We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Paradiso”
Review of Orto Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orto Paradiso
Ranked #3 of 9 Minori B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I had lovely time here. In the middle of lemons, zucchini flowers, the host was lovely. The room clean and pleasant. The patio with the view is breathtaking- actually so breathtaking that my husband proposed to me right there;)
Flavio invited us for an impromptu lunch of pasta and zucchini flowers he prepared on the outside kitchen. He's quite the jovial, honest, hospitable gentleman, and his staff is helpful and attentive.
We had a lovely time. Yes, there are stairs to take to get there, stairs to take everywhere, but such is Positano. Stairs are just part of life there, and part of the charm!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SM-CitoyenneduMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Orto Paradiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

I must say the owner was very welcoming and kind upon our arrival, he offered an excellent coffee and gave us some useful tourist information but.... that's the only positive about this B&B! Our room was very poor and terribly DAMP! All the furniture, the fridge and the walls were corroded by the damp and the SMELL was terrible. There was an air freshener in a corner of the room (because the owners are obviously aware of this problem) but it made the smell even worse! And when we went to the bathroom for a shower, we found a little surprise: a COCKROACH was peacefully strolling in the shower!!! The day after, before leaving, it was heavily raining but we had anyway to have breakfast (very very poor breakfast by the way!) on the terrace, because you must know that all common areas are outdoor, guest rooms are the only indoor spaces they have, so very nice in the sunshine but you can imagine with a thunderstorm! When we checked out we obviously asked for a receipt, the owner was not there and the 3 members of the staff did not even know where the receipts' book was! They had to call him over the phone and ask him how to do it! We had to wait in the rain 10 minutes before beeing able to leave. As you may know, tax evasion is a huge problem in Italy! Finally, we asked if we could borrow an umbrella to go down the stairs to our car with the luggage, promising to leave it in the parking downstairs, but the staff refused us this favour, so we had to go down the 200 steps under the rain!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here with a friend in August and will certainly be coming back again - if not making an annual pilgrimage. There is no denying that you can't get a lift up the last 200 steps to the hotel but it's worth is for the spectacular view from your bedroom window and private terrace. My room was huge, clean and had very efficient air conditioning that was all part of the cost. The kitchenette was sufficient for making light meals (fridge, sink, double hob). We actually preferred to eat in Minori as it has some excellent and very reasonable restaurants there. Breakfast on the terrace in the mornings is just stunning, drinking espresso, croissants and home made fig jam. I spent most of my time lying by the pool or on the terrace soaking up the view. I would have had a completely different experience of the Amalfi coast if I'd have stayed in the town itself rather than up the hill - why stay on this beautiful coast if you can't gaze at it?! Minori, like all rural Italian towns, is small and lively, particularly in August. You don't get coach loads of tourists here and it is certainly not a resort, but there are dogs that bark, cars that beep and parties on the beach. I always travel with earplugs as I find the countryside noisier than the city! I would not advise coming here with a car - these are very small towns with very few access roads (which is the beauty of the place) so parking is a headache.
Flavio and his staff were incredibly welcoming and there are several families and couples that return every year.
I have heard that there is a rainy season (April/May?) but the weather in August was glorious and the breeze from the sea means that heat isn't too oppressive.
All in all I had a lovely week here and am planning to bring all my friends. I have been missing the view, the food and the warm hospitality ever since.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lambeth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

i was recently in this magic place with my girlfriend and some friends, the views were absolutely amazing and Flavio and his staff were very welcoming us to the spotless Orto Paradiso
the swimming pool did the job to tackle the heat in the middle of the limoncello land, if you feel like cooking, you have all the facilities to do so

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txotxoloko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Fantastic view! Perfect hospitality by Flavio and his stuff! Nice rooms with enough speace and a beautiful terrace.
Be aware of the many steps to the location.
Minori is a beautiful little town. We would recommend to rent a vespa in the high season because parking speace are hard to find.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I was there 2 week ago.
The B&B is very nice and the householders are very kind.
It is very suitable for a romantic weekend, I'm afraid that It could not be suitable for a long staying because of the position, you have to do about 250 stairs without elevator, and because of the parking you have also to go and come back to the town center by feet, that is about 10 minutes walking upward and downward!

Pros:
- View
- Cleanness
- hospitality
- lemonade!

Cons:
- stairs
- parking
- breakfast not so ample
- some rooms are big and very nice, some other not so much, but every room have a very nice view

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goolasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our 1 week stay in Orto Paradiso left us with mixed feelings. The place certainly has some advantages but also some disadvantages.

On the positive side:
-The rooms were quite clean and included the necessary facilities (thought sheets, towels and rooms were not cleaned the entire stay)
-We had a large balcony
-The view from the window and terrace was lovely
-The two (italian speaking) personel were very helpful, kind and friendly
-The owner is fluent in German and rather friendly
-The village of Minori is relaxed and welcoming

On the negative side:
-Although our stay was paid in advance, on the morning of our departure, the owner of the resort asked us for an extra charge of 70Euro for parking and 30Euro for air condition (which we had to use as it was freezing at night). As we only had 80Euro on us, he settled for this amount
We paid without complaint but this left an unpleasant taste
-The resort is located at the very top of the hill which meant a rather tough climb up steep stairs and at least 15 minutes walk down to the beach
-Instead of a baby bed we were given a folding spring bed at an extra charge of 20 Euro a night. As our 2.5 year old kept falling from that bed- we ended up all sharing the small double bed
-Our room was very small
-The "kitchen facilities" were in fact all stored into one small cabinet- uncomfortable to cook
-The resort is located above agricultural terraces which meant waking every day at 4AM to loud croaking of several roosters- not for light sleepers
- The disappointing paid breakfast included only coffee, bread, 1 croissant per person and some mini jam/honey/Nutella samples

For full disclosure it should be added that it rained during our stay, which may have clouded our impressions. Still, we would probably not return to this resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Didi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minori
0.2 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#1 of 7 in Minori
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Vingius
Palazzo Vingius
#3 of 7 in Minori
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel 7 Bello
Hotel 7 Bello
#4 of 7 in Minori
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison Raphael
Hotel Maison Raphael
#5 of 7 in Minori
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orto Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orto Paradiso

Address: Via Santa Croce, 84010 Minori, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Minori
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B Orto Paradiso is popular for hospitality, service and Landscape. Located among the terraces of lemon trees, the B & B enjoys a breathtaking view.The steps that ascend to heaven continue to Ravello. The Garden Paradiso offers to those who want to become a relaxing and familiar environment.The rooms are equipped with: air conditioning, TV (satellite), mini-bar fridge, kitchenette, privat terrace with sea view, pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Orto Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto Paradiso Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing