We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITALY IN A HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The two previous reviews by Joanne and Rcdoc say it all ,I fully agree with all their comments.This hotel forms the basis for the perfect Italian holiday.If you want English food entertainment etc stay in Sorrento ,we loved every minute of our stay,all rooms have the most marvellous views over the valley and beyond,I was getting up at 0630 to watch the sunrise setting my alarm on holiday!!.Great walks from hotel buy a guidebook published by Sunflower available on Amazon.We travelled with Thomson from next year the ZITONIO is in an Italian brochure,we always go some where different but yes we to will return to Zintonio
I would suggest doing no trips to anywhere just to concentrate on the fine but hilly walking available

Room Tip: top floor rooms 317-322 views to die for,however all rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandsue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We loved the this place from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much effort for the staff, the setting is idyllic and the food was generally very good. We loved coming back to the peace and quiet of Scala after a day out in the much busier towns on the coast and even Ravello, where there are many tourists.

Dinner being served at 1930 is much less of an issue than some people on here make out. All the excursions organised by Thomson are back in ample time (not that we did any) and we even managed to travel to Pompeii under our own steam and get back for dinner. On the one night we knew we would be late, it wasn't an issue at all and even when we missed the bus and got back at 10pm, the family had stayed up to cook us a full three-course dinner!

Because everyone eats together, there is a great atmosphere in the hotel and we got to know a number of the other guests during our stay.

The hotel is a few minutes from Scala village and some buses from Amalfi stop right outside the hotel. The room was clean and reasonably spacious and the view from the balcony to die for. We don't usually go back to places more than once but I think this hotel will be the exception.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view across the valley to Ravello and to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Spent the last 2 weeks of August here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Clean comfortable rooms with breathtaking views across the valley from our good sized balconies. As a family with 2 teenaged girls we were given some consideration and allocated adjacent rooms - more rare than you would think!
No complaints about the food, breakfast was nothing special ( and I really missed an omelette bar, no eggs at all) but sufficient. Croissants, yoghurts, cereals, cheese and meat. Bear in mind this place has no pretentions to being anything other than a small Italian family run place and my guidebook told me the Italians are not big on breakfast, a milky coffee and a croissant being the norm. Dinner was another matter! At breakfast they give you the menu choices for dinner and you choose then. Some people seemed to see this is a disadvantage but we enjoyed it as part of the daily ritual....and of course if you don't like anything then at least you know and can plan on eating out that night. That never happened to us as there was never a menu that we couldn't find something we liked on! Typically choices were starters of pasta dishes or soup- vegetable or lentil soups most commonly and pasta dishes were pasta with basil cream, or lasagne, or pasta with swordfish, or with seafood or plain tomato sauce. These seemed small but were VERY filling! Main courses then were typically meat or fish with side dishes of veg. Examples were sea bass, salmon with mint and lemon sauce, grilled lamb chops etc with side dishes things like grilled stuffed aubergines. Sadly we were usually too stuffed to eat our side dishes and could very seldom manage pudding either, various sweet cakes. The cooking is managed very effectively by the Director Michael's 93 year old mother assisted by an 83 year old female relative. To see these white haired Nonnas operating in the kitchen is quite a sight! Dinner is eaten on the balcony, again with stunning views over the valley and Ravello.
The pool was one of the reasons I chose this hotel over the Excelsior in Amalfi ( my second choice) and I was very glad I did. In an area with the geographical conformation of this coast, everything is stepped or terraced and flat space is at an absolute premium. The pool area while initially appearing small actually turned out to be one of the largest we saw anywhere after a fortnight of touring the area. Many pools have only space for semi upright deck chairs in single lines around the narrow pool margins. We had full size sunbeds with lovely thick padded covers.....luxury! I had planned day trips exploring on alternate days to Capri, Versuvious, Pompeii, Positano, Sorrento etc and alternate recovery pool days chilling on sunbeds were an absolute must! The pool was also sparkling clean, perfect temperature, stunning views and very quiet, never had a problem getting beds for 4. In August! No Germans there I guess. We usually had lunch at the pool cafe ( if we could manage it after all the gorgeous bruschettas and nibbles they give out with drinks!) always a nice experience, excellent friendly service from the young man and lady who work there- more family members. They work really hard keeping the pool area swept, hosed and clean and wash the padded lounger covers regularly too.
We hired a car with pick up at Naples airport and used that to see all the area. The coast road is narrow and vertiginous but perfectly navigable - be prepared to give way to buses frequently though! Scala the village main is only about 5 mins walk down the hill from the hotel, some coastal buses go from there regularly if you don't want to be tied to excursion timetables. If you take a car the hotel has a small amount of parking but we never failed to find a place.
So pluses were food ( all the veg and fruit come from their own gardens, the prosciutto and fresh figs were AMAZING, my fave dish) the pool and pool area, the amazing views, the location of Scala for exploring the area, the family atmosphere, the quiet ( no pumped pool Muzak, no " entertainment".
Minuses, if we are being picky wifi would have been nice ( the nearest wifi cafe is 5 mins walk tho),I found the mattress hard but everyone else was ok, no aircon and was hot at night till we acclimatised.
On the whole a great holiday in a lovely spot. I was interested to note how healthy the older generation of Italians seem to be, no disability aids seen anywhere in 2 weeks and working in their 80's and 90's. Must be the fish and veg diet and the exercise, constant climbing of steps is required!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Z'Intonio and we had a wonderful holiday.As previous reviews have stated,we felt very welcome and loved the family-run feel to the hotel.We stayed in Room 319 and the views across to Ravello were amazing.We had a large balcony,perfect for a few drinks after dinner! The room was slightly dated but very clean and spacious. The evening meals were lovely, Antonio is the head waiter and made the dining experience lots of fun!Nothing is too much trouble and we found the drinks to be very reasonably priced. We swapped dinner for lunch on a few occasions and this was fine. The pool was lovely-very clean and there were plenty of sun loungers (even in high season) Some previous reviews stated that the pool can fill up with locals and whilst there were a few locals who came to use the pool,we felt it added to the italian experience at the hotel. We really loved the restaurant by the pool-this exceeded expectations.Set under a pretty trellis and with table cloths and amazing views across Ravello we found it hard to beat.The meals were very reasonable and delicious.
The location of the hotel is quite remote but we loved it.We went to a couple of the bars in Scala but after a 3 course meal we found that we were generally quite happy to relax with some drinks on the balcony.Overall,a wonderful holiday and a fantastic family-run hotel. We also thought it was good value.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just back from a week stay, husband and self and two teenage daughters, We absolutely loved our stay. Beautiful picturesque setting and surroundings. Views of Ravello and the surrounding hills and valley from the really quite good sized pool. We went fullboard so ate lunch and dinner - fabulous fresh homemade pasta for both first courses followed be meat of fish; all fresh; all local -and creamy cakes for dessert although ice cream and fruit were available if you asked.
This is for you if you like real Italy, the cooking is that you would have if you visited a local family. Rooms are clean and comfortable and good strong showers. There is no air con and we were hot but for us real Italy authenticity and beauty made up for that. Yes as others reviewers have said the church bells chime - but it is lovely and a step back in time.
The walk to Amalfi down the steps is easy a took us an hour - Similarly the walk to Ravello half an hour. This is a great place to stay as the prices are reasonable for this rather exclusive are of Italy. We will go back!So we would highly reccommend if you like beauty, friendliness and atrully local Italian experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed at Zintonio for 2 weeks end of May and loved it...
It was like stepping into another time and world. Authentic and quaint traditional family run Italian hotel with amazing views of Italian countryside and Ravello across the valley.
It was lovely to just chill out on the balcony and look at the view. During the 2 weeks we were there, we had allsorts of weather, so evenings we spent wrapped up on the balcony with a glass of wine looking at the stars/night view. Some nights there were fireworks at different villages and one night amazing thunder and lightening. We were very happy with the food, especially after they changed to a choice of 3 dishes for the evening meal and had a vegetarian option. The mozarella and tomato salad drizzled with olive oil was my favourite and loved the pasta dishes and house red wine (comes from the hotel vineyard) each evening. As with other family run Italian hotels we've stayed at, you choose your evening meal at breakfast time. The family who run the hotel were lovely, sometimes quite serious - they are busy working - and Antonio the waiter was funny.
Scala - 'steps' in Italian and appropriate as seems like you have to go up or down steps to go anyplace - is a 10 minute walk away and all the locals are very friendly. Its not touristy, apart from lunchtime when many daytripper coaches come to Scala for lunch. I think you would need to be mobile, as it can be difficult to get anywhere without walking. But, there are loads of great walks to do: Scala, Ravello and on to Minori; Amalfi, via Atrani or Amalfi via Pontone, best to get the bus back. There are also interesting free walks you can do that the tourist info centre and local hotels are running, we went on one around Ravello and a brilliant trek to the 'valle delle Ferriere'.
If you go in May, best to be prepared for mixed temperatures and weather, sometimes all in the same day... so take a jumper and mac. A really great place to visit and hotel. Samantha

Room Tip: Think that all have a brilliant view over the valley and Ravello.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I could not believe some of the reviews I had read after staying here. My wife and I have been going to a small hotel in Sorrento and also self catering in Maiori for the last 12 years, but this surpassed those in many ways - mainly because of where it is - the village of Scala is small, high up in the hills, but has everything you could wish for (shops, bars restaurant and if you want more Ravello is not to bad to get to).
This hotel was in a the perfect location with lovely views of Ravello, the Mountains and the Sea with excellent service, very clean and well equipped room (including a fridge for the G&T's !) . The food was of a high standard and typically Italian, with vegetables from their own gardens. The staff (mostly family) were very friendly and wanted to ensure we had a good holiday. It was my birthday while we were staying and they made sure I enjoyed it. The bar bills were very reasonable and the wine made from the hotel's vines was excellent.
We would like to thank the family and staff who made us so welcome. We will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnwilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
4.8 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,583 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,054 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#3 of 5 in Furore
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi'Ntonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Address: Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Price Range: £71 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi'Ntonio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zi'Ntonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zi'Ntonio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Zi Ntonio Hotel Scala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing