We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb family run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb family run Hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had two weeks at this great hotel, the views from the balcony are stunning from early morning sunrise and in the evening Ravello is lit beautifully.
The view from the breakfast terrace is just as amazing, the pool was clean and welcoming.
Evening meals were served at La Margherita with a friendliness that made you feel part of the family. The food was delicious and different each night. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff or family, they work hard make your holiday a time to remember, which we will for a long time. This is one of the friendliest Hotels we have ever stayed in, the room was clean and well serviced and it had a fabulous view.Thank you all for a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millielily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    55
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
145
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I can only agree with all the comments about this little gem of a hotel. We had room 7 which another reviewer said should be avoided; and I agree it was very small and the bathroom needed attention.However the views, and staff's attention to details more than made up for it.

We went half board, and dinner was served in the sister hotel Margherita down the road. The food was excellent and I am so glad we took this option because people we met from other hotels who ate out at other places each night said the prices were extortionate and choice abysmal. We had different choices every night including home made pasta to start (always different and delicious).

Breakfast was served on the Terrace with that fabulous view of the mountains and Ravello and was fresh croissants, rolls, soft cheese, jams, honey, fruit juice and tea or coffee. Lunch was served in the Pool bar by the lovely Cecelia who was so kind and helpful. The food was amazing!

The taxis are ridiculously priced so we used the Scala Municipal bus and Vincenzo (the driver) picked us up from outside the Hotel (thanks to a call from Cecilia) and gave us a lovely sight-seeing trip of neighbouring villages before taking us to Amalfi. Cost was 1 euro 20 cents! taxi would have been 60 euro. We also took the Suda Bus to Ravello for a few euros and spent a lovely afternoon at the Villa Rufolo.

What makes this hotel so special are the people that run it; they are so friendly and helpful and seem to really care about making your holiday perfect. Special mention must go to Enzo (great sense of humour) Cecelia (nothing was too much trouble) Maria (always smiling) and Carla who had us in stitches every day and was full of hints and tips.
Thank you for giving us a wonderful weeks holiday.

Room Tip: try for the top floor as they seemed huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 7 consecutive years at various times in June, July August and September. The hotel and the sister restaurant / hotel La Margherita are family run, offering great, friendly service.
The hotel is located on the hillside overlooking Ravello and the Dragone valley with breathtaking views of Ravello. The pool and terraced area, together with the balcony for the restaurant bar area offer great views and are very spacious. The pool itself is large and very clean and the poolside is washed down every morning and evening. The restaurant serves food on the balcony during the day and in the evening for special events - eg barbeque night (depending on the season) - the food is excellent Italian fare with fresh local ingredients. The Gala event on the 27th July provides a superb meal with the best location for enjoying a great firework display for the festival in Ravello. Evening meals are served in La Margherita about 300m from Villa Giusippina- half board offering great value and again the friendliness and service cannot be faulted. Rooms are air conditioned , many with balconies and views overlooking Ravello and the Dragone Valley. A lift is provide from poolside to rooms other than the top floor which is accessed via an additional flight of stairs. Breakfast is served in an open terrace area (weather permitting), with that magical view of Ravello. The breakfast consists of fresh croissants and bread (delivered daily) with various jams and spreads together with fresh coffee and juices - other options eg fruit, eggs or cereals are available at extra cost. The hotel forms a great base for walking - down The Valle delle Ferriere and Amalfi and up into chestnut forests and Punta delle Castagne. The walks generally use old mule trails (still used by mules) and entail many steps - hence the name Scala. and Local buses operate from early morning to late at night should you wish to travel to Amalfi and beyond without a car - taxis can be expensive. Scala offers a peaceful retreat in peak season, whilst being in good proximity to attractions such as Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. This is one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in with attentive staff, proud of their hotel and keen for guests to enjoy their stay. The fact that it is family run and so friendly make it very special and hence our desire to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had booked a weeks holiday at this hotel the hotel was beautiful the reason I gave 4stars was room 7 although very basic it was clean but the shower needs updating .the view from the balcony was stunning every morning you could watch the sun come up over the mountains see Ravello and the view of the sea breathtaking.
All staff went out of their way to help they were amazing people so thank you to Enzo and his wife
Carla on reception who was so helpful always very cheerful
Cecillia and her brother who ran the bar . The food was so simple presented beautifully and tasted out of this world. The only downside food is only served until 3.30 pm. Nothing was to much
trouble for them . THANK YOU.
Breakfast very simple fell in love with their croissants and honeymmmmm coffee very nice staff could not fault they also cleaned you rooms again Thank you
The view from breakfast terrace amazing
The pool was was immaculate so clean and welcoming
THANK YOU for a lovely holiday would come again without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a fantastic holiday staying at this hotel. Yes, the rooms are basic but what you would expect for a 3* hotel. The only negative about the room was that the shower cubicle could do with updating but the balcony was the best one I have had on holiday, a good size with comfortable chairs and a table and fantastic views of Scala and Ravello. The rest of the hotel is amazing with a fantastic swimming pool and lovely breakfast terrace and bar terrace, also with fantastic views. The breakfast of croissants and rolls, honey and preserves, juice, coffee or tea was great. The croissants are to die for! Equally, the bar terrace food was beautiful, simple and delicious. What puts the heart and soul into this hotel are the lovely people who run it. Cecillia and her brother who run the bar were so nice and Carla on reception in the afternoons could not do enough for you. The ladies who clean the rooms and serve breakfast were also great and Enzo and his wife were fantastic. We would definitely come back again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishiwasinitaly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights and had the most wonderful holiday.
The hotel is situated in a splendid position, in a quiet rural community, yet with easy access to Ravello, on foot, a pleasant 20mins or, by bus every hour. The buses also went on to the coast and Amalfi, just 30 mins away.
Day excursions were booked locally to Paestum, Herculaneum and Pompeii.
Lorenzo organised us a fantastic trip to the Isle of Capri on a speedboat, with stops to swim and visit grottos.
Food was excellent Italian cuisine and varied every day. Pizza Party night by the pool was fun. The staff , very professional and always keen to help ensure our holiday was the best.
Huge thanks to Enzo, Cecillia, Lorenzo, Antonio,Carla, Maria, Francesca and all the crew you all made it a very special holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Room number 12 was amazing. It had a huge balcony, with table, chairs, sunloungers and the most wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah82891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a find! This is such a special hotel, Enzo the proprietor is such a lovely host, his daughter Cecillia makes you feel very welcome and Carla on Reception is warm, helpful and friendly too. E very member of staff makes you feel welcome. The hotel was immaculate the food was exceptional and the views were breath-taking. We have visited other areas of the Amalfi coast, but this would take some beating. We feel very lucky to have booked this holiday and will be returning as soon as possible. Book a room with a view, it's incredible. Thank you!,

Room Tip: Room with view, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scala
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
#1 of 2 in Scala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Relais Manfredi
Relais Manfredi
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.5 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margherita Villa Giuseppina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margherita Villa Giuseppina

Property: La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
Address: Via Torricella, 84010 Scala, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Margherita Villa Giuseppina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built, with every modern comfort, the Hotel "La Margherita - Villa Giuseppina" is situated in Scala the heart of the Amalfi Coast, between Amalfi and Ravello.Open the whole year round. All rooms with private shower and balcony. Central heating. Large terraces for sunbathing. Swimming pool and solarium. Family management. Very reasonable prices. Excellent cooking. Own parking ground. us connections during the day. The hotel is situated in a prticulary quiet position, away from the traffic noise. It is the right place for a perfect stay and relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your La Margherita Villa Giuseppina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Hotel Scala
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing