promised mountain view. Tiny window too high to see any view. But good discounts for skiing on request

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jolev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    128
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
88
120
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The location is great, very close to the Funivia to connect to the top of the mountain and the price is on par with the surrounding alternatives.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. It has a nice restaurant with tasty food. The breakfast is a bit small.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location and looks great. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and spoke good English overall. The room was basic but nice and perfectly clean, and had a useful fridge (although it wouldn't get as cold as it should do). The walls aren't very soundproof, but overall the room was good and the free in-room wifi was appreciated.

The restaurant had nice food, not badly priced, and friendly staff. However, there was a 4 euro fee to sit down which wasn't mentioned until the bill came. They also charged 3 euros for water even though I did ask for tap water (and I think this is what they brought) . They should realise that this just means they don't get any tip. Fortunately they also forgot to charge for our second two glasses of wine, and I had no intention of telling them.... (I would have done if they didn't charge the extra 7 euros, and I would have tipped). The breakfast buffet was adequate but there wasn't a great deal of choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We maybe should have done our homework for the 1st weekend in August before we visited, as the local area was absolutely jam packed with visitors, cars, climbers, campers, motor cycles, runners, bikers, you name it!! It was the celebrated weekend of the Grand Sasso Hill race and the town 300 yds away was full. The hotel was full, but fair to say was quiet at night.
Our room was small, but adequate and with a very comfortable bed. Our main niggle was that the fridge wasn't working and it was obvious it hadn't worked for some time, so in very hot weather (30 + degs) we had nowhere to store cold water or cold drinks. We asked for a change of room, but it was not available being so busy. The room also was at the front and faced south, so hot sun all day made the room very hot. There is no aircon in the hotel rooms, despite this being mentioned on a travel website that we booked from, so beware.
The back rooms were cooler, but had no view. There was also a variety of sizes of rooms.
We enjoyed our evening meal in the restaurant, which had a good selection of food. The breakfast was satisfactory: usual Italian cold platter and cakes and bread etc., but no fruit. We ate in the local village another night when it was quieter (mid week) and enjoyed local food.
The pool was a real treat in hot weather, and we enjoyed that, apart from the wasps nest in the corner, which was a real risk to those who were lying in the sun. The wasps also were learning to swim in the pool!! We mentioned it to reception and they said they were aware.
The hotel staff were polite and helpful and we would indeed stay there again, possibly out of the main holiday seasons. There is a lot to do in the area all year round and the National Park is fabulous. There is an excellent Tourist Information Office in the local town.

Room Tip: The back rooms were cooler in hot weather, but had no view. There is also a variety of sized rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Good hotel in isolated location.
Small continental breakfast .
Evening had a good dinner in hotel restaurant that attracts local following.
Pool open in summer only.
Close to highway and 45mins to L'Aquila

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I organized a surprise birthday party for my husband at the hotel gathering 18 friends for the weekend in January 2013. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in organizing our stay, the party, addressing all our needs and numerous requests (food, rooms, baby crib). The hotel is run by a family and they made all of us feel at home. The premises are of a very good quality for the mountain area, recently renovated, modern fittings. There are two styles of rooms at the hotel: contemporary and modern, you need to specify beforehand which ones you would like to get. The hotel bar creates a nice friendly atmosphere and a perfect place to have an apperetivo (please ask for chips or nuts for your drinks). Food was excellent, freshly made and nicely served in their restaurant with the fireplace. Lastly, the hotel is well located near the ski lift and it is very convenient particularly if you are traveling with kids. Well recommended place, excellent quality for the reasonable price. we'll definitely go back

Room Tip: The hotel has two styles of rooms: contemporary and modern, please specify which type of room you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenyara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campagnano di Roma, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I spent eight nights at the Nido dell'Aquila over New Years and was quite pleased with my holiday. As I drove through Fonte Cerretto and saw hundreds of people and cars parked everywhere I was pleased that I reserved my stay at the Nido dell'Aquila which is about 300 meters beyond the chaos surrounding the Campo Imperatore cableway station. At the hotel I was welcomed by the lovely Valeria Bellassai, daughter of the owner, and given the key card to my room, number 103. It was on the first floor, rather small, with a window facing the pine-treed hillside (i.e., no view) but it was spotlessly clean and new looking. The bed had a nice white duvet with crisp new sheets and pillow cases and a very comfortable mattress. There was a small wardrobe and some shelving for clothes but as I was alone it was okay for me. A safe, small refrigerator, desk, chair, and a large flat screen TV on the wall. Good room lighting. The Bathroom was small but very new, with a beautiful large glass shower stall with excellent water pressure.
The free in-room wifi was appreciated. I noted that some of the other rooms were larger and had couches for added comfort. The hotel also has suites with fireplaces.
Downstairs was the reception, hall, a little library, bar, breakfast room, and the restaurant. Plenty of parking in front. For the duration of my stay I was on half pension, the cost for which came to about €110 a day and included a single supplement and the New Year's eve dinner and party (loads of fun!). While the daily breakfast was a bit spartan, everything was good and the coffee served by Mr. Fernando was excellent. The dinners were all very good (the restaurant was not open for lunch), starting with an antipasto dish, first course pasta or rice, and usually a meat entree, vegetable, and dessert. Wine and bottled water were extra. A nice wood-burning fireplace added to the atmosphere in the dining room. I did notice that many of the guests ordered off the al la carte menu but I suppose they were not on the pension plan. Some evenings we were served by a cute young girl named Caterina, other times by the director himself, Fabrizio Bellassai. Other than New Year's Eve, there were never many other guests at dinner, just three or four tables occupied besides mine. Fabrizio explained this was due to the global economic crisis and the scarcity of snow. While it snowed only one evening while I was there, the latter days of my stay brought warmer temperatures and some rain which all but eliminated what snow there was on the ground. Hopefully they will have ample snowfall in January and February.
The heavy snow was up on top, that is Campo Imperatore, one of central Italy's better ski areas. Twice I rode the cablecar up to the ski area, some 2100 meters high, and almost a thousand meters higher than the hotel. Only two of the four chairlifts were running but the days were sunny with a temperature of around -5 degrees celius which made for nice skiing on the runs that were open. Unfortunately the first day (27 Dec.), other than the chairlifts and ski rental shop, nothing else was open. The old historical Campo Imperatore Hotel was closed as was the bar/cafeteria. When I returned the second time (1 Jan.) at least this was open for coffee and something to eat.
The remainder of my holiday was spent driving through the local Abruzzo region visiting interesting towns and seeing some magnificent scenery each day. The capital city of L'Aquila is sadly semi-deserted after the horrendous earthquake two years ago.
In closing, I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday at the Hotel Nido dell'Aquila where I met some very nice people, citing also Maria Teresa who worked the reception desk each day and the kind lady who kept my room so sparkling clean. All in all a great staff working hard to make their guests' stay enjoyable. P.s., the family name "Bellassai" can be translated as "exceedingly beautiful" and both Fabrizio and Valeria were indeed good looking.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front, not the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank settecento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assergi
1.8 mi away
Campo Imperatore
Campo Imperatore
#3 of 5 in Assergi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#5 of 5 in Assergi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Giampy
Hotel Giampy
#2 of 5 in Assergi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Pina
Hotel Pina
#1 of 2 in Isola del Gran Sasso d'Italia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nido dell'Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nido dell'Aquila

Property: Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
Address: Fonte Cerreto | Assergi, 67010 Assergi, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Assergi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Assergi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nido dell'Aquila 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nido dell'Aquila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nido Dell'Aquila Italy/Assergi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing