We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We first visited in 2009, then returned in 2011 and 2013, this is a fantastic family run hotel in a wonderful part of the Amalfi region, away from the hustle bustle of Ravello and Amalfi but close enough to reach them when you want to. Situated the edge of the village of Scala overlooking Ravello, the Zi'Ntonio is the perfect base for long and to be fair sometimes exhausting walks, but what a place to wind down afterwards, by the poolside with fantastic views, or in the town square where the locals gather throughout the day, this is real Italy. Things to do and see are well covered in the other reviews so I won't elaborate on that. I recommend the Zi'Ntono very highly indeed. Oh and we are going back in 2015.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just back from a fantastic two weeks in this great hotel in a most beautiful part of Italy. Great weather, stunning scenery, lots of good walks (though you really do need to be able to enjoy the challenge of walking on pretty steep stairs as almost all the paths go up and down stairs all the time...paths and stairs which are used by locals of all ages, sometimes accompanied by horses/donkeys carrying heavier materials!), all made even better by Hotel Zi'Ntonio. From our arrival at 10pm when we were welcomed by Michele and then served the most beautiful meal by Antonio nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all, without exception, just lovely. We had a room on the top floor with views that no photo could do justice to, but given that all the rooms, and the dining room and the pool and the bar, face Ravello and the sea, I don't think it would really matter what room you had. Food was excellent, as was the wine made from the grapes in the hotel garden, and the bar above the pool, presided over by Stefano, was not only an excellent place for a 'light' lunch but also a good place for after dinner coffee. Walking into Ravello took around 20 minutes and there were good local buses to Amalfi and beyond. We took the ferry to and from Positano from Amalfi which was a lovely trip.If we had any criticism, it would be lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms, our second week was unusually hot for June and the last two or three nights we did have difficulty sleeping. But overall it was a wonderful holiday and we would definitely go back to the area and to Hotel Zi'Ntonio.

Room Tip: All the rooms have stunning views as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmmmmm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Zi'Ntonio, the location was sublime overlooking the valley to Ravello and the coast, fantastic firework display at Ravello one night which we watched from our balcony. If you love walking in the countryside this is an ideal location, failing that the local buses are very reliable.The hotel staff are very friendly Antonio and Michael have good English but do try some Italian . The bedrooms are a reasonable size and a balcony with table and chairs, all kept very clean. The food we had no complaints about breakfast we never expect a cooked breakfast in Europe. The dinner which has several choices of starter and main is selected at breakfast, some of the side dishes were a little unfamiliar but all perfectly edible. As some guests have noted, no bar area in the hotel as such but drinks can be still ordered whilst dining and consumed, weather permitting on the terrace, on your balcony or a small sitting area inside the hotel. We would recommend to anyone who likes to be away from the hustle and bustle, and the atmosphere of an Italian village bells included. The local grocery shop next to the post office will make up a huge sandwich to take on walking trips or other days out.Sit in the square near the church and watch the world go by whilst enjoying a glass of local wine.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view higher rooms apparently better than 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akajudithchalmers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have just returned from a week stay here. The hotel is not actually in the village but mid way between Scala and Minuta and the large rooms had amazing views across the valley to Ravello and the coast beyond. From the south facing balcony we were almost directly opposite the main square at Ravello, so could watch and even hear some of the musical events staged there, just across the valley. The hotel is small and clearly family run, with one if not two nonnas managing the kitchen. The food was just what you would expect for a decent small Italian hotel, not an incredible choice for breakfast and all cold buffet style but the evening meals always had a choice, with personal selection made over breakfast. There is no actual bar area but the bar cupboard is just around the corner- ask and I am sure Antonio will find a little Grappa/ Sambucca to finish with. The house wines are from their garden and absolutely fine. The pool and pool bar was not open as yet but being prepared while we were there and a pleasant surprise, the house free wifi was available and working!
We used public transport (bus pass through the village tobacco shop) to get to all the places we could not walk to. We booked online to go to a lovely piano concert at the Villa Ruffolo, met in most villages an Italian film company doing film shoots in the village, in Minuta and in Atrani. Atrani is absolutely perfect if you like typical ramshackle (in a nice way) balconied squares, archways, washing lines and geraniums! The walk down to Amalfi is lovely, from Ravello the steps (many) give a lovely way to visit Minori. We unfortunately couldn't do the Path of the Gods because the visibility was down at that height, so were forced to visit Positano instead. The bus from Positano is always busy. Worth taking a ferry back rather than risk no seat on the bus.The Sunflower Blue Walking Guide is a real treasure- get it before you arrive.The locals were saying it was colder than usual last week, but perfect walking weather, and we caught a sunburn from the walks.
A lovely hotel in a very nice location- we went through Thompsons. The transfer from Naples airport took around one and a half hours, but the scenery was stunning. Definately a hotel to return to

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We fell in love with the hotel staff and views, everyone was really helpful we stayed for 2 weeks last year and have just booked again for this year and cannot wait to go back, the views were very good and easy walking distance to Ravello.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elainecornish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here in October, the room was very nice, clean towels every day and a wonderful view of Ravello. Yes as you would expect in a small valley in Italy there are lots of churches and the bells do chime, but this only adds to the charm. The breakfast is great, lovely friendly staff. The dinners however lack imagination or variety. Having said that, this is a wonderful hotel and as a base for exploring Amalfi it can't be faulted.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The two previous reviews by Joanne and Rcdoc say it all ,I fully agree with all their comments.This hotel forms the basis for the perfect Italian holiday.If you want English food entertainment etc stay in Sorrento ,we loved every minute of our stay,all rooms have the most marvellous views over the valley and beyond,I was getting up at 0630 to watch the sunrise setting my alarm on holiday!!.Great walks from hotel buy a guidebook published by Sunflower available on Amazon.We travelled with Thomson from next year the ZITONIO is in an Italian brochure,we always go some where different but yes we to will return to Zintonio
I would suggest doing no trips to anywhere just to concentrate on the fine but hilly walking available

Room Tip: top floor rooms 317-322 views to die for,however all rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandsue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
11.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
1.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,653 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi'Ntonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Address: Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Price Range: £68 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi'Ntonio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zi'Ntonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zi'Ntonio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Zi Ntonio Hotel Scala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing