We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay for a relaxing vacation in Calabria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Residence
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Parghelia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay for a relaxing vacation in Calabria!”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. The apartments are clean and modern with beautiful olive and pine trees growing all around the building as well as the wonderful panoramic view from the rooftop bar. The owners are extremly friendly and helpful and the food in their restaurant was the best we had in the area. We would certainly be happy to return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calabrese-americano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Piccolo Residence from 11th June to the 25th June. The hotel is lovely, we stayed in a one bedroom appartment and it had pretty much everything you could want. The hotel is run by Alessandro and his sister Emanuela. Emanuela does speak english, although Alessandro's english is very good and he couldn't be more helpful, he looked up train timetables on the internet for us to Calabria central, he gave us local information on things to do etc and he even drove us to the train station the morning we left at 7.30am. The only critisism I would have of this hotel is that the rooms should include cleaning, we assumed that our room would be cleaned during our stay but it wasn't, the linin was not changed either, I am not sure how the cleaning thing works but I feel the Piccolo should add an extra 1€ or 2€ on to their daily rate and have cleaning and linin change as standard (we took clean towels and sheets with us), you are provided with towels and the bed is made up when you arrive, there were plenty of pillows provided unlike other hotels we have stayed at although the bed was rather hard But the hotel was great with a lovely balcony and we would deffinately stay there again. Alessandro informed us of fishing trips from Tropea and other things that would be good for a day trip out. We found this holiday to be one of our most relaxing as there was not a huge amount to do and we spent most days on the beach reading, the beach is lovely and it does take about 15 mins to walk there and 20 mins to get back because of the hill but in 2 weeks we did not use the beach shuttle service that Alessandro laid on for residents but it is a service that is there should yo wish to use it, it runs at 10 am, 12.15, 16.15 and 19.15. there is also a shuttle to Tropea which is a fantastic little town but do not expect anyone to speak English as they don't. Certainly this part of Italy appears to be aimed at Italian tourists and as the saying goes "when in Rome", do not expect even bar/resturant staff to speak english. We walked to Tropea most evenings to eat and it took about 30 mins but beware, there are 196 steps to the town and at night these were not well lit as some of the bulbs did not work. We ate once at the resturant attached to the Picollo hotel but it was very overpriced for the food and wine they served, they tried to charge us the service charge for bread that we did not even have and then blamed the mistake on the fact that they were busy (they had about six customers in at the time that we were there) and must have forgotten to give us the bread, when my partner challenged them on this one of the staff walked away in embarresment and the other went to take the service charge off our bill. Where ever you go to eat, you are automatically charged a service charge and it does not seem to be optional. We were disappointed with the Italian cuisine, it was quite bland and full of carbs, everythig is literally bread and pasta and the menu's were very limited, every resturant seems to sell the same as the next with very little variation and vegetables do not really come on the menu. we went to one resturant and ordered a side dish of tomato salad as our starter just to have some salad, what we got was a freshly chopped tomato, no dressing, no green leaves just tomato... We went to the tourist info centre in Tropea and all they seem to want to do, is sell you their excursions, we found some of the shop keepers etc to be some of the most rude people we have ever come accross, they did not say please, thank you, hello or good bye, we were supprised by this. We did have a lovely time though but would have liked to have had more excersions, the hotel really was great. Many, Many thanks to Alessandro for the help he gave to us. One last thing, use the trains they are soooo cheap, it cost us €0.80 each for the bus to Lamezia train station from the airport and then €7.60 for he both of us one way to Parghalia, it also cost us €20 return from Parghalia to Calabria central and that was about 90 km. it was a great way of getting around and seeing things. Remember everywhere seems to shut between about 12.30 and 5 pm every day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I want to thank Alesandro and his family for making our stay at the hotel a nice and relaxing experience. Alesandro and his family did not hesitate to see to our needs. The rooms were clean and the accommodations were adequate. The free shuttle service to Tropea is a plus. We were there during the slower part of the season, but I can imagine trying to get parking during the busier months of the tourist season. The only complaint I had was the noise from the other hotels. This hotel is in close proximity to the other hotels, so the noise from car traffic and the people working from the other hotel can be heard from your room. You might want to sleep with the balcony doors closed if you are a light sleeper. But the rooms do have air conditioning to make your stay more pleasant. I just want to say that the service was excellent and very friendly. They made us feel right at home. Thanks again for a memorable vacation and rest at your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APathlesstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Pros:
+ Rooms are of a good size, very neat and come with a balcony;
+ Garden is beautifully maintained;
+ Possibility to use an open air solarium at the roof (included in price), with splendid panorama of Tropea;
+ Possibility to park a car in a garage;
+ Good value for money

Cons:
- Kitchen could have been better equipped (no wine glasses for instance)
- Be aware that hotel is located at a considerable walking distance from a beach (I would rate it approx. 15 mins to the beach and 20 mins from, as it's up the hill). You will also need a car to go to Tropea.

Haven't tried the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomaszSKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Residence Piccolo family provided me with everything I needed and more. The breath-taking view from the solarium and the delicious cuisine from their restaurant left me wanting nothing. I was able to stay at the hotel and relax on my vacation. The private beach was also fantastic with a restaurant and lounge just a few minutes from the hotel and Tropea town. A car is a nice idea if you plan to go to Tropea often, but not absolutely necessary since the hotel provides you with most everything you will need to enjoy your vacation. Thank you Piccolo family for making my stay a dream come true.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LifeExplorer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parghelia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 13 in Parghelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Ulisse
Porto Ulisse
#6 of 13 in Parghelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.3 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#4 of 13 in Parghelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 21 in Tropea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.6 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Residence

Property: Hotel Piccolo Residence
Address: Cascina Cervo SNC, 89861 Parghelia, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Parghelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Parghelia
#3 Family Hotel in Parghelia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Parghelia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Parghelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccolo Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccolo Residence is surrounded by an enchanting garden and breathtaking views of the Tyhhrannian Sea. It is 500 meters fare to the sea and only one kilometer from Tropea.Piccolo Residence, of recent construction, was created to provide the maximum in enjoyment and relaxation for our clients. The fourteen apartments, on two floors, are ready to satisfy the needs of a family or group of colleagues or friends. The one-bedroom apartments are perfect for a family of four, while the two-bedroom apartments can comfortably fit up to six people. One finds the comforts of home at Piccolo Residence, with the only difference being that we are short walk to the white sands of the sea.We have a wealth of services for your enjoyment, including a reserved beach complete with sun lounges and umbrellas, reserved parking, a solarium, laundry facilities, and with reservations, lunch or dinner at our restaurant Ristorante Tirreno.The atmosphere that one breathes in the Residence is the familiar and perfect ambience for a vacation of relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piccolo Residence Calabria, Italy - Parghelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing