We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden oasis of the authentic, quiet Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Scapolatiello
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed the first 2 nights of a 5-day whirlwind exploration of the Amalfi peninsula early June at Hotel Scapolatiello. To our great delight we found a place you only rarely come accross these days: a place located in beautiful as well as quiet surroundings off the beaten track in the middle of an authentic old Italian village, and yet with the comfort and luxury of a top hotel. Although we did visit sights in the vicinity we preferred to stay at the hotel to enjoy he delicious pool (with a stunning view), the supmtuous breakfast buffet (with a stunning view from the terrace), our beautifully decorated room (with a stunning view) or the many salons, drawing rooms or seating arrangements on the terreace - all in impeccable upkeep, as were the extensive gardens bursting with flowers and appealing scents. The staff at the reception were helpful and kind and helped us plan our outings. A visit to the neighbouring monestary is worth the while as is the lovely little Restaurant La Foce, just 300 m up the road behind the village Corpo di Cava where he hotel is located. Value for money and real Italian cuisine with authentic raw materials. The Hotel restaurant also serves a broad selection of Itaian food and although the service is classic and top-notch the food does not reach La Foce level. We are no planning to come back with our extended family next year to offer them an undiluted experience of the authentic, rural Italy in a comfortable setting.

Room Tip: It was our impression that all rooms have a view and as the hotel is located in a cul-de-sac mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Obviously, without a car (preferably a small one if you want to reach the hotel's car park through the very narrow roads) and GPS, it's rather difficult finding the place. However, once you are there, this nearly 200 years old hotel, surrounded with even older walls, is rather pleasant. The room was clean and spacious with a nice view to the beautiful and large garden and its terraces, as well as the mountains.
Breakfast was good, free wi-fi in room and a free car park. A swimming pool is also available.
It's a good centre for hiking in the old village, some historical and religious sites, and the mountain trails nearby. Although it's a small village, there are at least 4 restaurants in walking distance except the hotel's one.
In summary, a good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr. Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with my husband last week. Had a superior room with stunning views overlooking the opposite mountain range and a terrace where we sunbathed on our rest days. Tucked away in the hills near to a Benedictine monastery/catholic cathedral, via a pleasant walk through the hamlet. Fantastic food, attentive service and clean facilities throughout. Particular praise goes to Antonio and Abdel who welcomed us with warmth and laughter and made our stay extra special. Antonio's homemade vanilla ice cream is to die for! They both excel in their work. We hope to visit again with family. The swimming pool is gorgeous. Although, at 17 degrees I found it quite cold albeit refreshing after a hot day. Nicely placed to visit the Amalfi Coast and only a 20- 30 minute car journey to Pompeii. TIP get the train from Pompeii visitors car park to Sorrento. BEWARE if hiring a car have your wits about you, road users do their 'own thing' at a seconds notice! Take care on the Amalfi Coast!!! Would recommend this hotel highly. Thank- you to all of the staff who made our stay so comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: We had superior room which was adequate an size with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacefield123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I couldn't agree more with the last review.
There are no taxis in the station....it's too far to walk......difficult to find by car.
61 bus is the only option.
The staff are semi indifferent. The management totally indifferent.
The rooms are tired and basic, the breakfast average and formulaic, the evening meals bland (but plentiful) and the swimming pool not open.
The public rooms are filled with strange and unconnected ornaments.
The location fantastic.
Not on any view worth 4 stars.
The management need to take a hard look at their operation......maybe that's why there were only about 4 rooms booked during my 2 day stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldhench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As others have mentioned, its a challenge to get to this hotel. We thought we would take a taxi from the Cava dei Tirreni train station, we soon discovered there are no taxis in Cava dei Tirreni. Too far to walk, the hotel told us to take bus #61 which dropped us off nearby and a local showed us the rest of the way.

The hotel has great views and some old world charm, but is missing the hospitality normally associated with a 4 star hotel. The staff seemed indifferent, almost apathetic, but were helpful when prodded. Not a big deal but not what you would expect.

The breakfast buffet was quite good but the dinners varied in quality. One night the food was excellent, the next it was mediocre, even though the selections were the same (preparations were different - different chefs?). Wine was reasonably priced and we very much enjoyed the regional red wines based on the Aglianico grape.

The tour of the Abbey nearby was excellent (highly recommend) and a hike up to Cappella Vecchia provided nice views of the Amalfi coastline. Other than that, there's not much to do here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is superb for relaxation. The common areas, terraces and grounds are all well maintained and comfortable. There are many walks in the surrounding area.
The suite (114) is a good size and has stunning views from its own large terrace. Overall the rooms are well equipped, well serviced and clean.
Wi-Fi is a reasonable but not stunning speed.
Previous posts have referred to disappointing food. The food is actually of good quality and reasonably priced. However, I agree that a hotel of this high standard would normally offer more adventurous food. Personally, I prefer the reasonable price.
The management does seem to be in denial as to the ease of finding the hotel. The directions on their website are useless and I suggest satnav or printing as many maps as you can! Access to the car park is very narrow but there is parking elsewhere.Getting back onto the A3 is well signed.

Room Tip: Book a suite with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieppois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A delightful family run hotel in a beautiful setting. A contrast to the many soulless hotels that could be anywhere in the world.
It was a quiet haven after the thousands of tourists at Pompeii.
The food was very good and the prosecco before dinner lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the valley, unfortunately we had one over the narrow side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kokapeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cava De' Tirreni
1.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria Maiorino
Hotel Victoria Maiorino
#3 of 4 in Cava De' Tirreni
246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tir...
#1 of 4 in Cava De' Tirreni
464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
4.1 mi away
Hotel Diecimare
Hotel Diecimare
#4 of 4 in Cava De' Tirreni
202 reviews
11 mi away
Hotel Olimpico
Hotel Olimpico
#1 of 8 in Pontecagnano Faiano
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scapolatiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scapolatiello

Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range: £49 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scapolatiello 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scapolatiello Hotel lies only 6 km far from the Amalfi Coast, at 500 mt above sea level, just in a walking distance away from the SS Trinity Abbey. Thanks to its strategic location, the Hotel is the perfect starting point to visit Positano, Amalfi, Pompei, Sorrento and Naples. Surrounded by valleys and woodlands, it is the ideal place to enjoy a leisurly stay. The Hotel has 42 rooms and 2 Suites, furnished in a classic way and perfectly integrated in the scenery where the structure is located; all the rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi, as well as common areas. The Residence Formula offers new specious flats well equipped and furnished. At the “Locanda 18.21” Restaurant you can taste and value the love and the art of a culinary tradition, renowned all over the world. Your breakfast, lunch or dinner is served in a dining room recently restored in a medieval style or on the terraces with breathtaking views. The Hotel is also the perfect location for weddings. The Hotel is provided with a panoramic indoor and outdoor pool. Its wellness center with sauna, Turkish Bath and professional massage room, is perfect to relax body and soul. Scapolatiello Hotel is 5 km far from the motorway exit of Cava de 'Tirreni, only 40 minutes far from the International airport of Naples "Capodichino" airport and 15 minutes far from the railway station and the port of Salerno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scapolatiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scapolatiello Italy/Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing