We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View from the Palazzo Vingius” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Vingius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Vingius
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minori
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great View from the Palazzo Vingius”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

The best thing about the Palazzo Vingius was the view from our private, little terrace of the water, the town of Minori and people below. There are probably hotels with more stunning views of the Amalfi Coast but they seemed to be more expensive too - so for us, it was lovely to have a reasonably-priced room with a view where we could sit at the end of the day or late in the evening, have a quiet drink and watch the world below.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful, with someone on duty 24hrs/day - and the owner present most of the time during the day.
There is no parking at the hotel but they have access to a private garage which is a bit of a walk away (down lots of steps) and which you have to pay for, but it takes away the worry about keeping up with parking vouchers in the public parking area - and the inspectors were very visible during the day and night.
Our room was small but very clean, with a bathroom that was also very clean and well set up - there was actually room to move around in it.
The only negative was the breakfast - the coffee was weak and not worth drinking, the juice was more like cordial and the croissants were probably the worst we had in all of Italy.

  • Liked — The private terrace with views over the town
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JaydubAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    63
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
111
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Finding out where to start walking the 100 steps up to Palazzo Vingius was a bit tricky, but once there, we enjoyed a hearty welcome and found a beautiful room, overlooking the beach and part of the town.

If we wanted, we could take our breakfast tray to our room and have our morning coffee on the little balcony, watching what was going on along the street and the beach below us.

The beach in Minori isn't very long, but in Maiori, 10-15 minutes walk along the road, there is a bigger one, and as guests at Palazzo Vingius we were welcome to have free sun-beds and umbrella there.

Trofimena and Andrea both speak well English, and they had answers to all our questions. Going back to Naples, we had planned to take the bus to Salerno and the train from there, but Trofimena told us that there is an early direct bus to Naples, our train tickets are valid also on that bus, and yes, it stops just around the corner of the railway station. Breakfast before leaving so early? No problem!

  • Liked — Peaceful, friendly athmosphere, clean room, wonderful view
  • Disliked — A bit limited choice for breakfast, no fruit.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

After travelling round parts of Europe, UK and Scotland, coming to the Palazzo as our final leg of holiday was awesome. Lovely accommodation, Fresh, Clean, very mediterranean with great views from balcony off bedroom, overlooking Minori Beach and up to hills covered with lemon groves and old houses. Newish accommodation, lovely colour schemes. Friendly helpful hosts who spoke english, italian etc. Nice breakfasts to start your day. Would definately recommend a stay here. Very relaxing and fun.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Motorpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

We booked a room with a terrace, at Palazzo Vingius in Minori, on the Amalfi Coast in Italy. Their web site states that, “All rooms are front sea view with terraces.” So in my email I had asked for a top floor room, but did not ask for a terrace, as I believed them that every room had one.

When we arrived, we were indeed shown to the top floor, however, the room was much smaller than it appeared on their Internet site & it had no terrace. We asked to speak to the manager. After a few minutes the proprietor, Pisani Trofimena came with another lady. She said that the “porter ” had made a mistake & given our room to someone else. This lady and her friend confronted us and were very rude, both using raised voices, telling us she’d given us a room on the top floor as we’d requested.

Despite our insistence, she refused to rectify the error, until 2 days later. Then she gave us a room with a terrace, on the bottom floor, for our remaining two days. To add insult to injury, every time we passed by the front desk to go out, she harrassed us with a remark about the situation.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank mcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minori
0.1 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#2 of 7 in Minori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 7 Bello
Hotel 7 Bello
#4 of 7 in Minori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 7 in Minori
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Vingius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vingius

Property: Palazzo Vingius
Address: Via San Giovanni a Mare 19, 84010 Minori, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Vingius 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Vingius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vingius Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing