We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trekking trip on the Amalfi coast”
Review of Hotel Gentile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gentile
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Agerola
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our family staid 3 nights in the Albergo Gentile as part of a walking holiday booked through a travel agency. We were half board and staid 3 days around 15/08 which is a big festival in Italy. Staying at the Albergo Gentile is like stepping back in time, somewhere around 1950's in Italy. The decoration of the rooms has probably not changed much since then but the bathrooms are up to modern standard. It is very clean and family run, so there is a special feeling about it. The half board option was an excellent surprise, with honest and plentiful good family food for the set dinner and 4 courses dinner the Italian way, starter (always including excellent bruschetta), primo piatti (homemade pasta), secundo piatti and dessert! The drinks are relatively cheap and there is a good choice. Our party of 5 was extremely hungry after the day of walk and we never left the table hungry anymore, quite the opposite. We add the additional benefit of being part of the local festivities as the Albergo is on the church square. We had a free concert of local music one night, a small firework another night. On 15/08 we had a problem as our program included taking coaches to and from the start/end points of the walk. Mario was extremely helpful, checking for us the coaches times and when we saw that there was none (!) he phoned a local taxi and help us to book our return trip for a very reasonable price. The albergo is otherwise very well placed for the walks but not at all on the seaside (30 to 40 min bus to the sea!) but there is a cheap daily shuttle to and from it.
If you want a fashionable place, the Albergo Gentile is not for you but if you want a simple, authentic place, with a family feeling you should definitively give it a go

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylfla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Thank you to Mario and his father and uncle for a great holiday. The hotel is clean and comfortable and set in a lovely little village, away from the glitz of Amalfi and Positano.

The food was brilliant, and my strange diet was well catered for.

The home-grown wine was brilliant.

A truly great Italian experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Like others we stayed as part of a walking holiday for 4 nights. The hotel is really nice. Set on the town square which was always busy with people. Our room overlooked the square and sitting out on the balcony in the evening watching local life go by was so relaxing. Food was good, breakfasts simple but filling, dinners featured local produce cooked excellently, we looked forward to each course. Walking was good straight from the hotel door, but to really explore get the Agarola hiking guide book from the hotel or information shop opposite, it features brilliant maps and descriptions in English. Mario has been mentioned in other reviews, he's very good, and nothing is to much trouble for him. Overall great hotel, great location, we'd return anytime.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 12RPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Like many other reviewers we too stayed at this family-run hotel for 4 nights as part of a self-guided walking holiday organised through Walks Worldwide. On our arrival there was only my wife and I and 2 other guests, who were leaving the next morning. For the next 2 nights my wife and I were the only guests which felt a little odd but strangely amusing, especially at dinner in the evening when the Italian "Deal or No Deal" was on the tv in the dining room, watched avidly by the family. For our last night we were joined by a large group of walkers and other guests which boosted the atmosphere of the hotel and the staff even donned waiter/waitress style uniforms. Mario, who is the only English speaker in the family was very helpful and I see he has been mentioned positively in other reviews as well.
The hotel really grew on us and it is ideally suited for a number of fantastic walks in the area, including the "Path of The Gods" and "The Canyon of Furore". Access to Amalfi is easy by bus and there are ferries from there or Positano for Capri. Doesn't seem to be much in Agerola itself but after a days walking you are quite happy to settle into the hotel for dinner. Food is plentiful if not particularly exciting and breakfast is "continental" with delicious oranges and kiwi fruits which we usually took with us on our walks.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, after initial reservations it turned out to be just perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Front rooms with view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonoftheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Gentile as part of a self-guided walking tour of the area.
This is a traditional hotel where the whole family take care of the guests. We were well looked after. I have many food allergies and the breakfasts and dinners provided catered very well for my problems. They took the time to check what was suitable.
We had a large room with a sunny balcony overlooking the town square. It was a quiet location- we quite enjoyed having the church clock nearby.
This hotel is ideally suited to local walks and is close to bus connections to Amalfi and the coast.
Unfortunately the weather was mostly cold and wet whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square to get morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent four nights at Hotel Gentile on our "self-guided walking tour". Agerola is central to several key locations and a nice family town. Our travel package included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was 'continental' and the same every morning--no meat or cheese. Dinners all had almost the same appetizer and fruit for dessert. The primi course was the best--very good pasta dishes. TV's in rooms minimal and wifi only in central office area. Rooms were basic but very clean and we stayed in the back through the grape arbor. The church bells made you very aware of the time.
That said, we liked Mario very much and the location on the central square was a great window on the local scene. The hotel was steps away from the "Path of the Gods", truly a lovely walking experience overlooking the coast although it was not a long path and if you do the 1700 steps into Positano at the end, good luck. The bus is an option to descend.
I think two or three nights would be a good length stay at Hotel Gentile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contessabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A large group of us enjoyed our stay here.
We had rooms in the annexe at the rear - pretty basic but fine.
Breakfast offered little in the way of choice but was filling enough.
Evening meal (part of our package) was really good - simple, local food - delicious and plenty of it.
Staff friendly & quirky - good fun.
Bomerano is not a buzzing place - but the location is excellent for walks from the hotel, and there is a decent bus service (just watch the one-way return into town).
A truly family-run hotel.

Room Tip: The main hotel block in theory has better rooms. In the annexe - east facing rooms look out onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agerola
0.3 mi away
Rabbit
Rabbit
#2 of 6 in Agerola
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel  Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#1 of 6 in Agerola
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Rocce
Hotel Le Rocce
#5 of 6 in Agerola
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#18 of 20 in Praiano
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beata Solitudo
Beata Solitudo
#3 of 6 in Agerola
130 reviews
3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gentile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gentile

Address: Piazza Paolo Capasso 50, 80051 Agerola, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Agerola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Agerola
Price Range: £62 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gentile 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers comfortable and hospitable rooms;with all the comforts needed to spend a peaceful and relaxing holiday. They are all very bright thanks to large windows, overlooking the garden (annex building) or the town's main square. beginning of the path of the gods.Choose your room type depending on what type of holiday you are looking for and how many people you are traveling with . For families or groups, we also have family rooms with 3 or more beds. All the comforts and facilities for relaxation of families traveling with children. All wooden finishing and furniture transmit to our customers our area's warmth and friendliness. Some rooms are reserved for smokers to allow everyone to maintain their habits.Our large bathrooms with jacuzzi are equipped with a hairdryer and toiletries for maximum wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Gentile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing