We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Scapolatiello
Nearby Hotels
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Paradiso(Vietri sul Mare)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Raito(Vietri sul Mare)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vietri Coast(Vietri sul Mare)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lloyd's Baia Hotel(Vietri sul Mare)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bristol(Vietri sul Mare)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Lucertola(Vietri sul Mare)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria Maiorino(Cava De' Tirreni)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diecimare(Cava De' Tirreni)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
244
220
67
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
220
67
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming hotelamalfi coastcorpo di cavanarrow streetsstunning viewsswimming poollarge terracethree nightspastriesdining roompasta dishesitalian stylesmall townorange juiceoverlooking the valleycommon areaswi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Scapolatiello for two nights at the start of our walking holiday in the Amalfi coast. Neither of us had been to Italy before and were unsure what to expect. From the start we were bowled over by the friendly staff, the beautiful grounds and our room with a terrace. The food was spectacular (tomatoes and mozzarella were so different to what you get in the UK) we had homemade gelato by Antonio and the house wine (made from the grapes on the terrace) the first was delicious the second wasn't a great vintage, but as it was given to us to try for free just added to the overall atmosphere.

That is not to say the hotel was perfect, the shower in our room could do with a bit of work, but the overall feeling was of a charming hotel in a beautiful area that instantly transported us away from all of the worries of work etc.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank medicmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelScapolatiello, La Direzione at Hotel Scapolatiello, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear medicmichael,

Thank you very kindly for your kind review. We are enthusiastic that you enjoyed our accommodations, location, delicious cuisine, our staff and to know that your holiday experience are gone over your expectations. We will be sure to share your kind words with the Scapolatiello Hotel team.
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experiences, hope that the rest of your vacation was as pleasurable as your stay with us.

Scapolatiello Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

An old hotel, yes, but why does a hotel need to be "modern"? Scapolatiello is charming, with an abundant of gorgeous views from the (very) numerous places you can sit, have a drink, and relax. Kitchen for the most part excellent. Staff very helpful. Pool is nice. Nature walks nearby, not too far from Cava and Vietri. Very restful and kind of opulent place to spend a few pleasant days. Our balcony view was stunning. Barman Antonio was a real pro and a delight.

Room Tip: Junior suite with a view is best. Didn't have a tub, but some that had that didn't have nearly the view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelScapolatiello, Scapolatiello Hotel Management at Hotel Scapolatiello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Daveinem,

allow us to thank you for sharing with thousand of travellers your amazing experience with us, your words of appreciation for Scapolatiello Hotel fills us with pride .
We are glad that the kindness of our staff (we'll give them your congratulations, in particular to Antonio) and our many places where spend time and relax have left a sweet memory.... and it's true: we are in the heart of the nature!
Hope to see you again!

Scapolatiello Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Pleasant rooms, clean, although a little old fashioned, and with a very good buffet breakfast with fresh fruit, bread and cakes.
Dinner was very traditional in the usual style of an Italian hotel dining room, and very well executed. My grilled fish was perfectly cooked, served with grilled vegetables. Starter of smoked salmon with cream cheese was also excellent and nicely presented.
Wines were nice, but there was a shortage of beer – after two drinks they were out of Italian beer and we were reduced to Heineken.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the upper floors open onto a lovely terrace
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

After several days of touring the archeological sites around the Bay of Naples, I decided to spend a few extra days in Italy before I returned to the US. I am certainly glad that I chose this hotel. My room with a small balcony was clean & well-kept & had a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. The staff was friendly & helpful & the food in the restaurant was good.

Cava de' Tirreni proper is actually a couple of miles away. The hotel is located in Corpo di Cava which is a very small and historic village with narrow streets, old fairly intact city walls and guard towers, a Benedictine Abby from the 1000s, and the remains of a Roman aqueduct. I very much enjoyed walking around the village and on the trails beyond the abby.

The only downside in my view is that it is fairly isolated. I did not have a vehicle, but if I am fortunate enough to get there again, I will definitely rent one.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony (see photo).
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

While here in march we had snow and quite a bit of rain so walking up from the car park meant an influx of 25 wet persons. This did not worry the staff who were most welcoming and friendly.
The rooms were large and some have baths but we only had a shower which was perfectly adequate. We note that some people did not like the decor but we found it added to the ambience of the place.
The food was plentiful and well prepared with attentive staff ready to replenish empty plates.
The hotel is kept very clean and the views to salerno are spectacular especially at night.
While there it is recommended you visit the monastery and also walk down the gorge to see the aqueduct.

Room Tip: Rooms vary and are individually designed. Check out the website
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruardean89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews