We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Scapolatiello
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We decided to stay at Hotel Scapolatiello as our base to our trip to Pompeji.
The narrow street winding up to Corpo di Cava was quite a challenge and I doubt that a car wider than our Fiat Punto would make the final metres to the parking slot of the hotel (maybe if you are a better driver than I am).
The drive was worth it - the hotel is located in beautiful gardens (plural -there are so many different gardens, terraces, yards!) with a stunning view of the mountains.
We had a lovely room (225) with a balcony facing the mountains - pretty furnished, very good mattrasses and even a sofa in the room!
The only "minus" of our stay was the lock of our door - it was damaged somehow so it always took us several minutes of wiggling the key until we could open our door. We had to ask the receptionist to help us open the door and even she couldn't do it for quite some time. She promised to send someone to fix it but unfortunately this did not happen during our 3-day-stay. Let's hope for the next guest that the door of this lovely room will be fixed in the meantime.

The breakfast (served on the lovely terrace with stunning view) was very good compared to the Italian standard you get offered in most Italian hotels. Several cakes, bread, yoghurt, eggs (on demand prepared especially for the guest), fruit, and of course cappuccino.
We had dinner as well and I had the best zuppa di pesce / fish soup ever!

The people working at the hotel were very friendly and helpful - they even sent a technician late in the evening to fix our TV so we could watch the EURO soccer game Germany:Greece without technical problems (it was not easy to figure out how to receive the channels since the manual was in Italian only).

On our first night there was a wedding going on (no wonder since the hotel is so pretty) - which means that we had to listen to the wedding singer for several hours. I suppose parties / gatherings like this are to expect in such a lovely place.

The pool has the most stunning view I ever experienced at a hotel! Unfortunately the pool area is quite small so not too many deck chairs could fit there.

I can highly recommend the hotel for your stay in the mountains just outside of Napoli / Pompeii!

Room Tip: Room 225 has a balcony with sunshine almost the whole day long and a stunning view facing the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttvvuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

We chose this hotel due to its location with respect to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. We were thrilled with the beautiful surroundings and very happy with our delightful and charming rooms. We had a huge balcony where we could lounge and enjoy the wonderful vistas of the mountains or out over Cava de’ Tirenni down to the Amalfi coast. It is breathtaking and the well tended gardens are such a serene place to spend time after a long day of sightseeing. All the staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive. Emma, Abdul and the Maitre de all looked after us and made our stay there extra enjoyable. The food was delicious. Breakfast was varied and very generous. We three couples stayed three nights and on the last night the chef prepared a wonderful dinner for us when we gave him free rein to prepare whatever he wanted. When we asked about internet, we were supplied with a laptop for our use. We would definitely return to this enchanting place. It is a perfect place to stay if you are a hiker. Many trails seem to go through this area. Lots of places to explore and unfortunately we ran out of time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel was our first stop on our week's walking holiday with Inntravel. Unfortunately we arrived in the rain and couldn't appreciate the views from our patio, but the bottle of Prosecco and spray of flowers on the tray made up for it. Room was large if a little dated, lovely old hotel, very friendly staff and excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a mid-sized traditional hotel - run by the same family since the early 19th century. Public areas are fairly modern and comfortable - while the rooms are simple and a little dated.
( Some have large balconies - all have good views.) It is in wonderful location, at the base of a hill village about an hour from Naples, with views of plain, hills and the distant bay of Salerno. Drivers should note though, that the road up is steep and winding - not for the faint-hearted.

The hotel prides itself on service and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Food was good and plentiful and service was very agreeable - if not speedy. English is spoken.

We would certainly make a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

As a number of other reviewers, we were part of a small group visiting the Greek & Roman sites south of Naples. This was our second visit to this hotel and it was as good this time as before. Great service, good food and a friendly staff made for a very pleasant stay. As we were there in January, there was always an excellent log fire burning in the Lounge every evening and even one in the breakfast area in the mornings. The building is old and rambling, but clean and well maintained, great views from the many terraces and some of the rooms. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tez555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My wife and I were part of a small group visiting Pompeii, Paestum, and the Roman sites around Naples in September. Provided one had transport this was an ideal site set in the wooded hills 45 minutes or so from Naples.
Over several generations it has been a family run hotel in an old but well maintained building. I understand the bedrooms varied, but ours was generous in size, and well furnished, with a very large shared terraced overlooking the gardens and pool towards the valley below.
Breakfasts in the restaurants were excellent with a wide choice. For dinner we dined as a group with a 'table d'hote' menu. I thought it was of a reasonable standard. Service in the bar was a little hit or miss. Overall we thought we were made very welcome and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Best to avoid those overlooking the village square which could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a mid-size family run hotel up in the hills about an hour south of Napoli. Although in an old buildings with numerous ups and downs inside, it has a quaint charm about it and is well maintained. The village is not the most picturesque of Italian villages, but it is quiet, the only noise being the clock from a nearby Abbey (which is silenced at night). Hotel rooms vary from large to adequate but are not furnished uniformly – some have a bath and shower, others just a shower, some have lots of cupboards, others few. Similarly the room outlook varies considerably (car park; playground; hotel grounds; scenic valley view). The hotel management were very willing to move some of our group around to other rooms until they got the room or view that they were looking for.

The hotel is very popular with wedding parties and there was one when we were here and the loud noise / music / DJ beneath our room went on until 2 am at least – with the windows closed, the double glazing and shutters did enable us to sleep however. Each room has Sky TV plus a fridge and tea / coffee facilities if you ask for them. Free wifi is throughout the hotel and is fast and reliable. Breakfast is of the standard copious Italian style, the lunch menu was good and the quality of dinner varied from good to outstanding. However the menu showed that they had not really grasped the idea that vegetarians do not eat fish or chicken as a main course and in general, the vegetarian option showed a lack of imagination with a heavy trace of after-thought. The house Red Wine was good, the white a little less so. Bar prices were very reasonable. Hotel staff seemed to lack warmth towards guests although if you asked for something, they would deal with it immediately. Parking is encouraged in a secure car park at the bottom of the hill upon which the village stands (about 5 minutes uphill walk) and cases are brought up in the hotel van. Buses are quite frequent down to the nearby town and station.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and cannot find any reason to complain or suggest why you should consider elsewhere.

Room Tip: See you room before you commit - some are better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cava De' Tirreni
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tir...
#1 of 4 in Cava De' Tirreni
455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria Maiorino
Hotel Victoria Maiorino
#3 of 4 in Cava De' Tirreni
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Diecimare
Hotel Diecimare
#4 of 4 in Cava De' Tirreni
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,297 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scapolatiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scapolatiello

Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range: £37 - £826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scapolatiello 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scapolatiello Hotel lies only 6 km far from the Amalfi Coast, at 500 mt above sea level, just in a walking distance away from the SS Trinity Abbey. Thanks to its strategic location, the Hotel is the perfect starting point to visit Positano, Amalfi, Pompei, Sorrento and Naples. Surrounded by valleys and woodlands, it is the ideal place to enjoy a leisurly stay. The Hotel has 42 rooms and 2 Suites, furnished in a classic way and perfectly integrated in the scenery where the structure is located; all the rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi, as well as common areas. The Residence Formula offers new specious flats well equipped and furnished. At the “Locanda 18.21” Restaurant you can taste and value the love and the art of a culinary tradition, renowned all over the world. Your breakfast, lunch or dinner is served in a dining room recently restored in a medieval style or on the terraces with breathtaking views. The Hotel is also the perfect location for weddings. The Hotel is provided with a panoramic indoor and outdoor pool. Its wellness center with sauna, Turkish Bath and professional massage room, is perfect to relax body and soul. Scapolatiello Hotel is 5 km far from the motorway exit of Cava de 'Tirreni, only 40 minutes far from the International airport of Naples "Capodichino" airport and 15 minutes far from the railway station and the port of Salerno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scapolatiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scapolatiello Italy/Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing