We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tirreno
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Porto Ulisse(Parghelia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Lucia(Parghelia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
326
130
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
130
17
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barshuttle servicestrombolibeautiful hotelhotel restaurantbreakfast buffet islounge chairsfree shuttleself cateringfriendly hoteljunior suitesrenting a carwedding plannerstayed here for a weekthe private beach areahot optionsyoung woman
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hotel Tirreno is situated on the hill that runs right alongside the beach about a mile to the east of Tropea - so it has spectacular views over the sea, the marina and Tropea town itself - all set against the backdrop of Stromboli, the active volcano in the sea to the west. The sunsets are the most spectacular I have seen anywhere.
We spent our days relaxing on the beaches and exploring the local area - Tropea and Parghelia in particular. We like walking so didn't hire a car and it was great to be able to get everywhere we wanted to without a car for a full two weeks.
The hotel itself is fantastic. We stayed in the self-catering option which was perfect for us because we switched between lunches on our patio enjoying the local meats, cheeses and fresh salads. And then the restaurants at night - Tropea's charming alleys are full of lovely restaurants. Or we ate at the hotel - which is excellent, especially the fish!
The hotel excels at two things:
First, the staff are amazing. Whether at the pool bar, the reception or in the restaurant - they are all first-class and really friendly.
Second, it is spotlessly clean. The swimming pool is shimmering and spotless - and so are all the gardens and pathways.
It's really hard to find anything to fault with Tirenno. We went with friends who have holidayed there for 8 years in a row - which I think says it all!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view get afternoon and evening sun and are cooler in the morning; rooms facing the mountains get the morning sun and are cooler in the evening; all rooms have great shade-awnings which work really well.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidTod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in June here for my sister's wedding and it was absolutely amazing. I work in the travel industry and I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is very close to the center of Tropea. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the pool was fantastic, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. My whole family stayed here and everyone absolutely loved it. They also did a phenomenal job on her wedding-it was like a fairy tale! Every detail was planned perfectly and the food was out of this world. If you are thinking of a vacation in the area, I highly recommend this property and if you are thinking of getting married in this area, I highly recommend it as well!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Anna,

Thank you very much for your stay with us in Calabria and for your outstanding feedback as well.

Your splendid and accurate description can only make us very pleased especially with reference to the wedding's organization and the quality of our service and food.

My best wishes to all your family and of course to Lisa & Nikolay

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel had great reviews. So we went there and can confirm that reality corresponds with the comments stated by previous guests. Nice and helpful staff, rich breakfast buffet (including great Italian coffee). VERY clean rooms and all other premises including the pool. No rush. Beach in walking distance about 500m, you have to go down but it is everywhere in this area. However beach clean, quiet, suprisingly not overcrowded with people, clean sea, sometimes a bit wavy.Hotel situated in a nice garden. About 1km to Tropea - a lovely small town with many possibilities of having dinner or snack or just walking around. Visit Capo Vaticano or Sicilia. For us a long way to get to Parghelia (almost 2000km by car) but definitely worthy it. One of our greatest holidays. May come back one day.....

Room Tip: choose top floor to have a good sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Milly728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just spent a week in this excellent hotel. This was our first visit to the area and we have completely fallen in love with it. The accommodation was excellent but if you want a room with a sea view you will have to book very early in the year. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. There is a shuttle bus service to and from the beach during the day and then to and from Tropea in the evening- this is a real bonus. The pool area is immaculate and very restful, no loud music blaring out! Plenty of sun loungers throughout the day. The pool bar is open until midnight and is staffed on a daily basis by the delightful Tiziana, this young woman is always ready with a smile and a chat. If you are lucky enough to stay at this hotel, it will not disappoint!

Room Tip: Book in January for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGillis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in Tropea...Staff were amazing. Poolside bar staff great... Restaurant and room staff great too.
Great location and great hotel.
Highly recommend it. We'll be back as soon as we can

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews