We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Santa Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santa Lucia
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Parghelia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

stayed at the santa lucia in september 2013. lovely hotel , very clean , food very good , continental breakfast, and three course dinner every night you choose waht you want to eat for dinner at breakfast for that evening . a bus is layed on to take you to tropea or the beach, there is not much information in the hotel on the area especially in english so try to find out some info before you go , we also did a trip to the aeolian islands and also sicily which we booked ourselves
couldnt fault this holiday for the price we paid off of dealchecker . its definetley one for the list to recommend

Room Tip: we had room 111 which was quite dark as no window but had a door which opened onto a seating area wi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennypenny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Lucia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I travelled in October the rooms were clean the service was good the waiters were friendly especially if you actually took the time to converse with them. We don't speak Italian but it was easy to get by. My husband does not eat fruit and they soon realised this and fave him ice cream or cake which was no trouble. The courtesy bus runs regularly apart from siesta time. It us reliable and leaves on an evening at 9.30 after the main meal and returns at 11.00. Tropea is a quaint town with shops restaurants etc. the beach was fantastic. I can't wait to go cack next year and we don't usually go to the same place twice which I believe says it all

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Byippins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked a cheap last minute break in late October which was cheaper for Half board than most off peak self catering holidays – at the price we could afford to eat out if the food turned out to be too poor.

However we found the food quite acceptable and only missed one meal when we did the Stromboli by night boat tour. The Calabrian Antipasto served on Sunday was exceptionally good as were most of the pasta dishes but much of the other food was unexciting not helped by a limited choice and poor description in the menu. One day we thought we had ordered Tuna but ended up with a breaded chicken escalope, another day one of the evening main dishes was just labelled as Fried eggs. I can understand why some people criticise the food but for the price paid it was good.

We had specified we were travelling with a wheelchair when booking and were given room 4 next to the Restaurant which was convenient and had a Sea view from its terrace but it was lacking in any accessibility features. Fortunately my wife is not 100% wheelchair bound so she could cope but the hotel may not be suitable for those with more severe impairments. We could get the chair into the room with limited room to manoeuvre but the biggest problem was the small bathroom with a narrow door and the tiniest possible shower cubicle on a high plinth in between the toilet and bidet. If they had omitted the bidet there would have been room for a decent sized shower. The bed was comfortable – my wife takes an inflatable camping pad in case of over hard mattresses but did need to use it.

Calabria is a beautiful region of Italy that we hadn't visited before but hope to revisit soon. The Tartufo di Pizzo is a good reason to visit the region
Weather was beautiful during our stay, comfortable but not too hot, pool was cold but OK once the hypothermia set in! It was end of season and they were starting to put away the pool furniture. Given the location it seems a pity the hotel and region don't go after the Winter sun market. We rented a car to get around since the cost was not much more than that quoted for airport transfers and we didn't want to depend on the shuttle to Tropea. We spent a couple of days lounging by the pool (accessible by lift from reception) and the noise from road and rail line was not a significant distraction.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My husband and I had a lovely relaxing week at this hotel. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard. We had lovely sea views and you could also sit out at the back of the room overlooking the pool in the evening. The towels look like very large tea towels but they do dry you very well!They are changed daily.The hotel has a very dated looking dining room with large curtain swags.The music playing was quite dated and repetative. The food was fine and as you always get 3 courses you don't go hungry. Lot's of pasta and foods typical of the area. It was interesting to try new foods. It would have been good to have had fresh fruit at breakfast and maybe fresh orange. For the price we were paying I felt it was good value for money.
It is a little weird ordering your evening meal at breakfast but you soon get used to it and it wasn't a problem. the staff are efficient but lack any warmth which would have added to our holiday,this could be due to the fact that there is little English spoken. I would advise a phrase book in this area. The ray of sunshine in the hotel is Marchello with his smile and humou r(give him a pay rise).
I would hire a car if you stayed here from the airport it is not a difficult journey to the hotel. Book a day flight so that it is easier as the roads are very bendy and coastal. We visited Tropea, Pizzo, Scillia and many more litle coves where we had the beach almost to our selves. The area is breathtaking so take a map of the local area swith you. The weather was gorgeous and we swam in the sea every day. Quite a few Mozzies so take some spray.The home made icecream is to die for!!! Go to Pizzo for this!
The shuttle bus runs all the time with a kindly driver into Tropea if you do not want to drive.
The pool is clean and well cared for in a lovely garden setting.
The only down side was that our drinks bill ( you use a card system and do not sign for them) was a hundred pounds wrong at the end of the week). This was corrected but it caused stress at the end of a lovely week and no-one actually said sorry!! Make sure you keep your receipts.
All in all a lovely holiday. It would have been good to have had an indoor bar in the evening as the pool bar shut due to time of the year and it made it difficult to socialise with other guests if you did not want to travel into Tropea. There is absolutely no where to walk near the hotel at night as there is a road in front of the hotel which it is not recommende to walk along and a train line behind. This isn't noisy and you hardly notice either. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Book 218 good sea view, sun also at other side overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wendy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned from a week in Calabria staying at the St Lucia hotel.
Immaculately clean rooms with or without sea view. We did not pay the extra but the room was fine close to and over looking the pool and outside bar area. We had a car so did not use the courtesy bus so cannot comment on this. The roads were empty, the scenery beautiful and the people in the area charming (take a good phrase book!). The hotel staff were very efficient if not over communicative except for Marcello who was a credit to the hotel. People have criticised the hotel food but we found it straightforward Calabrian fare and the starters were massive! I do not understand what people expect quite frankly. We never left the table hungry or with wasted food on our plates. One disappointment was the lack an inside bar/ leisure lounge. Not important in the summer but when the nights draw in and a little drizzle falls an oversight regarding visitor comforts. The options were a small TV lounge or your room. A little more thought on space utilisation could solve this early/late seasonal problem. The railway runs close to the hotel but was in no way an issue. As a base for visits to Tropea, Pizzo and the inland villages in this region of Calabria this is a tremendous place to stay. If only you could relax in a cosy lounge once the sun had gone down and the weather was less than perfect I would certainly rate this a 4 star stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank andjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

All reviews for this hotel are pretty consistent in that it is has amazing views - but make sure you get one; is clean and bright - if you have an upstairs room; and the pool and surrounding area is magnificent. It was October and quiet, but the hotel was full. They have a awe-inspiring turnover of guests, all staying for different amounts of time, and the whole thing is run like a military campaign. The transfer driver, who also runs the courtesy bus several times a day into Tropea, is a marvel, unfailingly helpful and cheery, and deserves generous tips. You need this service as there is nothing round about and there are no walks, not even possible to go down to the sea.

Take note of previous reviewers and pay extra for a sea view, you won't be disappointed if you do, but you probably will if you don't. I had booked a standard room and was shown to a dark, depressing and dank cavern hidden behind bushes, with one small window which I daren't open for fear of gaining mosquitos and losing privacy. Cars were on the other side of the bushes and the minibus parked outside. I paid 40 euros to move the next morning and was rewarded with a much bigger room, superior bathroom and stunning view.

There was little help with information about the area and not many smiles from Reception even though I tried out my Italian with infinite optimism. The hotel itself is exceptionally clean with high standards of everything ........ except the food, which is fairly abysmal. I pushed most of the offered plates away after a couple of mouthfuls. The meals were mostly lukewarm, dry 'fish' or 'meat' served with a mush of inedible vegetables which appeared to be reheated from the previous day. 'Roast' on the menu turned out to be 2 slices of boiled pork moistened with a mysterious spoonful of cool sauce, and accompanied with a dish of cold tomatoes. Not what you expect from the Italians in a 4* hotel. No fresh fruit, cheap sweet dishes and perfectly horrid soup. The breakfast cereals presented in a plastic stand were left out overnight uncovered, and there were plenty of flies around who found them more appetising than most of the guests. Apart from these, processed cheese and dried scrambled eggs were the breakfast staples, with a dispenser of yoghurt if you felt like a treat. Oh dear. And they could do so much more to enhance the appearance of the room itself. One star for the dining experience.

My special tip: yes, do stay at this attractive, economically priced hotel, book a sea view room, swim and sunbathe by the beautiful pool, but ........ eat out. Take the courtesy bus into Tropea, where a myriad of good quality charming 'typici' restaurants abound.

Room Tip: As high up as possible facing the sea! Well worth the extra 10 Eu per night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillyscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

While reading all of the previous reviews on this Hotel before our trip I was a little skeptical. We travelled from Lamezia to Tropea by train (€3.20) met some wonderful people on the train whom were staying at the same hotel. Took taxi to hotel (€15). Arrived at hotel, greeted with quick efficient check in, very clean hotel, nice entrance.
Rooms with sea view are worth the extra (€10per night) fantastic view, comfy beds, extra pillows on request, spacious bathroom. Pool Bar facilities ok but possess a fantastic asset in the form of Marcel(this quy has enough personality to compensate for the restaurant service staff .... Every bar should have a Marcel). Hotel food is basic Italian food not overwhelming but edible, staff are very surly in restaurant even when you make an effort. Met some great people on this holiday. Will I return... ABSOLUTELY !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luluhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parghelia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 13 in Parghelia
474 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosette Resort
Rosette Resort
#3 of 13 in Parghelia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Residence
Hotel Piccolo Residence
#6 of 13 in Parghelia
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Porto Ulisse
Porto Ulisse
#7 of 13 in Parghelia
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cannamele Resort
Hotel Cannamele Resort
#7 of 21 in Tropea
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Lucia

Address: Localita San Nicola, 89861 Parghelia, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Parghelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Parghelia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Parghelia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Parghelia
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Hotel Santa Lucia rises sheer out of the sea, in the centre of the wonderful "Costa degli Dei" and 2 km off the famous resort Tropea Italy. It is immersed in a green garden and it is surrounded with local typical plants. The structure is composed of more buildings and it offers various typologies stay. It is possible to choose an accommodation in double room, three beds room, suite for four or more people. The guests can use a wonderful swimming pool with beach umbrella and sunbeds. The free shuttle bus joins the hotel Santa Lucia with the near beach in Tropea, in Southern Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Hotel
Santa Lucia Parghelia
Hotel Santa Lucia Calabria, Italy - Parghelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing